We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star price, 1 star food quality!”
Review of Kissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kissos Hotel
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 star price, 1 star food quality!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Husband, daughter, daughter's partner, granddaughter and I visited the Kissos Hotel 25th May to 1st June this year to attend a family wedding at a neighbouring hotel. We paid an acceptable price for this 3 star, half board accommodation and everything except the food was exactly what you'd expect in this price group. Our first meal at the Kissos was breakfast and we walked into a nicely laid out restaurant, clean and tastefully furnished and our hungry (had arrived very late night before) hopes rose - oh dear, what a disappointment awaited us! The fare, although a wide variety of the usual breakfast items was on offer - fruit, cereal, bread/toast, yogurts, juices and a range of 'hot' items, was of such a poor quality even the toasted sliced bread was unappetising and hard to swallow! Perhaps dinner would be better we thought - in vain as it turned out! The following 7 nights - no that was 6 as we opted to eat at a lovely cafe up the road on our last night just do we could face the flight on a full stomach! The quality of food overall was very poor and, although nicely presented etc., made us wonder if the hotel was on some kind of economy drive (I had spoken to a fellow guest who was on her fourth return visit there and she said she had never known such bad food). I wouldn't describe our family group as any kind of gastro gourmets but neither are we particularly fussy or hard to please and was shocked to read other reviewers of the same week describe the food as 'excellent'!

Well, that's enough of the (only) negative view of this hotel, although the entertainment could have been better - now on to the many good points. The staff are really the making of this hotel, courteous,friendly, very helpful and so hardworking (noticed a distinct lack of numbers with many doubling up duties every day). Decor and comfort were excellent as was overall cleanliness. Both pools were cleaned daily and comfortably shallow for even cautious non-swimmers. The big pool was seldom overcrowded and the lagoon pool was beautifully tranquil just to float along! Our room was spacious enough and serviced each day to a high standard (my daughters maid even tidied their piles of clothes to not look so messy!), beds very comfy and fridge and safe available at a combined price of e4 per night.

Location was ideal for us as we'd been to Paphos the year before and stayed further down the same road but closer to Coral Beach. The Kissos is within easy travelling distance - local buses every 15 mins or so and very cheap - of Paphos town and harbour one way and Coral Beach the other.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay apart from the food. Would we return? Yes, if we wanted a value holiday but would stay bed and breakfast only - plenty of good eateries within easy walking distance!

Room Tip: We requested and got a pool view which was just right at the time we stayed. However, high season w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    353
    213
    70
    41
See reviews for
254
462
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed a week in this hotel with my mum. Lovely clean and well looked after place, with plenty of good food to choose from. Had half board deal that turned out to be flexible in that we could swap our evening meal for a lunch if we wanted. All meals were buffet style with great choice. Rooms were clean, but beds were rather hard, though Mattress toppers can be requested via reception to rectify this. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and extremely hard working! Air conditioning was free- which was a real godsend! The pools were spotless and very well maintained, with plenty of sunbeds which were cleaned every morning! The lagoon pool is every bit as lovely as it looks on the photos, and the premier rooms either side of it are definitely worth the extra euros,as they are larger, and fridge and safe are included in price. Main hotel charges 4euros per day, which I thought was a bit steep! Great holiday. Would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park are quieter. Overlooks quiet side road and still got sea view. Rooms by lagoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just got home after a week at the Kissos. I can honestly say we had a really lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff; they were very friendly and attentive. There was a very good selection of food and plenty of it. On arrival for our first meal, the restaurant staff noticed my mom walking with sticks and immediately arranged for us to sit near the buffet area. The pool area was very well equipped and plenty of sun beds. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We were a group of 6, with an age range of 7 to 74 and this wonderful hotel had something for everyone. We are planning on returning in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vickypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a weeks holiday in the kissos for myself,daughter and partener.it was a twin room which sleeps 3 adults.i expected a twin room with a pullout bed in the lounge area.i was horrified to find it was just one small room with2 single beds and a camp bed.i would not expect my partner to share the same small room as my daughter.the only alternative we had was for my partner to have a room on his own.they would not take anything off the price of the room even though he had paid already paid.they were very unsympathetic.it turned out to be a very expensive holiday and my partener did not think he would be spending every night alone.i was disgusted. everything in the hotel was very basic and the entertainment was almost non existant.im so glad it was just for one week.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms..a very small room is supposed to sleep 3 adults and the 3rd bed is a camp b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just came back from a week at this hotel everything fantastic from start to finish I have done a lot of travelling over the years but have never been to a hotel with such friendly staff , good food, nothing was too much trouble for any of them .The rep was also very good as we wanted to change our room it was done within a couple of hours and was very clean and spacious for 4 of us Tyler loved mark the ents guy who kept him entertained in the day and was upset when he had to leave . I read mixed reports for this hotel it is a 3 star and a very good 3 star I'm a fussy eater and we was never stuck for food it was very clean and most of all the best staff where I have ever been thankyou for a great week will be coming back soon

Room Tip: We had pool view 1 st floor superior rooms extra 11 euros a night not a lot of difference no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Week all inclusive stay first week in June 13 .
Staff work to exacting standards set by the family who own and manage the hotel in a very professional manner. Everyone is so friendly and helpful . The hotel is kept very clean by a great staff .
It may not be incredibly ornate or plush but it is very comfortable and clean and in a great location . Just 150 yds from main rd. with loads of bars restaurants and shops and great bus service.
Food is very good and varied , you would need to be a strange eater not to find something you would like at any meal time.
Overall exceeded my expectations and a really relaxing peaceful weeks stay .
I would definitely return to Kissos hotel . Great .
Only improvement I would say is free WiFi should be a standard in any hotel and also charge for in room kettles on all inclusive or any board for that matter would make a better service for not a lot of investment by hotel.

Room Tip: Go all inclusive and stay in the original part of hotel . The new part has bigger rooms and a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommykelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ok, so booked B&B through Thomas Cook, got an amazing price for Cyprus and loved the location. Decided to upgrade the room, which gave us twice the space, free fridge and safe for £240 for 2 weeks, there was nothing wrong with our allocated room but fancied a change. The upgraded room was great, steps to a smaller, lagoon like pool, which was away from the young families and very peaceful, good suntrap and relaxing. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is very clean and reasonably modern. I have no issues at all, but, it is reminiscent of a 70's holiday camp. I can't quite put my finger on why, this is in no way a criticism, just an observation.
I have to say that the breakfast was not up to scratch, Frankfurters and dry bacon, tomatoes and either fried or scrambled eggs. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc, etc. There are better breakfasts on the main road.
Overall a nice hotel with a strange target audience which it appears to attract. :)

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilingalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#38 of 88 in Paphos
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
2.9 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#12 of 88 in Paphos
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#48 of 88 in Paphos
460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Property: Kissos Hotel
Address: Vasilissis Verenikis 3 | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing