We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facilities, comfortable and fun, but dated and tired decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Resorts Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Resorts Horizon
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great facilities, comfortable and fun, but dated and tired decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from a week's all inclusive holiday over Christmas week, which was myself and husband and our 6 year old son. We arrived at the large hotel in our hired car (parking spaces plentiful) and checked in smoothly, very friendly welcome and our special requests had been granted. Our hotel room was perfectly acceptable, huge king bed, seperate small rollout bed for my son, a small seating area (would be larger if it wasn't for the extra bed), fitted wardrobes, small balcony and a very nice modern bathroom decorated in mosaic tiles, no damp, plentiful towels and everything spotless.
We had been wondering if we would enjoy ourselves here, given the reviews on this and other sites, but we really did. I think it depends on your level of expectation for the money you pay, which was very good value.
The dining room, a huge ballroom-sized hall with high ceilings and a central buffet arrangement, was enormous and lacking in any real charm, dated drapes and old/battered formica-topped yellow tables with disgusting table number places (previous reviewers have posted accurate photos of these items which provide no real purpose other than to harbour crumbs and mould/germs). However, we must say that the food was consistently of a very high standard, especially given the sheer volumes being catered for, with varying tastes. We really enjoyed the meals, particularly breakfasts and evening meals which were often themed. The Christmas eve dinner was especially good, and the port and mushroom soup was memorable, piping hot, delicious, along with other traditional goodies.
The service at the hotel is generally ok, but the waiting staff in the restaurant, while efficient and clearly well-drilled in the comings and goings of the volumes of guests, seating them and clearing used plates etc, there is a general lack of charm, personality or cheer. The maitre d'hotel is a sergeant-major-like chap who rules the roost, and all staff follow suit with no smiles, and going through the motions. Christmas decorations included some brightly coloured mixed balloons stuck on to the columns around the room, some of which burst if they were too close to the hot pates on the buffet! You get the feeling of being processed rather than waited on.
But generally we were in and out, we enjoyed the food but not really the place to linger and enjoy any ambience. We often went out for lunch while exploring the island, and there are numerous tavernas and cafes just a minute or two walk from the hotel, so there are other options.
We enjoyed the facilities and activities on offer here. Our son enjoyed joining in with some of the activities on the daily animation programme, such as boules, shuffle board, archery, treasure hunts, and the kids club is open for an hour daily (while we were there), all run by a very warm and friendly Greek young lady who enthused everyone with the games and paid great attention to the children. The activities like bingo and quizzes cater for the retirees - many of whom reside here for the winter months or longer. You will find the hotel predominantly full of retired folk, couples and singles, and as a young family we were in the minority, there were only about 4 families with young children there while we were there. We found everyone to be pleasant and friendly but there is a lot of moaning about small things, arguments with staff in the dining room, petit whinges, which you hear from everyone and it spoils your fun, so we kept ourselves to ourselves and enjoyed ourselves. Holidays are what you make it - we enjoyed what was there, and went elsewhere for the extras we wanted.
Some tips I would recommend the hotel to follow: hire more friendly staff for the dining room and make some simple updates to the tables, ditch the mouldy stained table number holders.
What we liked most about the hotel: facilities such as lovely indoor pool and spa, hair salon and very reasonable prices, activities arranged and evening entertainment if you want it, and great location, perfectly comfortable and everything you need for a relaxed holiday.
Don't come here if oldies moaning are likely to be a downer for you, and if you dislike people poking into your business - one chap told me off for eating desert, he asked me if I should be eating that, and they are all experts at raising children (obviously!) and have a few things to say to you, unsolicited! If you prefer happy staff and a jolly atmosphere, go elsewhere. If you want a good base with a good value price and lots included, then you'll have a great time.
Exploring nearby is easy - Paphos harbour by bus or car, lots of ancient sites, Sterna winery and wine tasting in Kathikas, not far inland up a scenic mountain drive, Pafos Zoo and bird park, donkey sanctuary, mountain drives into the Troodos, and we also went bowling in Paphos and there is also mini golf and go karting nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClareDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    557
    376
    159
    118
See reviews for
446
718
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days all inclusive with my partner on our first hoilday. The swimming pool was filthy with algae growing in thick strips around the bottom. The dining room is like a school canteen, with old tables and chairs. The table badges were covered in food ( see photos), there is no fresh orange juice for breakfast. The towels were thred bare and had holes in.
The room was fair, but had no tea making facilities, had to pay for safe deposit box. Staff are Polish or other origins, some Cypriots. Staff very cold and unhelpful. Waiter waves you over from a distance to seat you at meals times.
Decor was old and dated. Unfortunately we went in November and was like being in a care home.
Local beach is like driving into Beruit, with old umbrellas thrown in the hedges.
You can safely say, they wont see me there again, and i strongly advice anyone else not to either. I have stayed in many hotels and was sold this holiday through Sunsave , who even rate it as 5*. This place is stuggling to get 3 stars in my opinon, just look at the latest reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paphos hotels

southport pr9 9ef
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently spent 10 nights at the hotel where we felt that the hotel needed an complete overall .
The staff were very attentive but the rooms although spacious were tired and the bedlinen very poor with poor pillows etc .They need to pay attention to this area as more hotels feature good bed linen and furnishing ,The food was adequate but felt very regimented in the dining room much on a line of school dinners .Everyone in rows and not too easy to move about the buffet area .
The other area was immediate add on costs such as a charge for the safe although installed in the room and the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room but available for a daily rate which we felt was not in accordance with a good rated hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having staying there in December, it was quiet but that did not ruin our holiday. The rooms were clean and spacious but could do with updating. There were no tea and coffee making facilities and you had to inform the reception if you wanted the mini-bar filling. The bathroom was very clean and the water was very hot just how we like it. I didn't use the WiFi in the hotel as it isn't free (even though it was all-inclusive) and it was very expensive. We used the spa facilities, which was excellent. The in-door pool and jacuzzi were heated and the spa staff were friendly and explained everything we needed to know. There is a games room next to the spa, which helped us pass time (and had many laughs). There is limited TV channels with only a couple of news channels in English. The views from the hotel room were breath-taking. The food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious although we didn't have lunch at the hotel every day we were there.

Some of the staff were friendly. 3 members of staff that stand out were Chris the barman, the manager of the restaurant and Dan the waiter in the restaurant. The reception staff will go out of their way to help you with anything you need.

There is a small shop where you can buy sweets, soft drinks, necessities and souvenirs. There is a supermarket nearby as well as plenty of bars and restaurants. Coral Beach is about a 5-minute walk but isn't that big. To get around we hired a car, which turned out to be beneficial as we went up the mountains, Paphos harbour and other tourist attractions.

All in all, we had a good time at this hotel. There were no major problems that effected our stay at the Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel.

Room Tip: For great views, rooms with an even number are better although the balcony doors are not sound-proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and calm (in december). could not tes the swimming pool as I travelld during december.
Breakfast is good (the coffee is not).
BUT wireless access is not for free and it does not work in all the rooms !

If you are interrested in cultural visits, you will have to rent a car as it is far from Paphos.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived Nov.14th & stayed for three weeks having 17 days of glorious sun. The location was further from the beach than we were led to believe but after seeing the beaches we weren't missing much. Bad points first. Sun loungers are on their last legs & could do with replacing. Salt & pepper pots are not fit for purpose & the Bulgarian staff in the restaurant need to smile.You had the feeling that their courtesy was false. The exceptions were the older what appeared to be manager and one of the leading lady staff. Food was excellent other than for a four day period when maybe the chef was on a break.
Bar staff were all friendly & efficient as was Lora, the entertainments lady. All in all a relaxed atmosphere that fitted our needs.
The room was sufficient for our needs, quiet & cleaned on a regular basis.
Yes we enjoyed our stay & found it good value for money.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter and not as hot as the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucida100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's that time again,Waiting to be picked up to go to the airport so now's the time to write a review.I arrived just after dark at around 530pm and was given my room,it was on the first floor facing the entrance and surprisingly it was not that noisy as was reported in previous reviews,maybe I was just lucky and the room was spacious and very fit for purpose no complaints there.
The food was good and catered for everybody and it would appear everyone was happy with no dissenting voices to be heard.The overall vibe of the hotel was laid back,maybe because of the time of the year but was perfect for my needs.As I said the time of the year everything opened and closed early so beware but there is a massive supermarket within a short walk should you need anything but it reminded me of a ghost town but to be fair it was off season in December and I can only assume that in high season there is a bit more "action".
There is a very good bus service which runs approx. every 15 minutes and goes into Paphos harbour and what you get are loads of shops,places to eat, look at the harbour,which is nice but to be honest wasn't up to much in my view but it was an option.The staff were friendly and very well drilled in their jobs and kept the hotel looking smart.
Las but not least there was Spa Tonic,a privately run gym which offered a small gym with personal trainers on site and were very good at what they did there was a sauna ,massage facilities and a heated indoor swimming pool and the Garra Rufa Fish Spa,if you have never tried it you should give it a go,having little fish "clean" your feet sounds weird but it is not as strange as it sounds and a hairdressing salon.
So to sum it up if you want to relax somewhere quiet with good facilities on site you cannot fault this place,my only minor gripe would be there was no kettle in the rooms or electric irons but doing a little research before you travel would solve this problem (I bought my own so there was no real issue for me)
So that's it my solo trip to Paphos went well and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top if possible,better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.7 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hotel Apts.
Neptune Hotel Apts.
#45 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.5 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#73 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
5.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Horizon

Property: Crown Resorts Horizon
Address: Coral Bay Avenue | PO Box 62727, Paphos 8068, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Resorts Horizon 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Resorts Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel Paphos
Crown Hotel Paphos
Crown Horizon
Crown Hotel Horizon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing