We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Cyprus”
Review of Tweedies

Tweedies
Ranked #106 of 552 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best in Cyprus”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The title might seem over the top. However, I have been eating here on a regular basis since it opened and it deserves that plaudit because of its consistency. The menu changes regularly, is varied and caters for all eating vagaries. The service is friendly, efficient and the standards and facilities throughout are of the highest calibre. The food is lovingly prepared and consistently good with the "wedges" a personal favourite. My only hope is that this review will not encourage too many to follow in my footsteps and as a result not have a table available for my next visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    29
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Tweedies for over 8 years and are never disappointed.
You are greeted very warmly and professionally. Service is attentive but not imposing.

The menu varies on a daily basis serving seasonal food. Every dish is exciting, with a slight twist created by Craig the Chef/joint owner. Be Sure to save some room for a dessert to die for, created by Hillary.

They have a good selection of local and imported wines, and a few selected ales for the Men.

Overall this restaurant is amazing value for money, intimate but not fussy, a wonderful experience for foodies who love interesting internationally inspired cuisine.

Booking is essential, as this restaurant is an absolute gem and always busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suesamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality and warm service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had not anticipated finding this little gem of restaurant whilst visiting Cyprus recently - owned by a British couple its clear a lot of effort and skill has gone into creating a relaxed and slightly more sophisticated atmosphere and menu than a typical Cypriot tavern. Good job, as the food is miles away from what you might have been expecting if you though it was, and in a good way!
With a menu rewritten daily according to what is available locally from the market. The quality of presentation and taste easily explains why you need to reserve a table. Even out of season on a Thursday evening we were only able to get a last minute table for two late on.

Shirt, trousers and perhaps a jacket recommended, as is cash/cheque because they don't take cards. Price wise its on par with the quality of the food and its easy to see why many people return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super supper”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited here for a pre-show supper before a theatre visit to Stage One in Emba recently.
At 12 Euros for 2 courses, it was worth a try!

Booking ahead was necessary with space for only 30, but at no stage in the booking process did the member of staff mention the fact that the restaurant does not accept cards. I have, as yet, been unable to find this information on their website.

We ordered Tweedie's salad to start- a tasty vegetable and egg concoction, which came, surprisingly, with one slice of French bread each. Thought that was a little tight, a bread stick isn't that pricey,even in Cyprus!

For the main course, one of us had the pollack, which came with crushed (that's mashed to you and me!) potatoes, and the other had the roast vegetable, cheese and ham crepes. The inclusion of the ham was not necessary as (a) it was only sliced packaged ham and (b) with only 3 items on the pre-show supper menu, it would be beneficial to have a vegetarian option. The fish was tasty and had a wonderful texture- a real treat. The crepes were fine, but I'll probably opt for another choice on the menu next time.

To finish with, we had a small portion of rhubarb crumble to share. It was delicious, and at only 3 Euros, a real treat.

The glass of house red wine was very easy to drink- rich and fruity.

There was a pleasant buzz to the place, and as long as you remember that you are in a British provincial town (not too many Cypriots in when we went) you won't be disappointed by the ambiance.
Overall, well worth the visit- will try the main menu next time- remembering to visit the cash point first though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyCatCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Truly Scrumtious”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited Tweedies twice during our stay in Emba village once for a evening meal and the other for a Sunday lunch. The restaurant is of a top bistro standard is both warm and welcoming by the staff and decor. They also stock local kolios wines that are excellent. The food was faultless a little pricey to go on a daily basis though you would like to once you have eaten here for the first time! Be sure to book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tweedies also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Tweedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing