We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3-Star Hotel for exploring Paphos”
Review of Kissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kissos Hotel
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The hotel is situated about 150 metres east of the Tomb of the Kings and therefore reasonably easy to locate should anyone not wish to pay for the transfers and hire a car. The hotel was a lot bigger than expected with plenty of car parking.
All the staff were very friendly, especially those working on reception. We were able to pick our own room and because we had already booked a superior room we got both a view of the pool and the sea.
This hotel has two swimming pools outside, which are a good size with plenty of sun loungers and a smaller indoor pool.
The food served in the restaurent is just about 3-Star quality (watch out for the boiled eggs) and this was disappointing as we paid for half-board. We would use this hotel again but only SC as their are plenty of restaurents within easy walking distance e.g. the Olympus (excellent fish meze) and the Phuket Thai (griled spicy fish). Most of the guests were over 60 so it was quiet around the pool but I'm not sure if this would be a hotel to bring your kids if you expect them to be entertained.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Edantic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed at the Kissos in late October when the weather was glorious - warm enough to sun bathe but without the searing heat of summer. The rooms were clean and adequate in size with balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom could have done with a makeover but functioned correctly. As mentioned by others there is extra charges for safe and fridge which we took, and tea and coffee making which we didn't. The satellite TV did show video movies a couple of times a day which gave respite from the continual news channel.

The hotel has a spacious layout and in October was not crowded. One large pool and a smaller one gave plenty of room for fun or quiet swimming depending on your taste. The pool bar was a step from the pool serving drinks late into the night, including a cocktail happy hour before dinner. There was entertainment at the pool bar every night. The drinks were not the cheapest in town but were also not extraordinary. Lunch could be taken at the pool bar in lieu of dinner in the restaurant for half board guests.

The dining room was not too busy but the food was varied and plentiful. A different country theme for evening meal each night made for a variety not normally seen. The restaurant staff were busy and efficient and there was a good range of moderately priced wine on offer.

There was a friendly ambience from all the staff at the hotel, and many returning guests were treated like old friends.

The hotel is located a short walk from the main "English Bars", but they do not intrude. There is a chemist and various small shops in the main street. Walk in the other direction to the coast where the coastal walk can be picked up for the energetic. It does pass many hotels where the bars do serve non residents.

If you feel energetic both the harbour and the markets are within walking distance, but probably should be reserved for separate days.

The Kissos fits the bill whether you want a quiet hotel centred stay or want to use it as a base for the nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

hotel very clean,nice staff ,food ok .one fault extras for small fridge kettle safe does the hotel no favours maine gripe from many guests at hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JerseyTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We are a couple in our mid 40s & have just returned from a week at the Kissos, our first time in Cyprus. Having noted mixed reviews below, the best advice I can give is that it is a typical 3* resort hotel, with adequate rooms & facilities and friendly-enough service at a reasonable price (paid £19 each per night, B&B, via medhotels). The only issue I had was a lack of coathangers but they immediately resolved. Suited us as we just wanted a base as we don't spend much time in hotels. Breakfasts ok if a little bland and only served to 9.30 which may be hindrance to some. Pools clean. Only saw entertainment once and was poor. If you're the sort of person who spends a lot of time being hotel-based, ie around the pool and having dinner there etc then you may wish to consider paying more money and booking into a 4*. Location is just off busy 'Tomb of the Kings' main road but hotel doesn't suffer from noise. There were 2 groups of disabled people staying which suggests had good facilities if so required - noticed a few ramps etc. Surrounding area is geared towards sports and/or karaoke bars and is 'anywheretown', ie no Cypriot character and lots of neon lights, so whether you will like it depends on your tastes. Can recommend Akamas peninsular for coastal/hill walking and unspoiled Lara beach. Coral Bay is overated and despite claims of 'platinum blonde' sands the colour is medium brown! Watch out for the glass-bottom boat tour, the 2 hour trip is a rip off as 1 hour is spent anchored up - if you must go just do the 1 hour trip which does exactly the same route. book within 20 minutes of departure and you may get 50% off as they're trying to fill the boat. The only place we ate that I could recommend was the Metaxas which is in the next road to the hotel, although it isn't cheap (21E for a Stifado). The Cypriot night on Tue/Fri at Kings Aphrodite - family run taverna on the main road was ok and the mixed grill good value. All the nearby archaeological sites are worth seeing, including Kourion near Limassol. On the days we didn't have a hire car it was fun haggling the prices with the taxi drivers when they stop at the bus stop near the hotel to try and get your trade. Always offer them 2E less than they ask to take you into the harbour - they will try and charge you more than the meter says so they are fair game. This is less successful when leaving the harbour as they have a steady flow of customers there, but don't pay more than 8E. You need to factor the bus/taxi fares into your budget if you're comparing Kissos price v a more central hotel. Tramps has the cheapest beer but again it's a matter of choice whether you would want to spend much time there. Finally, if you're in your 20's then you may wish to consider staying nearer the harbour to be closer to the 'trendy' bars and the clubs. We would stay at Kissos again if visiting Paphos since it satisfied our needs for a base for an autumn break, although wouldn't go there for our 'main' holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Spent a lovely week in Cyprus at the Kissos Hotel in mid September with my girlfriend.

The Kissos was a perfect base for our holiday exploits and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

The rooms were extremely clean and all of the hotel staff were extremely friendly and did anything to help.

One aspect of the Kissos we enjoyed was the daily DVD played in all of the rooms of the hotel at staggered times during the day. We had never seen anything like this before and were impressed that we could watch a film while getting ready for our evening out.

The location is perfect as the bus service around Paphos stops just over the road and gets you everywhere within a few minutes. Just 1.50euro a trip.

Free air conditioning was included although you had to pay for the fridge and safe. We didn't bother.

We didn't tend to eat at the hotel as there was so much more on offer outside (and more reasonably priced)

Loved Cyprus, loved the Cypriot people and would recommend the Kissos.

p.s The two bad reviews below provoked me to write this as I thought the Kissos was excellent and the reviews below obviously had way to high expectations for a 3*!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

After we had booked our holiday, looked up the Kissos Hotel and I read on these pages about there being no kettle in the room and had fortunately taken a travel one with me.(Note: You have to hide it away or it will be confiscated and returned when you leave.) I could not believe that we had to pay 2.5 euros per person per day for kettle/cups/tea and coffee. As in most hotels this is provided free.

I knew we would have to pay extra for the fridge and at 3.50 euros per day. The size of the fridge was pathetic, one large bottle of water to stand up in the door and one to lie down in the main part. Forget it if you wanted to put beer/juice/etc in.

It was 2.75 euros per day for a safety deposit box (it has gone up in price since August!).

All of this is extra on top of the extra we paid for a Superior Room in the Lagoon area. I would have thought that paying extra for the admittedly larger superior room should have entitled you to the fridge and tea making facilities for free.

The price of the drinks in the poolside bar were also expensive. The entertainment was round here and when we came in most nights there were only 2 or 3 couples there. There were 2 people working in the bar plus the entertainer. Not very economical! The only time we saw this area full was BBQ night!

One pint of beer in the hotel was the same cost as 2 pints at Tramps just a few yards away. Needless to say we went there!

We also found the breakfasts to be very repetitive, fried eggs one day, scrambled the next! Otherwise the rest of the selection was the same every day.

On the plus side it was lovely and hot, and we came back to the UK with our batteries re-charged ready for the winter!

We found Pathos very expensive since Cyprus joined the EU

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsUnhappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed at this kissos hotel the last week of agust going into the first week in Sept. I was diappointed from the moment i got there. As others have commented i arrived at night, midnight to be exact and was greeted by a very unfriendly older man. I was given my room key and directed to the lift. When i got the room i was disgusted!! the toilet wouldnt flush and the bath tiles were hanging off! When booking my holiday i also requested an inland view, when i oppend curtains onto balcony which could hardly fit 1 tiny table and 2 chairs! my room looked on to a scrap piece of land behind a row of pubs and their bins. When gong back down to reception to explain the mistake with my room i was told to return at 9am next day as he couldnt change anything although our toilet would not flush. Next day 9am SHARP! I spoke to the girl at reception who explained i was in the correct room and that inland view was on to either the carpark of the hotel or the side road which i had!!!! if i wanted a pool view looking on to pool or bar area i had to pay an extra 7 euros per night!! after refusin to accept that i was told to see my rep who did not arrive at my hotel untill 3pm that day (meanwhile still in room wch toilet did not flush!) after discusing wit the rep all problems we were moved room at 6pm at night 18 hours after arriving at the hotel! Our first few days were relaxing and enjoyable the pool was very quite and there was always plenty of empty sunbeds! There was a male entertainer who was there daily who arranged pool games, quizzies and played some music by the pool. This wa great untill he announced on the Sat it was his last day and a girl would start on the Mon! Entertainment from then on was non existent!!!! she lay around most days at the lagoon pool sunbathing and on occasions brought a frend with her! she rarely gave out quizzes and when she did never collected them in or gave out answers! water games did not happen, so unless you liked killer darts you couldnt get involoved. Food was great at the hotel we were BB and there was always great choice, we ate mainly at the hotel at lunchtime as there was a good snack menu. Rooms are cleaned daily however when your maid has left they leave your balconny door open! after 5 complaints this still happend! I seccured my room as i left daily to return to an unsecure room with all my pesonal belongings at risk!

I would not return to kissos hotel and would not reccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
#35 of 85 in Paphos
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#40 of 85 in Paphos
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Address: Vasilissis Verenikis 3 | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $48 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing