We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit .”

Saint Paul's Pillar
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.18*
and up
City Sightseeing Paphos Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #14 of 117 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit .”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just behind the hustle and bustle of the seafront (behind Debenhams) you will find the site of St pauls pillar. Well worth going to view, a beautiful church and great mosaics that you can view, all free entry. We have been both times we have been in Cyprus and it never fails to please.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    294
    94
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A must see in Paphos”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very unusual church in a more unsual setting. the church is perched on what seems like a pillar surrounded by Roman pillars and ruins. A very interesting place to visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“They have rruined a lovely site”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We haven't visited for a couple of years and were quite shocked as to what they have done.You used to be able to walk round most of the site with few barriers but now they have put up awalkway with concrete pillars having been inserted into the excavations completely ruining them in the process

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting site”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Walkway makes site very accessible - but like many Cyprus sites, not much info available to the casual visitor. Costs nothing to walk round.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a follower of Jesus I struggle with some of the religious sites in Cyprus. This however I found inspiring. This took me back to the Apostle Paul, as mentioned in the book of Acts in the Bible. Something I found more spiritually authentic than some of the gold laced monastic sites in Cyprus, which may help some people, but leave me thinking about the wealth of a rich institutional church, whilst the poor of Paphos are currently going hungry. The site is small, but easy to find - just round the back of Debenhams, near the harbour in Paphos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Paul's Pillar also viewed

 

Been to Saint Paul's Pillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing