We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday great appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday great appartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

Due to the collapse of Freedom Flights we had a last minute booking to Cyprus.
Papos is a 20 minute ride in a Taxi from the airport for around 30 euros.
My Wife her Twin Sister, Partner & Myself spent a 2 week holiday here, what a great time we had.
We stayed The Kefalonitis Hotel Apts we did not have the best rooms but they were large clean, all kitchen equipment inc, hired a safe, towels changed every 3 days, the pool was clean, not busy with loads of sun beds, (probably time of the Year) we would / will go back.
`A Great Base Tired rooms` as on review said
The people here are really friendly from the bar staff, cleaners, day and night staff and the Boss all very nice people indeed (The boss does look grumpy but he is really nice). The locals are friendly.
I could go on about where to eat, I think you need to make your own mind up one place I will say to try is `The Windmill`, its family run.... Check out the Messe.
We did not have a bad meal anywhere we visited but the service varied greatly from place to place. (We tried places other reviews said don't go and the meals were good), make your own mind up, we asked the locals where they ate out and they sent us to probably the better quieter places.
Watch out when you hire a car the prices change from hour to hour and check the car you get before sighning.
Easy place to drive round we had no problems at all.
The Tomb of the Kings is just 10min walk up the road.
The Harbour is a 15-20 minute walk away either along the beach or along the roads.
Other places of interest are only a short drive away and work out much cheaper than the trips. You must go to the Hills for a couple of day trips.
The best beach for us was Corral Bay 10-15 min bus ride away for less than a couple of euros, and the town is nice place for a couple of nights out.
There is a local super market 5min away and a larger one by the Harbour. We shopped at both.
There is a market 15 minutes away worth a visit.
I have photos on
Smugmug gibbo62 & Flickr gibbo07

  • Liked — Large, clean, Bedding & Towels changed regular, central location
  • Disliked — Tired rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    246
    83
    21
    17
See reviews for
193
350
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

We, my wife and two small children and I, have just returned from the Kefalonitis, after a two week holiday. We had a great holiday, but this was due to the country and certainly not this hotel.
Starting with the positive points; the hotel is reasonably well situated just off of the Tombs of the Kings Road. About a 25 minute walk to the harbour area ( albeit we hired a car , which I would recommend). The rooms are spacious and kept clean, the outdoor pool is ok and there was one nice member of staff!
Now I am afraid , the rather longer list of negative points;
We booked bed and breakfast, dont, although the lady who prepares the breakfast is very nice, the cooked breakfast or continental breakfast she completes is not. We ended up asking them to by us some cereal, (not on the menu) which she did.
The room was ant infested. Any food put in the cupboards was covered in ants the following morning. If you were on a tight budget and proposed to use the self catering facilities, you would struggle, unless you enjoy 'ant'.
Th hotel advertises the fact that it has a 'childrens play area an indoor swimming pool jacuzzi and sauna and a gym'.
The childrens play area is firstly a health hazard and secondly mostly broken. The two swing seats are missing, leaving just the chains hanging down, the plastic wendy house has the windows and doors discarded on the floor , and the plastic climbing frame has the slide broken off and I had to try and fix a platform so it was safe for the children to walk across. Needless to say they only paid the 'park' one visit.
The 'gym' follows a similar vein. The multi- gym was rusted which had actually 'glued' some of the weights together, the cable was freyed and loose. None of the electrical equipment worked. Basically it was unusable.
The indoor pool we didn't use simply because it appeared that the water hadn't been changed or filtered for several years. As for the jacuzzi and sauna, that door was permanantly locked.
There seemed to be one main male member of staff who looked after reception and the guests. He was probably the most miserable Cypriot we met whilst on holiday.
In conclusion, we would definately return to Cyprus, however we would not return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and outside pool
  • Disliked — Staff and lack of other facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Richard013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

I got back this morning from a 10 day stay at the kefalonitis Hotel.
Overall i have to say there are things that could be improved and things that were fine.
I contacted the hotel direct and got quite a good price compared with that of other holiday shops. I was in a 2nd floor apartment which was large enough for the two of us, with kitchen area sittng area and bedroom area with 2 singles pushed together.
There was probably only 2 negatives about the apartment one was no television, not that i wanted to watch any specfic but it is nice if the weather is rubbish to have somewhere to retreat to ( yes we did have 2 days when it rained pretty much all day)
the 2nd thing was there were no hangers to hang our clothes on so we ended up hanging them over the backs of the chairs.
I found the staff quite helpfull, if you chat to them they will chat back but otherwise they are i think mindfull of guests privacy.
The pool area and bar were clean.
Breakfast was included in our price and you could have full English, Continental which was tiny salad, 2 slices of ham and cheeze and toast, or jam and toast. This also came with choce of tea, coffee or juice. I tried all three and they were great, a choice of fruit would have been lovely.
Being a non smoker i did think the reception area seemed quite smokey as many of the staff smoked but you could walk round the pool area to get in to the car park rather than walking through reception.
The Sauna and Jazuzzi along with the Gym and indoor swimming pool were located just off reception near to the small bar, i didnt use any of them but did have a look and they were all nice. I did hear one other guest say the treadmill wasnt working, and i enquired about the key for the sauna and jacuzzi to find there was a 10 Euro charge to use these. I also asked about booking a massage, this was about 60 Euros.
I booked one at the Daphine hotel which is in the Harbour area near to Mac Donalds and The Rose Pub the lady was lovely and she charged 35 Euros for a top to toe massage.
There are a lot of cats about near the apartments so if you dont like cats i would opt for a higher up apartment to stop them coming on your balcony.
The dog however is very placid and generally sleeps near the front doors to the reception and does not bother anyone.
I was a little disappointed that our apartment did not seem to get cleaned apart from the beds being made and bins being emptied. I did see the cleaners sweeping and mopping a lower down apartment but ours never seemed to get touched.
Locally we tried to eat in different places and we tried the Kleftico which is a lamb dish oven cooked the meat just dropped off the bone, it came with jackets rice and vegetables , this was lovely and i would recommend trying it. Fat Mamas was great infact the best service was at this restaurants and they also had a smoking and non smoking section, they offer italian style food and also american style like fantastic burgers but i dont think you will need a starter or pudding. Get there before 8pm though as there is a big line of people waiting.
Best beach was Coral beach, it was sandy with easy access in to the sea, sun loungers available to rent and the sea is lovely when you need to cool down. Drinks were 1.60 Euros for a can of Pepsi so best to take your own drinks.
Best supermarket we found was Papantoniou in the same street at Debenhams and Mac Donalds near the Harbor and you can get most things there at a reasonable price, you can also park right outside or there is a private car park at the side. For one nearer the Hotel we went to one a few Killometres out of the hotel area on the left hand side as you drive towards Coral beach, these two offer much more than the local shops and better value for money too.
Overall i had a lovely time and im sad to be back in chilly England.
If you are expecting something immaculate then you should not book here but if you are wanting somewhere relaxing, quiet and a good base then this place is great.
I will try and add some Photos soon.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanlisness of general area, stairwells and my apartment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Just back from a 2 week stay 16th 30th July.

8 of us stayed in 3 one bedroom apartments. Quite luckly as all 3 overlooked the pool.

Overall the facilities are not bad - smallish pool, pool bar/cafeteria. Small hotel reception, lounge Area. Plenty of sunbeds and no need to get up at 6.00am to "prebook" them.

Safe keys 9 Euros per week + 9 euro deposit.

Aircon (make sure they give you or the apartments already have 2 keys in the aircon boxes (switches just inside the door near where you put your room key in- you turn the keys towards the windows to activate them). One operates the aircon in the lounge the other operates the bedroom you do need both.

Don't settle for any rubbish from the management that if there is only 2 of you in the room you only need to use one area at a time.

We booked with Thomas Cook and Aircon was included (not 1/2 aircon) when I said I was going to contact the rep and that I had paid for full aircon - the other key was magically produced.

Also don't book trips with the reps - on the main road beside fat mammas is a travel rep - tripas are 1/2 price. 1 day Ciaro trip by air thomas cook 358 euros - go this for 260 euros, also got 2 girl's (14 yeasrs of age) for 200 Euros each Thomas Cook wanted 358.


No entertainment - that was what we expected so it didn't matter.

Quite a good location just off the road of the tomb kings, plently of good places to eat nearby. Forget about fatmammys overpriced try the one next door Rigas?.

One tip in eating out try the 3 course specials very good and reasonable

  • Liked — Quite good location
  • Disliked — Aircon hard to regulate
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1STTIMEBERLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We needed a break in the sunshine but short on funds, so opted for the Kefalonitis. All we wanted to do was lay on Coral Beach and swim in the lovely clear warm water all day, which was just a 10/15 min ride on the bus away.

The room we had was clean and quite spacious for 2 people, shower, bath and toilet also clean (all cleaned/sheets changed I think every other day). We didn't use the cooker but, like the fridge, crockery and utensils, was very clean. The bed I thought might be a problem but I seemed to sleep well (or was that just the alcohol the night before?!) Air conditioning a welcome relief. We never made use of the pool at the hotel, preferring the med and beach, but it looked fine.

One night my sleep was broken by the most awful row, things being thrown in a nearby apartment, but I guess this could happen anywhere.

The downside for us was that the Kefalonitis was not as close to the beach as we usually like (but we didn't want to spend so much on accommodation so hey we got what we paid for) but it was in a good place for the Old Town, Harbour and restaurants, about a 20 minute walk away.

We flew to Cairo for the day from Paphos, which we will never ever, not ever, forget! We were very lucky to have the services of an Egyptologist called Hamy on our coach. He was very funny, like most brilliant people made learning a whole lot of fun, and saved us money on purchases. We loved the crazy madness of the city and the Nile is magnificant...... go if you can.

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

My partner and I stayed here (Bed & Breakfast) at the end of June beginning of July having no pre-conception of the Hotel or the surrounding area.

The transfer by Taxi took 20mins and cost 35 euros.

On arrival the hotel looked well maintained with its white and blue painted exterior. Having found our booking after 10mins of searching we were shown to our apartment.

The hotel is made up of several blocks of apartments all in good decorative order.

On entry to our room we found it spacious, ample for 2, well looked after and the air conditioning a welcoming site in the bedroom. The balcony looked onto a bit of scrub land. The hotel grounds themselves looked a bit tired and could do with a bit of a makeover.

The towels were only changed every 3 days and so were the sheets. The rooms were cleaned as far as I remember 6 days out of the 7.

The pool and the patio area were well looked after. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the pool. There seemed to be plenty of sun beds for everyone but yet again this was just out of season.

At the end of the pool was the average bar with a large screen TV. This is where all the meals including breakfast were taken. Breakfast was a choice of 3 from a menu, continental, full English and another I can’t remember. We only ate and drank there once in the evening and found it quite expensive compared to the many local restaurants that are around the resort.

I found the staff came across a bit miserable with a couldn't care less attitude. Mind out for the dog soaking up the sun or resting in the shade by the main door. Nearly looks happier than the gentlemen on the front desk.

The Hotel is about a 15 / 20min walk from the nearest beach called the "Lighthouse Beach" with restaurant, bars and local souvenir shops along the way.

This is an ideal beach (more natural feel) although not golden sands and is serviced with a Beach bar with well spread out sun beds. The staff were very friendly, great service and the food was great. The only negative thing I can say about the Lighthouse beach was that getting in to the sea you had to get over the bedrock and at times wade through the seaweed to get to the sandy seabed beneath. Stay till the evening to watch the sunset over the sea.

From the Lighthouse beach (about another 20min walk) you can follow the snaking new costal path to the Marina, passing the lighthouse and the "Tomb of the Kings" ancient monument along the way. At the busy Marina you will find some great restaurants (I would recommend the "Pelican" for fresh fish), the main shops and "bar street" further on for all you youngsters who need to top up on the booze.

The other nearest sandy beach is at Coral Beach which is long and narrow and well packed in. Just hop onto a number 15 bus for 20 minutes.

Overall we had a great time as we went for the sun and beaches. The hotel itself was adequate for our needs but is not a 4* as some brochures would have you to believe.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

These are definitely not 4* apartments. The rooms are tired and uncomfortable although clean. The towel allocation is minimal and they are only changed once every three days. Even this needs to be monitored to ensure it is adhered to.
The cafeteria is more snack bar than restaurant but we did not eat there. The room telephone rates are a rip off and the staff appear to be as miserable as sin.
They are well located, however, being close to The Tomb Of The Kings Road and a wide range of bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — Its location close to Tomb Of The Kings Road
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nemesis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#47 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasmaria Hotel Apts.
Tasmaria Hotel Apts.
#52 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#15 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#50 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.

Property: Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Address: Pyramou 5, Paphos 8046, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#26 Family Hotel in Paphos
#32 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Kefalonitis Hotel Apts. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonitis Hotel Paphos
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing