We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunConnect Sofianna Resort
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

quite nice hotel with a short distance from restaurants.pool area is peaceful and nice.Only thing not so nice was our balcony,it was very little with no sunshine but it really didn`t bother because we spent our days outside.Overall Paphos is lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eokFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Sofianna several times over the last few years – can’t really fault it. The apartments and studios are spacious with a good level of equipment – comfortable beds and seating in the lounge area. The air conditioning is effective and cleaning is done on a regular basis – bins emptied daily and beds and towels changed regularly. We reported a problem with the air conditioning and an engineer arrived literally within minutes to check it out and it was repaired the same day. The standard of furnishings and décor may be more comfortable than plush but it’s perfectly acceptable for the cost.

The pool area is also kept in good order. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas – sometimes people do nip out early to put towels on the beds, but it seems to be because they want a particular area. We’ve never experienced a shortage of sunbeds at any time of the day.

The big advantage to the Sofianna is its location in Paphos. Although the apartments themselves are quiet, the immediate area has plenty of restaurants and bars, including the ARGO and WINDMILL restaurants which both feature regularly on the recommended lists. The George and Dragon bar, which is linked to the Sofianna, is very friendly place and an excellent people-watching spot. A few of the bars and restaurants in the vicinity have closed down in the last year but it’s only a five minute walk down to the sea and harbour area which is always busy.

There are sites of historical interest literally on the Sofianna’s doorstep and the Paphos mosaics are only a short walk away.

People do return to Paphos and the Sofianna year after year (ourselves included!) which is probably the best recommendation you can get.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillanJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We visited Paphos in the last week of September and stayed at Sofianna apartments. Firstly the location of the hotel was perfect; a short walk to the big super market Papantoniou, bus station, strand boulevard, bar street and the good restaurants like Mother’s (behind Debenhams), Windmill, Grazie and Moonlight, opposite the hotel where you can have fun evenings with the waiter Chris. Secondly Sofianna is a very practical hotel with ramps for the disabled and a nice pool area with a good bar with reasonable prices. Our room (304) was spacious with a well-equipped kitchenette and a small balcony where we enjoyed aspro krasi (white wine) in the evenings. The service was good and the cleanliness satisfying and we became friends with the lovely maid. Paphos is a really nice little town with friendly people everywhere. We plan to go back to Paphos and Sofianna next year and stay two or three weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TimFredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Spent 10 nights here in mid-September. Location was great, just over 5 minute walk to the harbour, & no noise at all from Bar Street. The 1st floor studio apartment was a decent size with the necessary kitchen equipment, & kept very clean by the staff. It was very annoying to have the A/C turned off every time the cleaning staff entered your room though, even if you were sitting on the balcony at the time. The tv had 2 English channels, BBC1 & Sky News, though all the bars around showed all the sport you'd ever want to watch. The single beds were the worst thing about this hotel & the main reason I wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't possible to make a comfortable bed by pushing them together, therefore I had to uncomfortably sleep every night on a tiny bed which was shorter than me & not much wider.

There was little/no soundproofing though from the outside, so you were disturbed by people walking through the hotel complex, especially if they were dragging suitcases or talking. The cleaning staff also started work at 7am, hoovering reception & emptying bins etc.Luckily I get up early. Think it would be a lot worse during school holidays with even more kids running around the place, as the design of the complex does mean noise travels a long way.

The pool area was a good size but very busy everyday. By 9am or so, though virtually nobody was around, nearly every sun lounger had a towel draped over it. It was amusing to see these sad people coming to the pool with armfuls of towels, "reserving" their loungers each morning, before heading back to their rooms again. I was quite tempted to go around, collecting all the towels & taking them away again, so the loungers were available to people who wanted to use them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

we have just got back from a brilliant 2 weeks in paphos,we stayed at the sofianna
apartments which were very dated but well looked after,with clean towels everyday
and the beds changed twice weekly.
the pool area is great,get up early for a lounger.
the pool bar snacks and drinks is what you normally would pay.
places to eat,,halcyon restaurant on bar street is exellent,as well tao chinese.
great bars to visit the george and dragon where marios and eva will look after you,
friends bar for entertainment and flintstones for cocktails and good laughs.
the pelican seafood restaurant on the harbour is very good also..

overall the sofianna is a good base for a holiday in paphos close to the bars and
eateries.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool were quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank atoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Booked a studio apt which was large enough and the facilities were very good. We even had full sized cooker!! as well as microwave, fridge,kettle, coffee maker and very good air con which is essential. We booked b&b and couldn't fault the choices,something for everyone. Pool was a good size, plenty of sun loungers for everyone - no need to be there at 8.00am to get one. There was an indoor pool which wasn't used - due to the heat probably. Only saw one person in the fitness room again probably due to the heat.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Clean apartments in an excellent position close to everything. All in all we were very happy here and would definatey recommend a visit here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 59stepstoheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very dirty rooms that smell of cigarettes. Old fashioned furniture and hard beds. Small bottle of water costs 1.90 euro ( rip off). Generally not worth staying even for free.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Sofianna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Sofianna Resort

Address: 9 Agamemnos Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#31 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $113 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunConnect Sofianna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate family break away, stay at the new SunConnect Sofianna. Expect a jam-packed holiday filled with adventure as the kids will enjoy the Lollo and Bernie Kids' Clubs, digital treasure hunt and games room. While you can unwind in the spa and lounge by the Adult Only pool. With the fantastic dining options and a superb location in the heart of Paphos, everything is within easy reach on your All Inclusive holiday. Location 300m from the beach with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Close to the main nightlife of Paphos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SunConnect Sofianna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofianna Hotel Apts
Sofianna Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing