We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, just a shame about the staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Resorts Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Resorts Horizon
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice hotel, just a shame about the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from the 10th november. first impressions are nice clean hotel. the food is of a good standard and plenty of choice. beds are VERY hard but on the third day i asked reception if there was anything that could be done and a mattress topper was swiftly put on my bed.......happy days!!. there are two lovely lads behind the bar who are friendly but unfortunately the majority of the staff at this hotel are rude, ignorant and quite frankly should not be working in customer service. it was very rare that they even made eye contact never mind raised a smile. when people went to the bar, they would purposely ignore you and carry on with (or sometimes even start) their conversation. As a big part of our holiday experience is normally having the banter with hotel staff this had a huge negative impact on our stay. one girl especially who i will name and shame is called olga. this woman needs to be working as a prison officer not with people who are trying to have a memorable holiday after a hard years graft. on one occasion, i had spilt a full cup of coffee all over the table and floor. when my husband went to the bar and told her, he was very abruptly met with 'well what do you want me to do about it' and thrown a cloth!!!! this is not the sort of treatment i have ever received or would expect to receive in a four star hotel. i would strongly advise that the management at the hotel employ undercover guests to see exactly how these people treat your visitors and maybe then things will improve. i have never written a bad review on here and please feel free to read my previous experiences, im not a moaner but as a frequent visitor to cyprus i feel that anyone who was to visit this hotel for their first time to this beautiful island may be put off........ they make a mockery of the usually impeccable Cypriot hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liz187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    557
    376
    159
    118
See reviews for
446
718
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the 6th year we have stayed at the Hotel in November and it is still very good value for money.
There have been cut backs over the years, there is no longer free wi fi in the lounge area which now days can be the difference between making a booking as many hotels now offer this free.
The other advantages that have been taken away are free towels from the spa area, free tea making facilities In your room and in the Restaurant there are now plastic spoons replacing the metal t spoons as well as the appearance of plastic disposable cups and there are no longer pastries available at breakfast only croissants.


The above aside the food is still of a very good standard and the staff very helpful especially Adrian in the Resturant and Olga, Kinga, Powleena and Chris in the Bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mrscooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The crown resorts is situated 5 mins from a great beach, it's on the coral bay strip which is great for restaurants, shopping etc. there's a bus service picking up from just down the road to get to the harbour or market. There are negative reviews for this hotel mainly from people who come to stay in the hotel for the entire holiday, you go to these countries to see them not sit around all day moaning, getting your all inclusive value, broaden your horizons! I went half board which is breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was great and just what you needed after a heavy night... Why do some guests feel the need to go out and buy their marmalade/marmite etc and bring it down to the table with them? We over heard a loud conversation at breakfast when somebody asked why there was no marmalade available, a simple reply from the staff was; "it's not England" spot on I say! Evening meals were good but if you don't fancy it (menus are poster all day) then go out to a restaurant. Bar is good, if you are paying for drinks rather than all inclusive, you get better treatment, better quality drinks, crisps or nuts with each purchase and they are not shy with the spirits! Rooms are base camps, beds a bit hard and does require half a pint of vodka 2 get you to sleep. Great view of the sea, top floor over looking the pool, really nice. There is'nt anything to complain about at this hotel, it's clean and serves a simple purpose... Holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great Staff, food great and plenty of choice bar staff very very good the entertainment in the day was good yes the pool outside is cold but I doubt it is in summer value for money excellent I read some other reports and all I can say is stop moaning some people seem to want roller for the price of a mini ignore and go see for your self staff were excellent rooms clean go and have a ball my only problem is Thomas cook but need I say more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4starhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

we did one week half board," superior room" in November 2013.
FOR..* They gave us toppers for the rock hard beds following our first, very uncomfortable night.
* Nice dressing gowns
* A clean hotel.
* Nice grounds and pools, (freezing). But a good indoor pool plus sauna and steam room, nice
little gym.
* Fantastic weather.

AGAINST * Old bathrooms. The sink's too far away to wash properly, you bang your head on
the taps.
* The mirror's too far away for a shave, I trim my beard.
* The shower mat in the bath was slippery and dangerous.
* The old type shower from the taps, kept going very very hot ,then cool.
* There's a sharp edged tiled step out of the bathroom, handy for hurting you toes!
* No shampoo or conditioner, only a pump soap on the wall by the sink, ( superior room) ?
* Hard lumpy pillows.
* My wife's 5 feet tall and couldn't see over our concrete balcony, whilst sitting.
only two BBC news channels and one had no sound, all the rest in Greek or German ?
* None of the lamps worked, on the path through the grounds to the shops and restaurants.
Total darkness, very unsafe.
* Very expensive, whiskey, 7.00 euros for a tiny shot, 3.50 euros for half of lager. Tea and
coffee were also 3.50 euro a cup.
* For 17.50 euros per week, they will loan you a jug kettle, but you can't put milk or food in
your mini bar chiller, it's against the rules ?
* 20.00 euros a week for your room safe.
* The food was very poor. Rubbery streaky fatty bacon, overcooked soft cold toms, nasty
tiny sausages and cardboard cornflakes.
* The evening meals were just tasteless and boring. Some people loved them, but I still possess
taste buds. Some of the fruit was actually mouldy and some was unripe. Also, we had stale
bread on more than one occasion. Don't get me started on the soup!
* You'd need binoculars to enjoy the sea view.
* Most of the staff were unfriendly and ignorant. On one occasion, they just wouldn't move the
baggage trolley to let us past in the corridor. Mostly eastern Europeans so maybe the culture's
different? A smile would have been nice. Other guests said the same.
* The world's slowest bar staff.
* None existent entertainment. Bingo every night, a dance competition with no dancers,
terrible unfunny karaoke, casino night, strange quizzes that almost no-one could understand
because the girl running things, had very bad English and a deep base mike, held much too
close to her mouth. It was all hit and miss, with no hit.
* To be fair, there was one night of Greek dance, the guys were terrific, one out of seven!
Daytime entertainment was even worse, She was a bit clueless.
This was the naffest hotel we've ever been to, but people do return because they like to
meet up each year,. Fair dos, but not us, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

j steele room 363 16./10/13 6/11/13my wife and ihave just made our third visit and we were suprised at the lowering of standards. the entertainment was pathetic,the decorative ie walls carpets garden areas were dirty carpets stained bedding towelling seen better days. bar prices far to expensive'as for the room tv that was a joke 1 english channel. i doubt we will be making a visit in the near future.ps you pay 52 euros for 3 weeks safety deposit the receipt the hotel will not be liable for any losses from safe. .

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disapointed197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in October/November and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the poor revues but the price and location tempted us to take a chance and how pleased we were! Met many people there who were regular visitors; some on their 5th or 6th visit, so that speaks for itself!
The hotel is ideally situated for access to bars and eating places and the beach is about a 10 minute walk. Paphos town is 15 minutes by bus (€1.50) which is picked up just outside the hotel.
We had a side sea-view room on the 3rd floor which was well furnished and very quiet - we could hear no noise from the bars on the strip.
The hotel is beginning to show a need of some redecoration but having said that, there were no signs of damage and everything was in working order. The restaurant was very clean and there were plenty of waiters to clear the tables. The waiters were mainly Eastern European and we found them very friendly, although with some there was a language problem which could cause a communication barrier. All the meals were self-service and the selection of dishes at dinner was amazing. I wonder what sort of meals those people who complained about the food have at home! Dinner was from 6 to 9.30 and, when on holiday, we prefer to eat about 8. Unfortunately, this meant that some of the dishes, especially the less popular ones that weren't frequently replenished, were not always hot at that time.
The evening entertainment was nothing special and many people preferred to go out to one of the local bars. We were there late in the season so it may be better in the summer months.
The pool area is very attractive with lots of sun bed - no need to get out at the crack of dawn to grab one.
We were all-inclusive and had no trouble getting drinks, even in the restaurant (contrary to some people's reports), which were served until midnight.
We were a group of 4 (two couples) and we had a great time. The weather was terrific during the whole of our stay and, for what we paid, the hotel was as good as we could have hoped for. We'll certainly be back!
A tip: pack a beach towel, they're not supplied. You can hire one, but they're not cheap!

Room Tip: If you like to see a glorious sun-set, get a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.7 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hotel Apts.
Neptune Hotel Apts.
#45 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.5 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#73 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
5.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Horizon

Property: Crown Resorts Horizon
Address: Coral Bay Avenue | PO Box 62727, Paphos 8068, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Resorts Horizon 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Crown Resorts Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel Paphos
Crown Hotel Paphos
Crown Horizon
Crown Hotel Horizon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing