We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, no atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amphora Hotel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Amphora Hotel is a relatively new hotel and therefore not all the amenities are available, I believe that soon they will be adding, shopping complex next to the hotel along with a spa which would make this a much better hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, but lacking somewhat in character and therefore slightly impersonal, the addition of a few pictures would give it a more homely feel. The staff were excellent and were only too willing to help. There was choice in food options(buffet) all of which was well cooked and always fresh. As we travelled out of season, the pool bar was not open, and the small lounge bar lacked atmosphere, so not sure what this would be like in main season, but it meant we had to leave hotel and pool if we wanted a drink or something to eat during the daytime. Also there was a fridge in the room but this was unstocked,and kettle and cups but no complimentary tea or coffee that I would have expected from 5*hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank CarolW753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear CarolW753,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our 4* Amphora Hotel & Suites, and for taking the time to post your comments!

We wish to kindly take this opportunity to note that although many of our guests and tour operators do rate us as 5*, this is not our official classification, and our hotel doesn’t advertise being 5*

We are delighted to read that you found our staff to be helpful, the hotel spotlessly clean, and that the choice and quality of food offered met with your satisfaction.

Thank you for your constructive remarks and suggestions, and please rest assured that these will be taken into consideration, in order to improve the services we offer!

Your feedback is very encouraging for all of us and enhances even more our commitment for constant upgrading of our facilities and services.

On behalf of the whole team I wish to thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommendation, and we do look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

From the Management & Staff of

Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place! Something totally different from the other hotels. New! Modern, clean, stylish, comfortable rooms. Panoramic sea view. Value for money. Polite staff. Not so good soundproofing! I will visit ghis place again and again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Christina A,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with other reviewers.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With our very best regards from sunny Paphos,
from the Management Team of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My Husband and I just returned from a weeks stay at the Amphora. I have to agree with most of the other reviews, the rooms are lovely the staff are helpful and polite, the food is so good,we stayed on a half board basis and was never disappointed by the breakfast or dinner.

The Executive chef was there every evening to run through the dinner options and he never failed to please. At the pool bar we had lunch which was plentiful, a village salad for one could of fed a family of 4 it was huge and very fresh. A lot of hotels in Paphos could take a leaf out of the Amphoras book, when it comes to rooms and food.
Having stayed in many hotels in Cyprus and not really enjoying any of them, this is a little treasure. The company also own the Capital Coast further down the coast road, and the two hotels are pretty much the same.

On Departure we had to vacate the room at 12pm but was offered a courtesy room if we needed to shower before the airport, this was very nice of the hotel staff to offer this service.
THe Room we had was 104 and it was pretty much next to the "Suite 48" Bar and grill which is very popular with the locals (always a good sign). We didn't eat in there but if we had stayed longer then we would of.

I would visit the Amphora again, it was value for money, and my tip to other travellers would be to opt for the half board option.

Things i would ask that the hotel would maybe consider,
The entrance and exit to the Hotel car park need to be clearly signposted, most drivers come in the no exit route which is an accident waiting to happen, tourists are not as confident as the locals, you will find out very quickly.

The dept of the pool has not been made very clear to swimmers, only small floor signs, in the high season small children will not see these.

Other then those two things i can honestly say it was perfect! thank you to the Amphora and keep up the good work.

Travellers tips: The Wild Horse Bar, is a lovely place to have a drink after dinner, its as you turn right out of the hotel further down opposite the Ledra, Bar staff Louis and Andy are happy to serve you a chilled Keo

TAXI service : has to be IWANTATAXICYPRUS, Rocky will be on time at the airport, he is full of local knowledge so can give you great tips on where to visit and where not to bother with, his prices are unbeatable.

Happy Holidays in Paphos

Room Tip: 104 was fine for us, opposite the car park from the front door, looks out over the sea, but they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heaven710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear heaven710,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and high ratings. We are very glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience!!!

Your feedback is very encouraging for all of us and enhances even more our commitment for constant upgrading of our facilities and services.

On behalf of the whole team I wish to thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommendation, and we do look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


With our warmest regards,
From the Management & Staff at Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from a fab week at this hotel. We booked 2 suites, one for my father and the other I shared with my sister and her son aged 13. The rooms were very spacious, immaculately clean and surpassed our expectations. The beds were comfortable as was the sofa and other furniture (we found the balcony chairs perfectly acceptable). Its true there are no pictures on the walls, however this element of holiday accommodation is far less important to us than the massive wall mirror in the bedroom, loads of wall sockets, iron and ironing board, the kettle, cups and glasses, the fridge and room safe all of which were included in the room rate. We brought with us our own tea and coffee and purchased milk at the resort which we were able to keep fresh courtesy of the fridge (this was also useful for chilling water and cold drinks for my nephew). The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. We too were not given a voucher for the pool towels when we booked in, however this was solved simply by asking the pool attendant who immediately sorted it out for us. Also our room towels were not changed, but when reported to the reception staff this was resolved within 5 minutes of raising the problem. We were booked on half board basis, and found the food very acceptable. Granted it would not win Michelin stars but then we did not expect gourmet food at the price we paid. The buffet menu changed each day and although my sister is vegetarian and does not eat either meat or fish was very happy with the range of salads which were also varied throughout the week. Breakfast choices were extensive, including a huge range of cold meats and cheeses, hot bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, croissants, pain au chocolat, yogurt, fruit juice, tea and coffee, and plenty of bread for toast etc. With regard to the lack of evening entertainment, this made the hotel very quiet, and relaxing, and to be fair, their website does not state that evening entertainment is offered. There is a separate room for reading which also had a computer with free wi-fi so my nephew was extremely happy and we could check our e mails. There are bars within a couple of minutes walk which provide live music and sports coverage (we even saw the grand prix!) and the walk into the main harbour area only takes 20- 25 minutes at a leisurely stroll. As a final note, all the rooms face the sea and most also face the pool which was delightful. Would we return - ABSOLUTELY YES!!

Room Tip: The hotel is built on a slight hill, so the ground floor rooms in block 4 are accessed by descending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Hilary N,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with other reviewers.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With our very best regards from sunny Paphos,
from the Management Team of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Myself & hubby have just returned from a week at this hotel. Got an extremely good deal (£268 for the two of us, breakfast included!) and really did consider it to be excellent value for money.
As previous reviewers have said, the location is just perfect & the grounds so spacious. Plenty of sunbeds & brollies, and all rooms enjoying a sea view.
Room/bed was comfy but just lacking a few finishing touches, e.g. tea & coffee to complement the kettle & cups!, storage in bathroom not ideal, very little horizontal storage space and another wall hook or 2 would be good. Our main gripe was the mould around the bath/shower, very surprised with the hotel not yet being a year old. Couldn't understand why the cleaners didn't even attempt to tackle the problem, after all it will only get worse surely?
Apart from the stunning location the other "jewel in the crown" in our opinion was the breakfast buffet. A vast range of hot & cold food, one of the best we have experienced in many years of travel. The only letdown was the coffee...........I tried it in a variety of guises, cappuccino, cafe crema, instant nescafe & filter, but each was very disappointing. Come on Amphora Management, the quality of the coffee is letting down an otherwise excellent breakfast buffet.
We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but enjoyed a very tasty lunch at the pool bar one day.
We asked for a sunny room as we wanted the opportunity to benefit from some long-awaited sunshine! The hotel came up trumps in allocating room 530 to us, sunshine literally all day. However,the rooms on the top floors do not have any kind of a canopy so may not be ideal in the summer.
Would definitely return again if we could get another good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvholidaysHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear iluvholidaysHull_UK,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with other reviewers.

We have of course noted all your comments and constructive remarks, and please rest assured that corrective measures will be taken where deemed appropriate, in order for us to improve the services we offer!

Once again, we thank you for posting your comments and thoughts, and we can assure you that our constant effort for improvement will continue!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With our very best regards from sunny Paphos,
from the Management Team of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Like many if the reviews state, the rooms are very minimalistic but are equally lovely and modern. Evening meal wasn't quite up to my standard, it was cold some nights and not much variety on the nights where they only offer set menu (choice of 3 dishes). It's a very quiet area which for some people is nice but for others maybe not. The hotel had no entertainment which was a disappointment and the beach isn't the white sand beach your imagining. Receptionist Laura is so sweet and kind. The others were quite rude. I wouldn't stay at that particular hotel again but I'd visit Cyprus again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rechelle1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Rechelle1510,

We wish to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays, and for taking the time to share your feedback after you recent stay at Amphora Hotel and Suites.

We have of course noted all your comments and constructive remarks, and please rest assured that corrective measures will be taken where deemed appropriate, in order for us to improve the services we offer!

Once again, we thank you for posting your comments and thoughts, and we can assure you that our constant effort for improvement will continue!

With our warmest regards,
From the Management & Staff at Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Don't think I would stay here again ,glass was broke in our balcony (room510)chairs were uncomfy on balcony no pool towel unless you had a voucher we weren't given one ,breakfast cold no entertainment and unwelcome feel in bar in evening
Good points were spacious grounds and great location !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear julie m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us; We are disappointed to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

However, please rest assured that your feedback is taken into account and where deemed appropriate we shall take corrective measures. Our aim is to provide personal quality service and delight every single guest with many memorable experiences.

Once again we thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and in providing you with the best service you deserve.


With our best regards from the Management & Staff of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,213 reviews
1.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#32 of 85 in Paphos
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel & Suites

Address: Poseidonos Avenue 48, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $104 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive new hotel offers unobstructed views of the tranquil waters of the Mediterranean and the picturesque fishing harbour and Medieval Castle. Set on the idyllic beachfront location of the former SODAP Winery, Amphora Hotel is a rejuvenating, inspiring and serene haven of contemporary elegance that will awaken your senses. One of the highlights of this perfectly situated hotel is the exquisite accommodation offered, comprising of 95 Luxury Suites, spacious Superior Rooms and a 3 Bedroom Villa; the majority of which offer magnificent and unobstructed views of the azure Mediterranean waters and the Paphos castle. The upgraded and inviting rooms offer breathtaking views of the enchanting sunset or the landscaped gardens, while underlining comfort and a “home away from home” sensation. Thoughtful amenities combined with elegant furniture and lighting create the ideal ambiance to feel completely at home. Amphora Hotel houses a restaurant, lounge bar and seasonal pool bar. Recreational facilities include a gymnasium while the landscaped gardens surround the kidney-shaped swimming pool and the children’s pool. The hotel enjoys a prime location, just 10’ drive from Paphos International Airport, 7’ walk from the historical castle and harbour, and 20’ drive from the local golf courses. The lively atmosphere of the area offers a wide range of facilities, shops, bars, restaurants, nightlife and attractions.Amphora hotel offers free round-trip transportation from Paphos International Airport and transport to/from Larnaca Airport for an additional fee upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphora Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing