We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like staying at a friend's house!”
Review of Axiothea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axiothea Hotel
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's like staying at a friend's house!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Two things make this hotel a "must" for anyone who wants to savour the best of Paphos: its location and its owner.

Positioned in the heart of Paphos, which means the highest point - with panoramic views across the city and the Mediterranian - the Axiothea is a simple stroll to many of the city's must-see features, including the Byzantine Museum, the Cathedral church, the ethnographic museum, the Ottoman Turkish baths, the market, the Municipal Gallery, etc, etc.

Little wonder that, every Thursday morning, the official Tourist Office's city walking tour (it's free and two hours very well spent) troups into the Axiothea for the guide to use its breakfast room's windows to point out everything that visitors should see - from the ancient harbour and its neighbouring UNICEF World Heritage site of Roman antiquities to the nearby Tombs of the Kings.

Those tour participants are welcomed by Andreas, the owner of the hotel - just as every hotel resident is welcomed and made to feel a very special guest. Andreas is your friend in Paphos, who knows everyone and everything, and goes to great lengths to ensure that you enjoy every moment of your stay.

OK, it's just a two-star hotel, but you'll find a five-star welcome. With his long hair and leather eye-patch, Andreas may look like Long John Silver - but he is the epitome of Cypriot hospitality.

You'll see that other reviewers comment on how Andreas made a difference: every hotelier should spend a few days at the Axiothea to see how Andreas does it!

On a practical note, this simple two-star hotel also provides secure free car-parking (a precious commodity in any city), and is a superb base for exploring all parts of Cyprus. The standards of cleanliness are excellent, and free wifi is available on all four floors.

Throughout our stay, Andreas was always on hand - from breakfast onwards - to help with any question we had, including ideas on what to visit, information on Cyprus, and an explanation of the home-made marmalades & jams on the breakfast table. On the day we left, he arranged a taxi to collect us from the car-rental office - and insisted on 'phoning them ten minutes before the pick-up time to ensure that they got us to the airport on time.

I don't know of a five-star hotel anywhere in the world where we would have been so well looked after.

Room Tip: For us, the best room in the hotel (it has 37 rooms) is 407: its on the top floor, with a balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidSturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    84
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
122
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

With a great view of the lower town and historic sites, this "2 star hotel" well out-performs several other places we've stayed in that claim more. The breakfast was great and with good wifi in all the rooms, we enjoyed our stay. The only complaint was that they are set up for summer (with great A/C) and we were there in winter...so it was a bit chilly in the room.

The rooms are standard sizes and comfortable. The staff was the best part of our stay. Knowledgeable about the local area and full of great recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

For a two star hotel this place was more than we expected. Andreas the owner went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable. He had a knack of anticipating everyone of our needs, for example one night he noticed that we had brought a couple or rolls and a bottle of wine into the hotel with us. He immediately realised that we were going to eat on our balcony and provided us with a tray with plates, knives and forks, wine glasses and a bottle opener; he also offered us free coffees to take to our room if we wanted them.
Most of the proper shops are situated in the old (high) town within a hundred metres or so of the hotel. there is also a large indoor market, and plenty of cafes and restaurants very near by. The views from the hotel over the sea are very good; it was worth paying the extra to be on the seaward side of the hotel as there is no view from the less expensive rooms. There are 65 steps down from the hotel to the bus stop but we never climbed up them, it was easier to walk up the road and approach the hotel from the other side, it only takes five minutes at most. The breakfasts were comprehensive, although not a cooked breakfast as such, they did cook us a couple of fried eggs each morning. There was however a large choice of cold meats, cereals, fruit, breads, jam, toast, boiled eggs etc.
Buses to the harbour and tourist area run approx every 10 - 15 minutes and are modern, clean and inexpensive. Tickets cost one Euro each, or for three Euros you can buy a day ticket for unlimited journeys around the town and out as far as Coral Bay. Buses are the way to travel to and from the hotel, including from the airport (hourly) as taxis are expensive, typically 26 euros from the airport or 8 Euros plus tip around town. When we next visit Paphos we will try to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room to get the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livingincrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent a week here and the only thing i could fault would be the resport itself (but there are very many worse than Paphos anyway - it will recover it's character in time). Although we had booked economy on Booking.com, as it was quiet, we were put in an excellent top floor room with sea view and balcony. The size may not have been palatial but it was plenty large enough and with en-suite shower room, desk and chair, armchair, decent sized bed, and table with two chairs on the balcony. The range of jams and marmalades (many homemade) at breakfast was very good and the rest of the breakfast was great too. We never went past reception without exchanging greetings and getting good local tips for our days out (we might even have been able to feed back some information too, I hope). In all a very welcoming and comfortable place within easy reach of Ktima and close enough to Kato Paphos to give you the choice of walking or taking the bus. DId I mention the view from the breakfast room? Breathtaking...

Room Tip: Go out of season when the weather is not so fierce and you might get an upgrade too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brizzle, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Axiothea for a couple of nights at the beginning of a trip round Cyprus, and again at the end of the trip, during the 1st two weeks in October. We were greeted by Andreas on arrival, who was very helpful.

The hotel is perfectly located: It's a short walk to the central part of the north part of Paphos, where there are shops and restaurants serving traditional food (Meze etc), but also a 10 minute bus ride (no. 610, from right outside the hotel, costing 1 euro) to the harbour (where you find the archeological site and also the main tourist strip with western restaurants, karaoke bars, etc)

The rooms that we stayed in were quiet, clean, simply decorated (though just a little dated), and both had effective air-conditioning. Both had en-suite showers which were fine.

The bed in the first room we got had two singles in a double frame, which is a bug-bear of mine. However the second room had a proper double mattress and I think this could be requested.

Breakfast is included in the price and is a traditional cypriot buffet - toast, various cheeses, cold meats, pickles, olives, fruit, and eggs - which didn't run out before the end of the breakfast period as in some other places we stayed! The hotel is set up a hill, and the breakfast hall has floor-to-ceiling windows which provide a great view over most of Paphos and the mediterranean.

Would definitely return, and for the price this was about the best of 5 hotels we stayed in.

Room Tip: If staying in a couple, request a double mattress as opposed two singles pushed side-by-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four nights for a very very affordable price. The hotel is not very close to the city center, but there's always a beautiful weather in Paphos so you can walk or take a bus (the bus stop is outside the hotel). Andreas, the owner was really kind, he gave us lots of information, and find couple who was leaving the same day, so we shared the taxi to the airport. We left at 5:00 am, and Andreas was so kind to prepare us a packet lunch for the journey!

The room was clean, frames and forniture a little bit old, but in any case for us that doesn't matter!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is located in the upper Paphos. The bus stop is just down the stairs from the small hill. Breakfast is very basic but nice. Some rooms have only a french balcony but we were offered one with nice, big balcony with amazing view of the city and sunset. The owner is amazing and very very helpful. We stayed almost 2 weeks and were very happy with it. If You remember it's a ** and don't expect a resort that I am sure You'll like it. Also there is a great restaurant next door - Muse - that offers great atmosphere and food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#48 of 88 in Paphos
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
3.0 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#13 of 88 in Paphos
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 88 in Paphos
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiniras Hotel
Kiniras Hotel
#65 of 88 in Paphos
181 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axiothea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axiothea Hotel

Property: Axiothea Hotel
Address: Ivis Malliotou 2 | P.O. Box 60070, Paphos 8047, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#29 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#33 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Axiothea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axiothea is a traditional 2 Star hotel with a family atmosphere located in the older part of Paphos within walking distance of the local marketplace, Government Services such as Land & Survey department, the Police HQ, public theater, Post Office, the Colonial Administration buildings, the museums, the neoclassic schools, town hall and public library and scores of colorful tavernas and coffee shops.The hotel is set into the hillside which has many advantages. Its elevated position boasts magnificent views across the whole of Kato Paphos to the sea and harbour approximately 3km away.Sunsets during both summer and winter months can be spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axiothea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axiothea Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing