We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Believe People Go Back”
Review of Paphiessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paphiessa Hotel
Ranked #65 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay in Paphos at The Paphiessa Hotel. We were given a room with a pool view as requested but spent just 5 minutes in it, the smell of cat pee was awful. The receptionist gave us an alternative without the pool view, not that it was a particularly pleasant sight, the pool water was green and murky, we didn't see anybody swimming the whole week. The alternative room was furnished the same as the first one with old tired furniture, dark and dreary and not very clean (and that's being generous). There was a threadbare carpet which obviously hadn't seen a hoover for a long time, we found out later that the cleaner used a MOP. The bathroom was also dirty with hairs in the corners, black grouting and sealer around the bath/shower, nowhere to hang or place toiletries or clothing, and you wouldn't want to leave them on the floor. In the bedroom we had to clean the cupboard before putting any clothes in. The TV showed just a white line in the middle of the screen, good job we didn't want to watch it. The a/c blew out warm air, it took three requests to get anything done and then it wasn't very good. The overall thoughts on the room were - shabby, dirty and non-maintained. We were very close to looking for another hotel but this would have cost a lot more money on top of what we had already spent. Downstairs the reception, bar and dining room were ok. The food, although short on choice, was tasty, but breakfast was very limited - runny porridge, toast from a dodgy toaster, two types of cereal, beans, egg, cold meats and cheese. The dining room staff were great, friendly and helpful, the room cleaner was very friendly but not so good at cleaning, the day receptionists were aloof and uncaring. Paphos itself is a warm friendly place, not too "in your face", fun and not too pricey dining out and drinks, don't be put off going there, just find another hotel (which will be expensive if you want a reasonable standard).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz K, Guest Relations Manager at Paphiessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

You need to be clever enough to understand why people go back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 769 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stay at this hotel year after year. Fabulous atmospere generated by the friendliest staff from nicos the manager jamie and michaela both serve at the bar and entertain. Yes its not the ritz but neither is it run down. These people who critisize must have maids and butlers back home. Its clean , it has all you need at a great price. I live in hotels week in week out in my job and if your familiar with uk hotels "think premier inn " only with entertainment ,great company and blue skies. See you there 1st week in july if your tempted. Colin from cheadle

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is truly awful, it is dirty (lots of ants) the shower was broken so had to go over to the dingy "gym" in the other building which was even dirtier and stuck in the 80s (shower curtain was vile) felt very unsafe there as owner gave us the keys to use the "facilities". Bar was very expensive, bar snacks awful, entertainment - think working men's club circa 1970 - the sunloungers are so old they might be worth something on flog it, terrible from protecting your from the sun, place needs a good refurb. Location is really bad, it's right next to a busy dual carriageway so impossible to sit on balcony with heavy dump trucks passing all day and night. At least a 20 minute walk to centre, unsafe path also. Please do not go here it is the worst place I have ever been!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dollyday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from 1 week in Paphos, for the third time my sister and I stayed at the Paphiessa Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Nikos with an upgrade, (sorry if I have miss spelled your name Sir Nikos!!) as soon as he spotted us at the reception desk, what a lovely man he is, he is always there to help if help is needed. We were pleased to see friends from previous visits, this should tell anyone this hotel is a very pleasant place to stay. Well done again Paphiessa and
Sir Nikos.!!

From Carole (York-UK)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff willing to Ben over backwards to help your needs. It isn't the Ritz here but for the price you get all that you need and more. Our only recommendation is that you avoid staying in the self catering rooms that back onto the road as you won't get any sleep. We asked to be moved after a sleepless first night and the staff happily obliged.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have visited paphiessa hotel many times and always i had the best holidays ever!!! the service was excellent,the rooms very clean and nice entertainment shows at night(the hypnotist show i loved it)!!! i loved spent time ine the pool drinking coktailsmade from nikos!!! Also demetra and litsa in the reception were very friendly with us and we had everything we wanted!!! for sure we will come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANETJOHNSON_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Paphiessa is a great hotel, it is clean and tidy. All of the staff are friendly, we stayed for 9 nights in April 2013 and met some amazing people, some of them were regulars at the Paphiessa visiting a few times each year and

There was excellent entertainment every night and the food is great. The rooms are clean, linen and towels are changed nearly every day.

Paphos is a beautiful place and if you hire a car you can find some great municipal beaches.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danc1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.4 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
526 reviews
0.7 mi away
New York Plaza Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#78 of 85 in Paphos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#61 of 85 in Paphos
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#50 of 85 in Paphos
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veronica Hotel
Veronica Hotel
#56 of 85 in Paphos
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paphiessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel

Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8049, Cyprus (Formerly Paphiessa Hotel Apartments)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $29 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing