We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Louis Imperial Beach
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed here from 1st May 2007 for a fortnight with our children for the first week and as a honeymoon for the second as we married in Paphos Town Hall on 7th May.

We'd read a lot of reports over the last few months so were a bit worried about the quality of the hotel. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as the reception was professional and courteous, with a glass of orange juice and a friendly porter and receptionist.

We had a room upgrade automatically because of getting married and had paid an extra £70CYP for an upgrade to seaview for one week for the family room for my parents and daughters. Their family room was excellent and extremely roomy - I was worried about this having read a previous post. Maybe the inland rooms are smaller - not sure.

The hot water was slightly variable but there were only two occasions in the two weeks we were there that it was lukewarm, and as it was very hot in the first week, this wasn't a major problem as it was a bit of a blessing to cool down!

The food was excellent although the removal of plates between courses was somewhat over-enthusiastic on our first night. Fortunately, the hotel got much busier part way through our first week which meant our plates weren't whisked away as the last mouthful was consumed! Despite the initial speed of clearing, the service in the restaurant was good, with local wine prices being reasonable.

In hindsight, two weeks of buffets was a bit much, but we couldn't fault the range, variation or quantity of food on offer. We were just a bit buffet-ed out by half way through our last week.

Our first week with the children caused some issues as the hotel changed the indoor pool over to adults only, when the kids had been swimming in it already for some days. They were disappointed as the outdoor pool was still quite cool, but as we had a complete heatwave during the first week, it worked out OK in the end.

We didn't engage with the entertainment as it was all a bit unimaginative and geared towards the older set - of which there were very, very many! During our first week one younger guest commented to us that it was like a Club 80-90 holiday! But the age range did drop very rapidly during our second week with the influx of summer tourists so I think this is more of a hang-over from the Winter season.

Satellite was OK if you don't mind watching Sky News over and over - other than that, not much on offer.

But all in all, we thought it was a decent hotel, with very good food, and good facilities with generally very nice staff.

  • Liked — Location and seaview
  • Disliked — Entertainments
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Feistlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    682
    165
    33
    17
See reviews for
966
1,435
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

i stayed at the imperial beach hotel for 2 weeks and i enjoyed my stay. The hotel is based on the sea front with a small beach and is about 20 min walk from the harbour but there is regular buses and the bus stop is only 2 minutes away from the hotel. i think the entertainment was ok but nothing special. i was shocked that i never saw the team leader around and about but always saw becky and brian working hard and been friendly with a smile on there faces. They did a great job between them. The rooms were clean with tea and coffee facilities. The bar staff and waiters were very helpful and friendly. Overall i enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank katescoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrops
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Well after a longish flight with two young children we arrived at the hotel which somewhat resembled an old folks home. The average age was about 70!!! That said though most of the people were lovely with only a small handfull thinking they owned the place.

The hotel as a whole is okay if a little tired. It could do with new carpets and curtains (if not a clean). The bathrooms were in need of a new shower (no such thing as power there)!!! Hot water was also lacking greatly!!

The food was spot on but the bar and restaurant staff were awful. I really ouldn't tell if they couldn't speak english or were just plain rude. And also be aware many hotels say no shorts in the dining room and this hotel means it (YES even smart cropped Linen trousers).

One thing to watch our for is the cats. There are lots of cats roaming about and some of the guests feel they have to feed them which in turn makes the cats sick etc in the foot wash for the swimming pool, the grass etc. This issue was raised with the mangement but they seemed to have little concern about it even when i explained that this is potentially harmful to children I was met with "OhDear" !!!!!!

We went out a couple of times to eat and found a great child friendly restaurant called rendevous lovely cheap food and very very clean.

On a high point for the imperial the evening entertainment was very good. From reading other reviews I think the entertainment team must have recently changed as they were brilliant Rick and Brian are very good and very entertaining.

I think in general this hotel is okay but is lacking in general personality and the staff could really dowith training in customer service and how to smile.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Tired and in need of updating.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skjobaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire , England , U.K.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed for three weeks on half board. Could not fault the range or quality of the food at breakfast or dinner - great ! The Animation team were not very good - their English left a lot to be desired - in fact the mix of Slovakian ,Polish ,Dutch and Bulgarian Staff ( ! ) had better language skills than them ! ( Although the head man was from Manchester , his number two from Paisley and the third from Stockport in the UK !) Overall the entertainment was fairly abysmal ! Indoor pool and Jacuzzi clean and warm. Outside facilities and Bar service good. In common with other reviews the towels certainly had seen better days ! But our room was clean , warm and comfortable. Over the weekends we were inundated with Cypriots among whom were some who did not appear to have used a hotel before and behaved like Yobs ! We had a car throughout our stay and , although we have visited Cyprus many times before , we enjoyed going to Latchi , and Larnaka and other spots.
The childrens facilities are good - but , I suspect , only as good as the Animation Team . Draw your own conclusions.
Overall we would use the hotel again , as , all in all , it provided great value for money !

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

my partner and i took our 2 children to cyprus and we got married at paphos town hall. a lot of our family came over but we all stayed in seperate accomodation. there was no privacy at all one room and the kids had to sleep in poxy camp beds. the air con will keep you awake, but rooms are nice and clean. the pool area is very nice with all the families around the pool and all the oldies on the lawns. if you have kids the waiters in the dining room will try to shove you in a corner of the dining room where there is no air con. the receptionists were not the most welcoming we have come across. entertainment was poor. went out instead to panaretti next door, much more family friendly. we paid £2,500 and although we had a fantastic time, we won't be going back to the hotel. will definately go back to paphos though. have spent far less and been to much better.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank normWorcesterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ol6 8rs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

We visited this hotel on 3/1/2007. The rooms are big, very clean and very comfortable. We had a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived, which was nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was around 20mins from paphos harbour. The food at the hotel was very good, lots of choice. The weather was mixed, part cloud part sun for the first part of the week, around 15 deg, the last two days were glorious sunshine and around 20 deg. Still quite cold at nights.
The only problem we had was with the travel company we went with, First Choice, they didn't collect us from the hotel on our last day, so I would say make them your 'Last Choice' when you pick a travel company!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank camps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

The average age of guests at the Imperial Beach at Christmas was in the sixties, and most were British passport holders apart from a few lonely-looking Belgians. The staff were very pleasant and there was a general feeling that the hotel was competently-run. We felt particular sympathy for the team of young trainees from across Europe who served in the restaurant and clearly worked round the clock. Notwithstanding, they were always charming. The cavernous Constantinos restaurant could induce buffet-fatigue for those who didn't leave the hotel all day. The surrounding Kato Pafos strip is a paradise for lovers of theme bars and English football on tap, so a hire car is a must if you are seeking the 'real Cyprus'. But beware of using the in-house operator, Horizon, who rented us a jeep with a roof that liked to self-detach on the motorway and failed to provide a requested child seat, leaving our three-year-old semi-garrotted by his safety belt. Our complaint was met with a 'not-our-fault' response. Rooms clean but a bit threadbare. Stingy with pillows.

  • Liked — Pleasant hotel layout and location
  • Disliked — stingy provision of pillows and blankets
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure you like retired Brits who enjoy karoke and bingo
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruxelles-Sprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Imperial Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Imperial Beach

Property: Louis Imperial Beach
Address: Poseidon Ave, PO Box 60284, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#10 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Imperial Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by exotic gardens and only a few steps from the azure blue Mediterranean waters this 4 Star Paphos hotel invites you and your family or friends to experience a truly relaxing Cyprus holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louis Imperial Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Imperial Beach Paphos
Louis Imperial Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing