We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all inclusive....dont do it”
Review of Kissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kissos Hotel
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed September 16, 2012

having just returned from a weeks stay i can echo other recent reviews,the food was poor not much choice esp for children the bbq night was an asortment of cooked bones note to chef take a course on cutting up meat.We also felt the drinks were watered down as when we ventured out to a bar we noticed the difference!We had so called superior rooms but had to pay for tea/coffe making,fridge and safe E25 for a late checkout just seemed all they want to do is make money at every turn! We can recommend Martellis around the corner! And forget to take some ant reppellant too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We came back 2 days ago, and having just read recent reviews from other people I do wonder what some people expect. We thought it was good value for money. The staff were all very friendly, right down to the cleaners, who incidentally came every day and our towels and beds were changed every 2 days. We had a room overlooking the car park which was plenty big enough for the two of us. We did think it was a bit expensive to hire the safe, and although you get the fridge included in the price, we've never been asked to pay for a fridge before. We didn't bother with the kettle at 5 euros a day. The only real complaint we had were the beds, it was like sleeping on a snooker table. Rock hard! We didn't think that the towels were removed from sun beds quick enough if no-one was there. Some sunbeds were unoccupied for hours and towels were still on them, and if you wanted 2 beds together you had no chance if you went down after 8am. The entertainment in the evening wasn't too clever, we had 'Lady Gaga' twice in 5 days, and although she was quite funny she did exactly the same show both times. The Michael Buble and and Robbie Williams tribute acts weren't bad. We went half board and although the food was ok, it was a bit repetitive. There weren't enough fresh vegetables and if our vegetarian daughter had been with us I think she would have struggled as the choices were mainly meat.

It's not 5 star like the place across the road, but it doesn't claim to be. It's a nice, clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GodRestTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Returned home last night from staying at the Kissos for 10 days all inclusive. I would like to give an honest account of my stay. I'd read the reviews before we went and was slightly concerned, but I'll always have an opend mind when arriving at the hotel. Reception staff were always friendly and checkin quite easy. Overall, the hotel decor is dated but well kept. Rooms are again dated but funtional and generally tidy. Air conditioning effictiant, yet slightly noisey. Toilet takes some time to refill it's cistern, Shower is ok. No kettle, hair drier wired to the mains. Towels changed every 3 days. Charge of 3 euros per day for safe and fridge, which is a common charge for most hotels. Food - Put simply if you had to pay each time you had your meal you would not eat at this hotel. Breakfast choice and cooking is basic, contiental, cerial or english. There seemed to be an elderly manager type guy, who stood guard over the self service food as if watching how much you put on your plate.(This is an indication of what's to come) Lunch is a buffet affair on the terrace, again with limited choice and cooking ability. You have the pleasure of recieving 1 drink with your lunch and evening meal. Not once did I see any deserts at the lunch buffet. Evening meal was again in the restaraunt, again with minimal choice, Troughout my stay I didn't see any meals aimed specifically at children and usually the choice was based on two diffirent mains, one always being chicken. On 3 occaions there was a slight taste of washing up liquid to the drinks given with our meal. The head waitress was hard working and efficiant though! Both pools are decent enough, with the lagoon being the quieter and cooler of the two. We usually walked past the main pool on the way to breakfast at 8.30 and there was still 8 - 10 sunbeds available. You had to be up early if you wanted the lagoon pool sunbed though. Pooside Bar - This is fell way below what I was expecting on an all inclusive holiday. Bar staff were hardworking but rarely smiled, the little guy was ok though. If you wanted a drink before 11.00 am you had to pay, this was the case if you wanted a drink after 11.30 pm even though the bar shuts at midnight. Ice creams and milkshakes were only free between 11.00 and 12.00 then again at 4.00 till 5.00. Snacks, or should I say toasties and fries were only available between these times also. Every order at the bar was met with "what is your room number" and the drinks tasted watered down. Except orange juice which came straight out of the carton. All drinks except beer and coffe came with a straw, presumibly to slow your drinking down. I got the feeling in general that if you were all inclusive you were being monitored and that they were scared to death of you eating into there profit margins. Nikki the animations girl was ok, but had a uphill battle at night , due to hardly anone staying around at the hotel in the evening it felt pretty deserted with maybe 20 to 30 people staying near the pooside bar. Must admit Lady Gaga one of the evenings entertainers was a good singer and a pretty funny girl. Would I ever return here? Only for Bed and Breakfast....Thinking of coming here on all inclusive? Don't do it, you will regret your decision.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tenerife123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned after 2 weeks at the Kissos Hotel this was our second time at the hotel would suggest you upgrade to the superior rooms which are bigger and right next to the lagoon pool.The lagoon pool is lovely for all ages our 2 kids loved it .There is also a big pool with lots os sunloungers around it.The poolside bar is a lovely shady spot were you can also get a snack from.The outside terrace is lovely spot to have lunch and the main restaurant is very comfortable.The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the toasties and chips at 11 were tasty dinner also very good choice of food and good desserts the Cypriot night was the best night.
The staff are all very hard working and very helpful and deserve a lot of credit also Niki the entertainer works very hard keeping everyone entertained with limited resourses the table tennis and the water polo were great fun even adults joined in the fun.
The hotel is in a good location outside the hotel the bus takes you to coral bay 3 euros return for all day ticket the bay is a lovely sandy beach which also does watersports.
Try the yiamas bar next to the hotel good for kareoke .The harbour is also a lovely spot good for boat trips very picturesqe also the mosaics and the troodos mountains are very special places.
Some of the reviews I have seen are very harsh this is a 3 star not 4 star hotel yes the hotel is a bit dated there were a few ants but it didnt spoil our holiday the maids changed our towels everyday and were very polite.We would come back to the kissos hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently had the misfortune to book a last minute half-board, Thomson holiday and with the assurance that we would be staying in "Superior Rooms". These have a decidedly, dodgy sofa-bed, but even better, the fridge! You have to rent it at 3 euros per day!
The beds were twins and rock solid, with extremely thin pillows. The shower was interesting, in that the water pressure.....well what water pressure??

The food was awful. Each day we would go to the dining-room only to find the same, poor quality, sub-standard fare. From the first evening onwards, we ate out, but only at three particular restaurants. See my other reviews.
The pool area were okay but not particularly inspiring. Very few umbrellas given that when we stayed, the temperature on average was about 34c.

This would feature in the bottom three worst hotels we have ever visited. The check of it was that we were given a leaflet inviting us to upgrade to All Inclusive. Get real Kissos! One star at best. However, shame on you Thomson for using this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August - the hotel was clean - bathroom could have been cleaner - but we were given fresh towels everyday!
Tasteless bland food EVERY DAY! All inclusive HA! From 9.30 - 11 a.m you could not get a drink or anything to eat without paying for it!! Ice creams only between 11-12 and 4-5pm - which also was the only time you could get snacks at the poolside bar - so don't be late for breakfast!!
I never once saw the kids disco - I was told it was a small raised square - nice and easy for kids to fall off!!
There was a happy HALF hour - huge queue so get there early - they don't put enough staff on at these times - we were told it's cos the management want you to drink elsewhere!!!!
I wouldn't go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room by the 'lazy river' these are newer and bigger and I should imagine quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HEIDICORNWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, rooms were very basic and dated. Food was disgusting, paid for half board but couldnt manage the food for one night let alone a week! I feel potty for those that paid for all inclusive

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eth121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 85 in Paphos
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
3.9 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#60 of 85 in Paphos
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Address: Vasilissis Verenikis 3 | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $50 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing