We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - pretty minimalist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amphora Hotel & Suites
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location
On the sea front with a 10 minute walk into Pafos town and another 10 to the Castle. There is a scenic path running along the front for about 2 miles past all the hotels and down to the Harbour and Castle. There’s always someone walking, cycling or jogging along there.
Within five minutes’ walk from the hotel are about 10 restaurants/pubs, including Chinese, Irish, French, African, Cypriot and a few Italians. Excellent choice no matter what your budget.
Across the road you’ll also find a supermarket (for your coffee and milk), open roughly 8am-9pm, and vehicle and bicycle hire. We hired a 4x4 and cycles from Protaras and got a great service.
You can get breakfast nearby for about €5, and lunch/dinner for about €7-25. Many of the restaurants were offering 3 course specials for €12-25. Great choice, in fact you need more than a week just to visit all the local restaurants never mind heading into Pathos.
There are watersports nearby, but not open in the winter. The harbour has lots of restaurants where you can eat on the waterfront, and there’s lots of boat trips available.
Personally we wouldn’t go in November again as it was way too cold to swim and with the wind and clouds it was rarely warm enough to sit around the pool. In fact, the staff were removing sunbeds from around us as we sat there. They weren’t shutting down, they just seem to have decided that from the end of November no-one should be allowed a sunbed. I’d be really miffed if I’d booked to go there and couldn’t sit out by pool. None of the other hotels were doing that. It was really quiet, so there was no queuing or long waits in restaurants.
Good weather for cycling though. Some lovely local (fairly flat) rides along the sea front or back lanes past citrus orchards. We also cycled up to Asprokremmos Dam, which was 19 miles (trying to avoid the B6) but really nice.
Cheap buses pass by frequently to the airport, waterpark or harbour.

Room
All rooms have a gorgeous sea and pool view. They are new and very minimalist, which is fine by us. I do get annoyed reading reviews that seem to mark it down because it doesn’t match their taste or they consider it unfinished.
Air con is ok but only goes down to 17⁰C which is too warm for sleeping for us hardy northerners ;-).
We had a bath and one of those lovely showers with a big square head. Lots of toiletries: shower cap, shoe polish, conditioner, shampoo, moisturiser and soap.
Kettle and fridge provided, but NOT coffee etc. Just nip across the road for your supplies.

Facilities
There’s a swimming pool, kids pool, pool bar and a bar (Suite 48). The Reception block has the restaurant, a bar and a pool table. We didn’t use the hotel restaurant as there was too much choice nearby. There are a few cycles that can be hired for €10 a day (but you can get them across the road for €5 from Protaras).
We had breakfast included and there was a great choice; yoghurts, fruit, cheeses, hot and cold meats, porridge, fruit juices (cheap versions), breads, coffee and a choice of teas, etc; help yourself. It was lovely but shame it didn’t open ‘til 8 am.
The free Wi-fi was great throughout the premises. Shame the TV didn’t have a lot of choice of English-speaking channels as there seemed to be more Brits than anyone else.
Service
No complaints other than removing sunbeds around us and making us feel like we were in the way.
The free transfers to and from the airport were great, if not a taxi was €25 each way. Or you could get a bus which is only a few €s a day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

After careful consideration, me and my partner decided to book a weeks holiday to Amphora for some well needed R & R. We booked 2 months in advance via bookings.com and the T&C confirmed that although card details were entered, payment was not due until arrival at the hotel. The booking was confirmed.

My partner contacted Amphora direct, 3 days before our arrival to book airport transfer, providing both his email and mobile number. They confirmed our transfer and accordingly we were greeted at the airport with a sign. However, when checking in, we were told our room was cancelled the previous day! They said bookings.com should have emailed us. We didn't see it (1 day before). We were told all rooms were fully booked. As it was midnight, the best they could offer was 1 night in the 3 bed villa, and they charged us the full 190EURO.

Their excuse was that they cancelled because they had difficulties processing our card details 2 days before our arrival - NB payment isn't due until arrival in any event! They did not call us or e-mail us yet they picked us up from the airport! All we had was one email from bookings requesting we re-confirm our card details within the next 24 hours. Thanks to the lack of notice from Amphora and Bookings, we spent the first day of our holiday searching for a vacant room, ending up in a dingy old hotel for the duration of our holiday.

Lesson. Check your e-mails the day before you fly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Nic0laM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for a last minute few days away as we live in Cyprus. We booked a superior room but we were surprised by a free upgrade to a superior 1 bed suite when we arrived which was great. The staff were really welcoming to and someone showed us to the room. The room was exceptionally clean and really nicely furnished. There is literally nothing we could fault at all and it had lovely views of the sea. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and great full English! We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was €20 per person for 4 really good courses. Definitely worth going. The waiters in the restaurant were great too, very attentive and professional without being ott.
Overall the hotel is great and we will definitely be returning and definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The 90% complete hotel which sells ordinary rooms as 'superior'!? Having stayed at a budget airport hotel immediately before arriving it was, with exception of the view no better! The rooms are already looking tired and on one occasion we had a threadbare duvet cover! Towels were not routinely changed when damp and should you really be expected to dry them on your balcony not practical in November and if everyone did it maybe reminiscent of an East European tenement building! I'd read a review of the place before I went and the reviewer was very kind only complaining about the breakfast juice which at the I considered petty, but on that he was correct! Considering the Cypriots are proud of their citrus groves, how this hotel can serve concentrate dispensed from a machine frankly speaks volumes! Spend aliterate more and go to the Alexander or Annabelle!!
The staff are this hotels best asset, how long will they keep them....?

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank NJS292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights whilst looking for a holiday apartment. Saw this hotel being completed in the summer when we were there. The rooms Steve ry spacious and all have a sea view. We had a. Large balcony and the room itself has a fridge and kettle, you need to buy your own jar of coffee though! The room was immaculately clean and there was a great shower with separate shower if you want to wash your hair. A great hairdryer in the bathroom. The breakfast had a great choice . We didn't have dinner. Or use the bar so can't comment on that. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank kng9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Holiday at this fabalous hotel in October - the room was extremely clean modern and comfort bed with a huge balcony over looking a fanastic pool and breath taken sea view. The breakfast was great with many different choice and we always comment how good the coffee was. Great location with many resturants near by and a great place next door to hotel call suite 48 for chilling for lunch and after dinner cocktail. To top it all we had 7 days of perfect weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paypos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is very bright and modern. Please bear in mind it is different from other hotels the way it is designed. All rooms face towards the see, but we were lucky to have one on the top floor and the view was amazing (room 435) thank you. Staff were all very pleasant to us and the cleaning staff do a very good job. Breakfast was very good (back bacon, which pleased my husband). The pool area, was very basic, but very open, with plenty of sun beds, and the pools kept immaculate (but very cold), but you can always swim in the sea. My only real complaint was the fact they provide tea making facilities, but not the ingredients to go with it, all in all a lovely holiday, within walking distance to the harbour. I wouldn't recommend people with children to stay as there is no form of entertainment. Yes I would like to return another day

Room Tip: request room on the upper floor, rooms in block 4,5,6, get the sun all day, block 3 is quite shaded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileysylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#31 of 84 in Paphos
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 84 in Paphos
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.7 mi away
Apollonia Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#48 of 84 in Paphos
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel & Suites

Address: Poseidonos Avenue 48, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $79 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive new hotel offers unobstructed views of the tranquil waters of the Mediterranean and the picturesque fishing harbour and Medieval Castle. Set on the idyllic beachfront location of the former SODAP Winery, Amphora Hotel is a rejuvenating, inspiring and serene haven of contemporary elegance that will awaken your senses. One of the highlights of this perfectly situated hotel is the exquisite accommodation offered, comprising of 95 Luxury Suites, spacious Superior Rooms and a 3 Bedroom Villa; the majority of which offer magnificent and unobstructed views of the azure Mediterranean waters and the Paphos castle. The upgraded and inviting rooms offer breathtaking views of the enchanting sunset or the landscaped gardens, while underlining comfort and a “home away from home” sensation. Thoughtful amenities combined with elegant furniture and lighting create the ideal ambiance to feel completely at home. Amphora Hotel houses a restaurant, lounge bar and seasonal pool bar. Recreational facilities include a gymnasium while the landscaped gardens surround the kidney-shaped swimming pool and the children’s pool. The hotel enjoys a prime location, just 10’ drive from Paphos International Airport, 7’ walk from the historical castle and harbour, and 20’ drive from the local golf courses. The lively atmosphere of the area offers a wide range of facilities, shops, bars, restaurants, nightlife and attractions.Amphora hotel offers free round-trip transportation from Paphos International Airport and transport to/from Larnaca Airport for an additional fee upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amphora Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing