We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place should get 6 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akis Tavern

Akis Tavern
Ranked #2 of 537 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A simple traditional taverna, family run, with no gourmet elements, as that would contradict the whole concept, in a village setting and beautiful gardens. My mum prepares the food with lots of love and the rest of us make sure it is served to you properly and on time! The presentation is simple as well, as my father wants, although my mother would love to show off a bit more of her skills:) However and most importantly, it is genuinely Cypriot!We have had the taverna since 1990 and during the years we have made a lot of wonderful friends and shared with them beautiful moments, wedding and christening parties, anniversaries and birthday parties. That is the best part of the story!So, after writing a whole essay I realise I could just describe it with one single sentence: A family-run tavern who loves Cypriot food and enjoys serving its visitors!Thank you for taking the time to read it!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place should get 6 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I randomly chose the Akis Tavern for lunch and enjoyed the most memorable dining experience in years. The food was top quality and the prices very reasonable but what really made it was the service. This is a family owned restaurant that treats diners like guests, making you feel truly welcome. We even got to try granny's secret-recipe, utterly delicious coconut cake. An absolute must if you are in the Paphos area; 20 mins drive from where we stayed in Pissouri but so worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEarl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much sir! My grandmother was very pleased to hear that you made her famous on Trip Advisor :) I just remembered the difficult greek word my sister taught you for delicious :) You did quite well however!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    51
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From Paphos to Lemesos using the old road enjoy your food at AKIS TAVERN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Akis Tavern is a tavern where you will enjoy nice home made plates. The owners are very friendly and kind people. Running Akis Tavern every day but Monday is a family affair. Mr Akis and Mrs Marina along with their three children take very very very good care of customers. Don't forget to taste on Sundays special CYPRIOT SOUVLA (lamb, pork or chicken). Always you can have the best MOUSAKA (among taverns in Cyrpus and also in Greece) prepared by Mrs Marina. Taste also a great KLEFTIKO made patiently in traditional oven which decorates the wonderful garden where you can enjoy your food during summertime. All foods are great and in the end you will be served delicious sweets like DAXTYLA, or KATAIFI made by Mrs Marina and fresh fruits. Akis Tavern is my place to eat home made food two years now. Invite your friends, or celebrate with family and enjoy your meal in Akis Tavern

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KostasMarinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
You are definitely one of Akis Tavern's most loyal friends and the whole family appreciates your lovely words! Thank you very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited Akis Tavern twice during our holidays in Paphos! We went there on a Wednesday night, without a reservation and luckily it was a quiet night. We had meze and we were more than happy! The food was excellent (and so much of it) and the staff helpful!! Marina, owner and chef treated us with homemade sweets and fruits! We went back on a Saturday night, on our way to the airport and they were so happy to see us again, as were we! The welcoming was so warm, despite the fact that it had been a very busy night! We higly recommend the place, as is a very traditional Cypriot tavern, with friendly people and a great value of money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIMITRA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It was a pleasure having you in our restaurant twice! It always makes us feel good, when visitors, while on vacations, honor us more than once, considering the distance of our tavern from the centre! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“What a wonderful family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

You could sample souvlaki in a thousand tavernas and never come close to the succulence served up in that name by Marina. And for a starter allow her dolmades to melt in your mouth..
The friendly and talented family who run Akis Taverna deserve a place in culinary history.
Akis, the owner, is the perfect host from the moment you arrive, expertly and helpfully guiding you through the menu and dish of the day.
Marina, his wife and chef, simply creates bliss on a plate ( and plenty of it )
My special praise, however, goes to their delightful daughter, 'Princess' Andrie, whose beautiful smile lights up the whole tavern on even the cloudiest of days.
No visit to Cyprus would be complete without a visit to Akis,( and it's only a couple of kms from the airport on your way home too )
Don't forget. Ask for the Princess. She may not be wearing a crown, but she WILL be wearing a smile to melt your hearts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
My dearest friend, you definitely put a big smile on my face right now and some color on my cheeks too:) From the very first moment we talked on the phonef or your reservation, I knew you would be special and your family too! It was a GREAT pleasure meeting you and I hope we keep in contact! You are designing my wedding ring anyway, when that time comes:) Thank you very much for your lovely words!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tavern!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We chose this restaurant for our last night in Cyprus. We wanted a typical and someway cheap restaurant which would have helped us in reminding the Cyprus' tastes for a long time. And ror these reasons we looked for a tavern, regardless of its position. Actually Akis Tavern is far from the city and it takes 20 minutes by car to go there. Luckily it's easy to be found (just take the way for the Paphos Airport having a look for the relevant signboards once you reach Acheleia) and it is easy to have the car parked. The restaurant was almost empty that day, but this was not a problem at all. On the contrary, you can enjoy even better the Akis company, who is a friendly and kind person. We decided not to have meze trying to select something from the menu by ourselves. It was not easy because you have to choose from a lot of options. We chose pitas, halloumi and two huge and marvellous steaks. The food was simple but tasty, the quantities huge and the quality good. The company amazing. We definitely spent a very good night and we had a very amazing dinner. I guess you can find more sofisticated restaurant in Paphos, but it's hard to find a better enviroment. And I think that a good atmosphere is not only made by music, forniture and silverwaresm but by people too. And the ones you will meet in Akis Tavern are definitely friendly and amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stranamore1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I found your review you accurate in so many ways, saying that we are not in the town centre and not what you would call a sophisticated restaurant but however you still enjoyed the food, the atmosphere which you described in a special way and the company! We thank you so much for your nice and honest words and we are glad to know that you chose us to keep a nice memory of Cyprus ;) xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akis Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Akis Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing