We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of Season week at Kefalonitis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of Season week at Kefalonitis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Late last month we fancied a week in Cyprus so I e-mailed Nicos (owner) and Maria (his daughter)at the Kefalonitis to see if they had an apartment we could use. We knew they were shut and also knew that Nicos would be in the middle of his annual Winter alterations, but thought it worth a try. Back came the reply, we could have one over the pool bar as that was out of the way of the renovations.
So we booked a flight for early February and Maria got a taxi to pick us up at Paphos airport. On tne way to the complex, the taxi driver rang Nicos to let him know we were nearly there. He duly met us outside the reception with a key alresdy for us for one of the aforesaid apartments from which we made good use of the Winter sunshine and acquired a suntan.
Although the complex was shut a maid turned up in the middle of the week to change beds, towels and clean up. We hadn't expected this (but a very nice thought) as plenty of clean bedding and towels had been left for us anyway and we were quite prepared to fend for ourselves. We saw Nicos most days and he always asked if everything was OK.
Some of the local shops and restaurants were open so we didn't have to travel far to find good food and certainly didn't go hungry and there was still a lot going on in the harbour area.
We had a wonderful quiet, relaxing week, just what we wanted and will be something we will no doubt do again out of season as well as our usual 'in season' twice yearly visits.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    246
    83
    21
    17
See reviews for
193
350
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki,Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

our studio was huge and on top 3rd floor- it even had 2 balconies, unfortunately the sun turned after noon but hey-- you can't have everything! the view wasn't spectacular just the opposite building and a corner of an empty lot, but we weren't there for the view anyway so..
There was a lot of space and storage, our two suitcases didn't even begin to fill the drawers and closets. Kitchen- with a gas stove- was more than adequate, could have cooked anything now settled for breakfast since we found a lovely Indian take a way
(koh-i-noor) and other restaurants round the corner. The hotel owner was always present and very helpful as was his daughter, too. Our flight back was delayed and the hotel staff was wonderful arranging for our extra night's stay. We were checked in and out in 5 minutes, so no complaints there.
Location was quiet, lots of buses going any which way down the road. A good size supermarket was just a 5 minute walk away. Bought fresh rolls and lunch meat there every day. Pool area was ok, the sunbeds were dirty though, and I wouldn't swim in the pool since nobody seemed to shower before. Loud music was played as well which doesn't please me at all but maybe that's what the British tourists (;-) wanted .. And I wish they would pick up the trash in the garden- we found broken wineglasses, beer cans, etc etc.
Sleep quality was poor since the mattresses were horrible and there weren't any proper blankets just a bed cover to use as a a duvet- not very hygienic in my opinion. Other than that the studio was very clean. We never made it to the beach which was a bit too far for us to walk. Lazy us!. The countryside was amazing and I highly recommend a tour to Kykkos monastery, the views are spectacular. We also liked the almonds, nuts and the fruit grown locally. Super good!
There are 2 reasons why we probably won't go back to Cyprus ; there is a lot of litter everywhere not just on the empty building lots in the tourist areas, and we witnessed at least 3 severe animal abuse cases - by the Cypriots! Not the kind of holiday you look forward to.
Kefalonitis was excellent as a whole so I don't think you'll be disappointed with your accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSnow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Very disappointing on arrival at the Kefalonitis Hotel Apartments, Paphos as there was no welcome pack in our room. As the welcome in Cyprus was great throughout the island and the Cypriot generosity so refreshing, the fact that these apartments didn't provide a welcome pack was definitely a big let down. We'd like to think it was a management oversight. It meant visiting the local kiosk to buy immediate requirements. The bar in the reception area had no bartender and was marked "open" - a notice left on the bar counter - after some waiting you would be generally be served. Other than these two things, the apartments are clean, if a tad dated. We would consider a further holiday here but hope the fact that there was no welcome pack will be noted by the management.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphroditelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Having read the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor before we booked, we weren't too sure what to expect. It was one of the cheaper options though, so we went with moderate expectations.

We were very pleasantly surprised at how nice the place is. Our studio was amongst the biggest we've stayed in, and although the furniture is maybe not the most modern it was perfectly good, and the studio clean and well equiped.

The in room safe rental at 10 Euros for a week, with a refundable 10 Euro deposit, was reasonable compared to some of the prices I've been asked to pay elsewhere. There is the option of air conditioning but we didn't need to use it at at the end of October.

Although we ate out every evening, the presence of a proper cooker as well as a microwave means you could self cater very easily. A modern flat sceen satellite TV meant there was a fair range of viewing options.

The pool area is good with lots of loungers, so no need to worry about 'towel reservations'. There is a nice indoor pool as well.

The location may not be the most scenic, but nice and quiet whilst very handy for restaurants and bars. Not far to the beach (10 minutes) and a stroll to the harbour (25 minutes). The nearby frequent bus service at 1 Euro gets you to either the harbour or the old town very easily, or Coral Bay going the other way.

We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Wandererer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Apartments need coat of paint and general tidy up but good value for money.Everything worked in the apartments except the cleaner, she swept the floor,a little, but not until our one from last day. Plenty of restuarants close by and 100yards from bus stop.All bus trips 1 euro including to the airport.
I would recommend to a friend but with above listed shortcomings

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIKSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Not having visited the place, the significance of the Tomb of the Kings Road was lost on us when reading the reviews. Be aware that it's a busy street full of 'tat' shops, pubs, restaurants etc. The apartments are indeed well back from the road, which is good but they are also handy for meals out etc - picturesquely located they are not though! The apartment was bright and spacious and clean and perfectly adequate for a week's stay. The pool area is pleasant with loads of loungers and the bar / snack bar area is nice with friendly staff. It is also very easy to walk to the beach (10 mins), the main town (20 mins) and the harbour (25 mins) and the 1 euro bus is very convenient.
Car hire - there are places on every corner so don't go with the rep's deal straight away. The drive up to the mountains is great but a long day on winding roads - would probably recommend a coach trip.
Worth visiting - the mosaics by the harbour in Paphos, fascinating and beautiful but very little shade. Lovely coastal path suitable for wheelchairs, jogging, cycling etc.
Would definitely go to Cyprus again but probably in a hotel nearer the sea.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Returned back to work 2 weeks ago and cant wait for September 2011. Already looking forward to 2 weeks at the Kefalonitis, where every one from Nicos the Owner,Ted the night receptionist down to the Gardener are so friendly. My husband and I have been returning, every year for the last 8 years. We choose to stay in a Studio which is plenty big enough for us, 2 big suitcases, and all the extra bits you just have to take with you. Rooms are cleaned 5 times a week and towels and bedding changed 3 times a week. Digital TV's were installed last year (Not Sky) we found the BBC world news and 3 english speaking channels - mainly film channels, Hairdryers in all rooms.and a brilliant shower to refresh you. The swimming pool and sun terraces are great with plenty of sun beds, and even a terrace in the shade for those who do not want the full sun. Swimming pool is large and clean. You could choose a bed and brekfast option. Food here is simple but the portions are big and food well cooked. The location of the Kef is really good, a couple of minutes walk to restaurants, pubs, and the bus stop, where you can travel to Coral bay or in the opposite direction to Paphos Harbour. The area is flat, Lighthouse beach is a 10 minutes walk away where you can find sunbeds and a beach bar selling meals, and drinks. There is a lovely walk along a new coastal path to the harbour from the beach. If you are looking for a good base to explore Paphos the Kefalonitis could be just what you are looking for, large rooms, great swimming pool (There is also an indoor pool) friendly service, great location, and we have always considered a great price for our holiday. Many of Nico's guests return year after year, This is a brilliant place for couples, groups of friends, or families with older teenagers who do not need to be entertained in a kids club. Paphos is a really friendly place, and I personally feel really safe there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchestergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#49 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasmaria Hotel Apts.
Tasmaria Hotel Apts.
#51 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#15 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#53 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.

Property: Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Address: Pyramou 5, Paphos 8046, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#26 Family Hotel in Paphos
#32 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonitis Hotel Paphos
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing