We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cyprus hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akis Tavern

Akis Tavern
Ranked #10 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A simple traditional taverna, family run, with no gourmet elements, as that would contradict the whole concept, in a village setting and beautiful gardens. My mum prepares the food with lots of love and the rest of us make sure it is served to you properly and on time! The presentation is simple as well, as my father wants, although my mother would love to show off a bit more of her skills:) However and most importantly, it is genuinely Cypriot!We have had the taverna since 1990 and during the years we have made a lot of wonderful friends and shared with them beautiful moments, wedding and christening parties, anniversaries and birthday parties. That is the best part of the story!So, after writing a whole essay I realise I could just describe it with one single sentence: A family-run tavern who loves Cypriot food and enjoys serving its visitors!Thank you for taking the time to read it!
Cardiff, Wales. U.K.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cyprus hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having found the Akis Taverna quite by accident and suffering from a rumbling tum, we can honestly say that the welcome, the hospitality and the fun we had there tonight has restored our faith in Cyprus Tavernas. The food and service was the best we have experienced in the two weeks we have spent in the Paphos area so far. The family run taverna retains the best traditions of a Cypriot or Greek family run business. Within 30 minutes we got to know Mama, "Marinea", Papa "Akis" and daughter "Andrie". All were only to pleased to answer our queries regarding the food, drink and local area. Each one of the family members took time to talk to us and to help us with our Greek vocabulary. It is amazing that all the family members found time to spend with each table although they were really busy. The taverna is approximately 7 km outside of Paphos and well worth the effort of travelling there. Definitely the best dining experience of the last two weeks. We only wish we had found this taverna a lot earlier in our holiday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
My dear dear couple! It was so nice meeting you!!! I enjoyed talking with you and finding out about your trips! I must confess that i got a bit jealous :) Your review made my whole family feel proud of what we do! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    52
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The trip advisor reviews were spot on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived late and the owner was beginning to wrap up for the evening as the last table had just finished. "No problem" he said. We sat down and he went through the items on the menu explaining everything we enquired about. We selected the meze which is around 20 small dishes and were not disappointed. Lovely food and a good way to sample some many local foods. At the end of the meal we sat with the owner having a good chat over some wine. His attitude is strongly 'customer satisfaction' orientated and we would have gone back there if we had found his place at the start of the holiday instead of the end of it.
The location is not in the town centre but is well worth a short drive or bus ride to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary_saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I wasnt working that night but I do remember my dad coming home talking about you:) Obviously he enjoyed talking with you! Thank you very much for your nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thank you akis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went here to dinner based on what we learnt from Tripadvisor, and we were extremely happy with all we got! I recommend you to choose this restaurant if you do not want to be disappointed! The scampi and the lamb was fantastic.Akis Tavern maybe really the best .

Sandor S.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sisa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We' re really really happy to hear that you found Trip advisor's reviews accurate and that you enjoyed your plates ;) Your words were nice and kind, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cypriot cuisine.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Akis Taverna is almost a daily habit when i go to Cyprus. I've almost tried out the whole menu. The food is always fresh. Has the best ''mousakka'' i tasted, and the best ''stifado'' also.
Is always very clean and well kept. Has a large garden that is always well groomed. The garden, and the food of that taverna has convinced me that is the right place to make there the party of the christening of my son. I've booked it already, and definetaly the right choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We miss you already! It became a habit for us too ;) Our kisses to the little cheeky monkey and regards to your husband! Please remind him his promise for when coming back for the christening :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good simple food with down to earth prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Akis offers a relaxing environment, with simple local Cypriot dishes.

Akis is run couple a couple that make and deliver the food themselves. We had the meze, whilst planning for our wedding...it was so perfect we decided to book up for 70 people one year in advance!

More please!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrianahad, owners' daughter at Akis Tavern, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing that with our Trip advisor visitors, because this way you give us the chance to let people know that we cater for big parties as well! Thank you for everything that you've written! We cant wait to have you back for the wedding party!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akis Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Akis Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing