We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cypriot Wine - a wonderful discovery”

Paphos Wine Tours Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 14 Food & Drink in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cypriot Wine - a wonderful discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was an absolute find. Who knew Cypriot wine was so so good! Not only that but a bit of culture thrown in to. We did the half day tour as this was preferable to us. We were picked up by Gerry and after picking up another couple we headed to a monastery which was very interesting. Part of it was built into the mountains and was from the 12th Century. Part of it was still in use. Following this we went to a small winery, we had actually already tasted some of their wine in a local restaurant so it was great to see where it came from and to buy a few bottles of our favourites. This was a small family run operation. From here we went to a much larger operation where they make not only wine but other liqueurs and spirits. We saw where the villagers brought in the grapes and got to try lots of different types. We then went to the tasting area where all in all they put out 28 bottles for us to try! The lady who organises this bit from the winery is very nice and knows a lot about the wines / company. We had a great day with Gerry and the other couple. Many thanks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timlyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    11
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A tour to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was our best day in Paphos! I contacted Gerry through e-mail and telephone before arriving to Cyprus. We (3 friends) wanted a tour in the Troodos mountains but not only visiting wineries. The tour Gerry offered us for a good price was perfectly tailor-made and we enjoyed every bit of it. He even pointed out a few places that weren't in the program and we really appreciated that. The tour started at 9.30 AM and ended around 5.30 and as we had booked another evening tour to Limassol, Gerry kindly dropped us at the harbour to make sure we didn't miss our bus! What can I say: great service, friendly atmosphere (we were singing in the car!), interesting places and wonderful experience! I definitely recommend Paphos wine tours to anyone who wants to see Cyprus differently, and will surely book a tour with them on my next trip to Cyprus! Thumbs up Gerry! Regards from Lebanon :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KryssR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ab Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just arrived back from a wonderful trip with Gerry,we could not fault the excellent service and friendly atmosphere Gerry created.Both visits were fantastic but the second was our favourite,so wonderful to taste such amazing wine and see the grapes delivered on trucks!We came home with a few bottles, bag of grapes and a huge smile!!Defintley recommend this trip,thanks Gerry! X

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterfinn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fantastic day out with Gerry & Steve. Great value for money and worth every penny. An excellent way of seeing the beautiful side of Cyprus & sampling the fine wines with the added bonus of being able to buy them cheaper than in Paphos. The guys were very informative & made us feel really relaxed the whole time. The lunch provided is lovely and enjoyed even more in the surroundings it is eaten. Ideal for the discerning wine drinker or anyone who wants to escape the tourist side of Paphos and experience Cyprus at its best. Highly recommended to all age groups too. Well done Gerry & Steve. Keep up the good work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great morning of wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

There were four of us on a weeks holiday to a villa in Argaka and our first trip to Cyprus. Gerry took us on a half day tour that included a visit to a village known for its weaving plus pointed out some sights. We visited the Kamanterena Winery which was excellent a very knowledgable tour and plenty of wine and other local tipples to try. We all bought something and finished the day feeling a little fuzzy but happy from the tastings :o) Would definitely recommend Paphos Wine Tours to others and use them again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paphos Wine Tours Day Tours also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Paphos Wine Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing