We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amphora Hotel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Well if you like a seaside hotel, a sea (and sunset) view from your room, plenty of space in the room, an unbeatable bath with plenty of hot water, a large comfortable bed, the possibility of a wonderful seaside walk to the town harbor, a great choice of restaurants and bars around, a superb breakfast and excellent people working there, combined with an unbeatable price, then this is the place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kostas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Kostas G,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We are very glad to hear that your stay with us was a nice experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!


With our Best Regards
Management Team & Staff of Amphora Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Have just returned and wish we were still there enjoying the sunset views from our room and balcony. A superbly located hotel with delightful leisurely walk into the harbour area of Paphos. Helpful, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and comfortable and regularly cleaned room. Ample restaurants and bars close by including the excellent suite 48 which is located within the grounds. Amazing low cost bus service to delightful areas around Paphos. Will certainly return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oldcodgers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear oldcodgers_12,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and high ratings.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With our best wishes,
From the Management & Staff at Amphora Hotel and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Cyprus and Paphos. The airport is only 20 mins drive from the hotel which is a great bonus, having just survived the 5 hour Ryanair flight with a 11 month old and 3 year old.

Bearing in mind this was the first week of Feb, we were delighted to get 7 days of sun with just a little cloud. The sea was swimmable and the climate consistent at around 21-22 each day. We decided that Cyprus beats the Canaries hands down if you want some Winter sun, as it has so much more to offer (food/culture/history etc).

The Amphora is really well located as highlighted in other reviews. The rooms are all sea view and so you can't avoid the amazing sunsets. We had a suite with separate living area, and it was unquestionably high quality with a wet room type shower as well as bath and double sinks. The living area is sparse but you appreciate the high standard of finish and daily cleaning as a result.

Staff were generally very friendly - a mention for Laura on reception whose smile lit up the large open reception area every morning. Breakfasts were great - we didn't realise Paphos has a number of banana plantations as well as orange trees lining the streets, and you can't fail to enjoy eating (or drinking) the local fruit and other produce. Luiza the waitress was especially lovely to us but the whole team were great and very attentive.

I am not sure this review can add much to others listed. It is a shame about the hole/site next to the hotel which was planned as an extension to the hotel, but this does not interfere with the outlook from the rooms/balconies so nothing to worry about.

Whilst this was not the most child friendly hotel owing to it's minimalist style - Paphos has so much to offer hence there seems no need to pay more for a hotel with loads of facilities. The beach bar next door "Suite 42" is really good for excellent food and service throughout the day, and there is a supermarket and other amenities around the hotel if you can't be bothered to go into Paphos.

Like many people we have stayed in different types of hotels in different places. The combination of Amphora and Paphos is a great choice for Cyprus (or Paphos) newbies and we would recommend it fully.

Room Tip: Ensure you look at suite options to give a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuperNaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear SuperNaan,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and high ratings. Your feedback is very encouraging for all of us and enhances even more our commitment for constant upgrading of our facilities and services.

We have of course noted all your comments and constructive remarks, and please rest assured that corrective measures will be taken where deemed appropriate, in order for us to improve the services we offer!

On behalf of the whole team I wish to thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommendation, and we do look forward to welcome you back in the near future.



With our warmest regards,
From the Management & Staff at Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The rooms here are modern and chic with plenty of amenities even in the most basic rooms - lots of toiletries, towels, slippers etc. The sunsets over the sea and the pool are beautiful and the hotel is in a great location - only a short walk from the central harbour area and is surrounded by a wide choice of restaurants and shops. The hotel is beautifully situated on the beach too. Bare in mind there is no room service and WiFi will only work with one device so you must ask for more passwords to use for example a laptop and a phone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear James E,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with other reviewers.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With our very best regards from sunny Paphos,
from the Management Team of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

OK it's cubist, concrete, minimalist even brutalist (says my son) but I didn't miss the pictures and decorations, I was too busy drinking in the glorious sunsets over the pool and beach. We got dressing gowns and slippers (You have to request these to get them, I understand) and a well-equipped room that was aggressively cleaned daily. Efficient and helpful staff and one brilliant lady whose name I regret I never noted, in reception. Located near the bus stop for the harbour (tip - get a weekly bus ticket for 15 euros each, we made good use of ours) or a half-hour stroll to the lovely harbour and new town. But the highlight, despite having two tiny tots, was the Archaeological Site which was quite stunning. The mosaics! OK this was February, and lots of places and attractions were closed, but we felt we had the place to ourselves. The establishments that were open tried that bit harder (sometimes in desperation!) but everywhere was laid-back and friendly.
Back to the hotel. Next to a huge hole in the ground which will (finance allowing) be the next stage in the development, including spa, sauna etc. So, not the prettiest sight (or site) to the south, but we kept our view elsewhere! Fortified by lovely eclectic breakfasts. with friendly, smiling staff.
Another tip. The little bistro called "something 45" (can't remember the name) was quirky, friendly and welcoming. The palm trees lit up in varying colours was a good memory.
Last tip; avoid the supermarket across the road. Little stock and a bad attitude by the owners! But the Felix bar opposite shows premier league football and has a manic and agreeable owner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear TonyScarborough,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with other reviewers.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With our very best regards from sunny Paphos,
from the Management Team of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just returned from this hotel after having nine great days here, we were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, the hotel is brilliant. The rooms are well equipped with plenty of toiletries, towels, comfortable beds, lovely fresh clean linen and spotlessly clean. People complain there was not tea and coffee but all you have to do is buy these items from the local supermarket and use the kettle etc and use the fridge for your milk. There is also a tv in your room not a lot of English channels but do you really go to Cyprus on holiday to watch tv? The dinning room was great the food was lovely you could have plenty to eat, the staff were really helpful and worked very hard and the restaurant area was spotless. The receptionists were extremely helpful, nothing was a problem always friendly, also the young guy (cannot remember his name) who helped all over the hotel was always helping out guests. There is a few finishing touches which are being finished here but this is understandable as the hotel is only six months old, these few things do not interfere with you staying there. The pool is lovely and there are plenty of beds and chairs for use, if not you just ask and they bring more up from downstairs. The reviews that say it is very minimalistic yes it is but this is perfect as you do not sit in the hotel all day and you do not need to be falling over lots of furniture. All I can say is that this hotel was well worth the stay and is of a high standard and we look forward to returning very soon. Thank you Amphora for a lovely time there.

Room Tip: All very good rooms all with sea view and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Anne W,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and high ratings. We are very glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With our warmest regards,
From the Management & Staff at Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Minimalistic to a fault! The reception area looked totally unfurnished and bare. One did not have a sense of welcome in this empty space. Why not install a lovely water feature as a focal point?
Laura the receptionist is a lovely helpful lady, very efficient & pleasant. She is by far the nicest of the receptionists. The room was clean and beds comfortable, but it is a great pity that the chairs in the room offered no comfort whatsoever. They were plastic with no cushioning at all. One would have expected better.
The bathroom was clean, towels and toiletries replaced daily.
The head waiter was polite and very efficient, but the dining room staff were very lax and couldn't care less when he had his day off. The breakfast was superb with a good selection of food. The evening meals were of a high quality also.
One would expect a supply of tea and coffee as there was a facility available in the room.
The bar was disappointing. No draught beer on tap!! Again, only two comfortable sofas amidst lots of uncomfortable furniture. No English language programmes on the tv. Why? Local bars were able to offer satellite tv - why not this hotel, especially as they boasted a tv room. This hotel had little to offer guests in the low season.
We came to this hotel on a late deal, -which was good value for the money, but we would have been exceptionally disappointed had we paid the full price.
Location was great with lovely sea views.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Vermiform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmphoraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Vermiform,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us; We are disappointed to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

However, please rest assured that your feedback is taken into account and where deemed appropriate we shall take corrective measures. Our aim is to provide personal quality service and delight every single guest with many memorable experiences.

Once again we thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and in providing you with the best service you deserve.


With our best regards from the Management & Staff of
Amphora Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#32 of 85 in Paphos
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel & Suites

Address: Poseidonos Avenue 48, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $105 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive new hotel offers unobstructed views of the tranquil waters of the Mediterranean and the picturesque fishing harbour and Medieval Castle. Set on the idyllic beachfront location of the former SODAP Winery, Amphora Hotel is a rejuvenating, inspiring and serene haven of contemporary elegance that will awaken your senses. One of the highlights of this perfectly situated hotel is the exquisite accommodation offered, comprising of 95 Luxury Suites, spacious Superior Rooms and a 3 Bedroom Villa; the majority of which offer magnificent and unobstructed views of the azure Mediterranean waters and the Paphos castle. The upgraded and inviting rooms offer breathtaking views of the enchanting sunset or the landscaped gardens, while underlining comfort and a “home away from home” sensation. Thoughtful amenities combined with elegant furniture and lighting create the ideal ambiance to feel completely at home. Amphora Hotel houses a restaurant, lounge bar and seasonal pool bar. Recreational facilities include a gymnasium while the landscaped gardens surround the kidney-shaped swimming pool and the children’s pool. The hotel enjoys a prime location, just 10’ drive from Paphos International Airport, 7’ walk from the historical castle and harbour, and 20’ drive from the local golf courses. The lively atmosphere of the area offers a wide range of facilities, shops, bars, restaurants, nightlife and attractions.Amphora hotel offers free round-trip transportation from Paphos International Airport and transport to/from Larnaca Airport for an additional fee upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amphora Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing