We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A well thought out local museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steni Museum of Village Life

The Steni Museum of Village Life
Ranked #35 of 108 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well thought out local museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I happened across this museum on a drive into the hills. It's in a brand new large bright complex so has had a lot of recent investment. It was a hot Sunday late afternoon and the curator was about to close up but kindly stayed open and gave me a personal tour. Very interesting exhibits and the curator was obviously very passionate about rural village life in Steni.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jegoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing exhibits of everyday life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We discovered this little gem quite by accident as we were on our way somewhere else. The museum is set in the lovely village of Steni, which itself is kept immaculately clean, but that is another story. The museum covers the life of the people over time's gone by, and these people were a hard working people, you have displays of farming implements, clothing, practically everything that you would require to exist, and everything is listed in a very very well catalogued booklet, It is certainly a credit to the man and others who managed to put this together for prosperity and all this for a donation. Go on drop in next time you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alphonsus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is one of the larger local museums I have been in and has a great deal packed into it. The presentation is excellent with lots of interesting narratives displayed. Our conversation with the curator cast even more insight into the tough life of the people of Cyprus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeteShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful and interesting museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not big but interesting and worth a visit. Shows how hard life must have been years ago and still is for some. Short drive from polis. Very peaceful village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank julieandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Steni's hidden historical gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Following a lunchtime visit to the Watermill for lunch , we decided to pop in and have a quick look around this museum just across the road dedicated to the historical past of Steni.

It looks to be a recently established museum .Although not very big,It houses an a number of interesting collections of various historical items that reflect aspects of ancient life in and around the village e.g. To see the tools used by the farmers in the past and numerous other things that were the norm in olden days.

The exhibits are laid out very neatly with descriptions in English and Greek. There is no entrance fee but donations are invited to promote the upkeep of the place.
To sum up especially if you are into history, this museum may be small but a surprising gem to miss when in Steni.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deno_AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steni Museum of Village Life also viewed

 

Been to The Steni Museum of Village Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing