We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunConnect Sofianna Resort
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently come back from the Sofianna and we had a great time.
For a start the apparment was big, the biggest I have been to for a long time. There was loads of room, great when you have two kids with you. There was a big bedroom with two single beds pushed together, wardrobe and dressing table with hairdryer and lots of space to put suitcases. Ok sized bathroom with everything you expect in there. A hall with another cupboard. Then a kitchen area with kettle, microwave, hob and toaster. Breakfast bar with 4 chairs and then into a living space with two beds (for kids), coffee table and tv. Then a balcony with a table and chairs (when we arrived there were only 2, but after a day the cleaners put another 2 chairs in).
The rooms also had airconditioning, free, which was a godsend. The days got to 35+degrees and the evenings were very humid, so to come in after the sun into a nice cool room was great. It also meant that when sleeping it was very comfortable.

Down side that there was only a breakfast bar to eat around, which was not ideal for a family. Anyone with really young kids would struggle as they are tall chairs - but there is always the coffee table. Also the balcony was not very big. Again it was a push to get a table and 4 chairs around it - 2 chairs are not a problem, but the other 2 would be squeezed to the back.

Apart from that the room was great, a pleasant surprise. Note that it is not 5* and can look a bit dated...but most self catering places in Cyprus/Greece are. But is was clean and spacious.

The Pool was great, lots of sunbeds available. Some spaces proved popular and people would put towels down, but if you were not too bothered then lots of room (note that was the hotel buildings go around the pool you do loose some sunshine late afternoon). Our kids loved the pool and had lots of places for them to play in and swim.
One comment though is that there is a sign that says "No Balls or Inflatables Allowed in the Pool", which did not go down well with the kids. But we took blow ups in and no one said anything (thinks its only if you bring a massive one they would say anything). We did take a ball down also, and otheres did - I did see the bar manager come out to tell someone to stop playing with it, but this was only because they were throwing it hard and it kept coming out of the pool - so think as long as you are sensible you are ok. Food at the bar was ok, standard really, although not the cheapest. But we found that most of Cyprus was the same, pretty expensive (poor exchange rate does not help it). But you got plenty of food and was nice. Drinks were also ok priced.

There was also a nice childrens play ground at the back of the hotel which the kids loved - had basket ball hoop, volley ball and slides and swings...although it is at the back which you cannot see, so an adult would have to go with them.

The evening times there is not much in the hotel, says it has a bar, but I never saw it open. But it was quiet in the evenings (which if you want to sleep is good). Mainly families there, but also a few young people, which was not a problem when we were there.

Sofianna was in a great location, step out and you have a number of bars and restraunts on your doorstep to eat. Very close to the George & Dragon pub which seemed popular and lots of places to drink to the early hours if that is what you wanted. Plenty of family places to then tempted you with free kids drinks if you came in. It was only a short walk to a really big supermarket, and not too far to walk to the harbour/sea front. Once there you had lots of choices for food and drinks, very busy in the evening time, bit commercialised (McD's and KFC etc). The day time you can jump off jetty's into the sea, but there is no beach to speak of. You can catch a bus to a really nice beach, but its 20-25mins in a hot bus which we just did not fancy.

One place we eat at twice was Tea For Two on the way to the harbour. Very nice staff and very reasonable prices for what you got. But it was focused on english food, which are places we usually avaoid. But with kids they like the simple food, and the kids choices where great (sausage & chips, beans of toast etc. So they loved it. They also do amazing puddings - we usually got the Brownie, which one portion would do all four of us. So nice place to eat (but as the owner admits it is not fine dinning).

Overall a really nice place to visit. If it was a bit cheaper and not as far (4hrs45mins is a long time on a plane with kids...especially when you get delayd 3hrs coming back!!!) then we would go back regularly, especially to the Sofianna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick_billy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from our 4th stay at the sofianna and we had a great time.
We were in room 412 over looking the pool it was clean and in ok condition. The pool area was great plenty of sunbeds.
Will try and go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyatt2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Best holiday ever. 5 minutes away from a huge range of shops and restaurants, loads of things to do. Cleaners were brilliant, the rooms had everything you could need. The pool was huge! Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Asw1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We live in Larnaca, we stayed in this hotel as we had family come over staying in Paphos. Room was basic but clean, staff quite friendly. Quiet area, but only 2mins walk to all bars and restaurants. Plenty of sunbeds around pool, which I thought was the best part of the hotel. Breakfast was what you would expect at a 3 star. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we have been going to the Sofianna apartments for the last 15 years and find the location brill a walk away from the bustle of Paphos main street and bars
the apartments are old but very clean and the staff are so helpful nothing to much trouble,My daughter now takes her family there and the boys spend all day spashing about in the wonderful pool shes even renewing her wedding vows there next year . we stay bed and breakfast after that you will not need to eat until the night time would highly recommend it

Room Tip: rooms by the gardens are always quieter there is a family room upabove the goerge and dragon pub but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 282allibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Cyprus is looking a little tired at the edges at the moment which is definitely how to sum up this hotel! We went just before the end of the school term and so it was relatively quiet with a mix of locals and foreigners. No problems getting a space round the pool but quite hard to find sufficient shade in the blistering heat. The rooms were basic but clean and a reasonable size. The shops, bars and restaurants around the hotel are about a 5/10 minute walk and are quite pricey but exactly what I would expect given the economy. There are also a number of gaps where shops should be which is quite sad and does lend the air of a 'ghost town' during the day. There is little to do in the hotel itself but there is a 'pub' attached which is pleasant enough with quiz's, karaoke, etc on some nights.
For us, the holiday was exactly what we wanted and needed - just a pity about the Saharan heat wave!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellyholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week holiday in the sofianna, so glad we booked the sofianna for our stay. The location was perfect and handy to most things. Very close to bar street but far enough not the hear the noise. We travelled from Newcastle and feel the flight times were awful, however sofianna apartments were helpful and let us keep our room in until 9pm for only 30euros. our party defiantly enjoyed our stay and if we would return would defiantly look into staying here again. We specially enjoyed how good the cleaners are and making our beds most days. Only issue we had one night was above the apartment and their sqeeky bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Sofianna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Sofianna Resort

Address: 9 Agamemnos Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#31 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $113 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunConnect Sofianna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate family break away, stay at the new SunConnect Sofianna. Expect a jam-packed holiday filled with adventure as the kids will enjoy the Lollo and Bernie Kids' Clubs, digital treasure hunt and games room. While you can unwind in the spa and lounge by the Adult Only pool. With the fantastic dining options and a superb location in the heart of Paphos, everything is within easy reach on your All Inclusive holiday. Location 300m from the beach with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Close to the main nightlife of Paphos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SunConnect Sofianna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofianna Hotel Apts
Sofianna Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing