We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crown horizon paphos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Resorts Horizon
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for three days in September with my husband, sister and brother in law the hotel was in a good position for the restaurants and shops, rooms were dated and although smoking was not allowed in the rooms it was obvious by the smell in the corridors that people were smoking in the rooms, my sisters room stank of smoke.
It was in a really good position for the regular bus service (1 euro each way or 3 euro for a day roamer) into Paphos town.
The swimming pool was in the wrong position and the area around the pool was very small, in fact we never used the pool as it was crammed full.
Entertainment was practically none existent, apart from the odd game of bingo
The beach was a treck down the road but very clean and not that expensive 7.50 euros for sunbed and parasol.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room on 2nd or 3rd floor as the views were lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
There are newer reviews for Crown Resorts Horizon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is situated to the bars and restaurants and has a bus stop outside for easy access to the beach and Paphos town. This year the buses have increased the day ticket to 3 Euros but still represents good value. The hotel is in need of a make over, however all the time we were there the staff worked hard to keep the place clean. The food is good, plenty of choice but I would recommend going down after the initial start as we felt that some dishes had been left to stand and were sometimes cold after that they were continually replenished. Also ask for filtered water if staying on half board, it's free and as a bottle costs 3.45 euros the cost soon mounts up. The pool area can get busy and the sunbeds do seem to be on top of each other, try the garden area, much quieter. Also if you do want to use an iron, there is only one!!! do what we did, go to the local laundrette, off the strip at the far end and get them to do a wash n dry, for 12 euros it's amazing what they do, saves time when back home especially if going for 3 weeks.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are bigger and you get a bath robe, we had room 329 on the side facing the mounta...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here about 6 years ago and it has declined, so sad. It now offers all-inclusive which seems to have dropped standards. Food is mundane - you won't starve but we had to eat out a couple of evenings as the food quality isn't great (we were half-board). The hotel is run like a factory and the staff are automatons, never smiling. The restaurant is chaotic. In fairness this hotel occupies an excellent position which has very nice pool area and grounds as well as pleasant public areas. However, the bedroom was tatty - sheets were threadbare and the bed just had a blanket, no bedspread, broken lampshades and very small balcony. The bathroom was fine but agan the towels were theadbare. The spa/leisure centre is good but run by a separate management who were friendly. Don't expect 4 star standards at this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been 8 times in the last 2 years, each holiday for 10 days and once 14 days.
The hotel is situated sat back from the main drag in Coral bay, close to the many bars and eating establishments, gift and food shops. But mainly about 10 mins drive to the Akamas penisular (wilderness).Close to the Seacaves developement and a short public bus ride to Paphos harbour and New Town. Hotel is very clean and ALL the staff are approachable and pleasant. Bar has a queueing system, BUT dont let that put you off because the staff are very quick and efficient, IVO the bar manager speaks russian, english and bulgaria to say the least, morning staff are very helpful and willing to impart their knowledge of the area and various sights and tours. The entertainment is basic but enough always something going on (LORE DANA), if not just have a walk down THE STRIP ( coral bay road) there is plenty going on, Try Kleo's bar just a 2 minute shuffle, lively and friendly, not expensive and decent cocktails. The hotel has good selection of cocktails and are included on the ALL INCLUSIVE.... pina colada is brill. The restaurant offers a queueing system as well, in the evenings you are generaly waved in by Andreas or Danielle, they seem abrupt but this is not so, they are pushed to their limits by customers being less than civil to them, just say friendly a hello or a thank you, Barbara, Dan, Marios, oh and many more are always around to aid the infirm or get you some drinks (as appropriate) or replenish your dropped cutlery. Food is plentiful and hot or cold as appropriate, plenty of choice and all freshly cooked, or laid out as in the salad bar, desserts are wonderful and varied. The tables and floor are impecably clean, as is the table linen.
Breakfast is the usual, cereal, salad and cold meats, fresh bread/rolls, fresh and tinned fruits, hots fry up as well. so plenty to cater for all tastes.
Reception staff (Magda) is really helpful and will go that extra mile for you if you are polite and smile. remember the staff are HUMAN!!!!! Just be polite and ask.... for a mattress topper or a lunch box.
The pool area is well cared for and there is plenty of sunbeds, just ask and they appear from the ground staff. The pool bar (is a summer favorite, swin up and sit on the bar side. (BOLASH does great cocktails).
All in all no real faults, it is people expecting too much and being inconsiderate of the staff, but most of all impolite, the housekeeping staff are thorough and helpful, if you need a further p

Room Tip: Top floor of main hotel is good, any of the rooms in the adjacent block are quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debbsie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There were many aspects to this hotel that are 4 star ,but in some areas (could do better).The food was fabulous allways a good selection and plenty of it,the rooms were allways cleaned every day ,bed was a bit hard for me but i managed.The bars were allways clean and the staff were friendly happy hour was at 5:30 till 6:30 which we attended regularly.Now to the pool(ugh) the sides of the pool where very dirty and underneth the walls seemed very slimey,saying that the water was very clean,the sun bed did need a little tlc very tired and a few broken,i can see it would be a problem in the height of the season as there was just not enough to go round for the amount of people that would be staying there.The hotel is located in a lovely spot ther were bars and restaurants a few minutes walk away,and the beach was about 10 minutes away.If you do walk to the beach the first turning on your left takes you though a housing complex then down some very steep steps to a little cove with about 6 sunbed.The next turning takes you to a lovely stretch of sand with sunbed and plenty of room if you just want to sit on the beach there is a snack. bar at both ends.The buses run every 15 minutes if you get a 3 euro ticket you can use the buses all day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathy-hammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

On arrival at 11.35pm the receptionist told us to leave our cases to the side, as we were all inclusive he informed us we only had 25mins to collect our sandwiches and have a drink as the bar closed at 12.. As we where a party of nine we all did our own thing during the day and went for breakfast at different times if two of our party was there in the restaurant first we would ask if we could sit beside our friends answer NO!! so we would be put to the other end of the seating area, we asked if we could all sit together for dinner NO!! they had a wedding party of 60, we would have to sit inside which we did but it was too hot. As it was 1 of our party's birthday we asked at reception if we could book a table out side, he said it was no problem. the next night we went for dinner and we where put inside again this time with the window open, we where told it was the last night of the wedding party and had to sit inside. We couldn't see any difference them putting 4 tables together outside as we would have taken up 4 tables anyway.Out of the 7 night we had 2 nights inside and 2 outsid and at separate tables for the other nights.The restaurant staff where not very helpful at all and never spoke to any one,the restaurant manager was very abrupt and sure be rewarded the JOBS WORTH AWARD,besides that the food was good but the fresh fruit was very limited and very disapointing.
The bedroom was very nice but the bed was far too hard and the pillows where very thin.The girl who did our room was very nice
Pool area was nice and when we where there, there was plenty of sun loungers. It took a few days for the bar staff to talk to us but in general they where ok.
I dont think any of us will be back at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a larger party ask for rooms together when booking as our party of 9 were s...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was keen to see what the hotel would be like after reading the reviews on there, since I’ve visited there is a lot I can relate to, none of it positive.

My boyfriend and I booked 10 nights at the hotel, my father, 2 brothers and one girlfriend met us out there during the stay. Needless to say, every single one of us had problems with the staff here.

I’m not sure if it was just the time of year or the hotel’s target audience but we booked 10 nights at this hotel this September and felt like the youngest person there by far… I’m 25. Under any other circumstances, this wouldn’t have been a problem at all! Only, the people staying there looked at us as though we were from another planet. There were very few people there who made the effort to even return the ‘hello’ in the mornings, and we were met with glum faces everywhere. I felt suitably uncomfortable during the stay. It was the strangest thing I had experienced. We got this from other customers and hotel staff.

My boyfriend and I arrived on the Saturday night. I was very impressed up until we were greeted by a male receptionist void of any personality whatsoever. We soon realised that we would have to pay for any facility we wanted to use in the room. The safe cost 20 Euros! You have to pay to get the fridge turned on (which is expected in a lot of places) and we have to pay for tea and coffee facilities in the room. Considering we had paid for 10 nights in an expensive room, half board and they can’t even supply a kettle?!?! Mad!! Our towels were changed everyday (actually the cleaners were very sweet) however they are really torn and scruffy. It wasn’t a huge problem but it’s just another thing you wouldn’t expect from a 4* hotel like this.

The food was actually good, we all enjoyed our meals in the mornings and evenings, lots of variety. I would suggest trying some of the local places though for a change of scenery. The pool is lovely, make sure you get down there early to reserve your sun beds otherwise they’re all gone.

If you pay for half board and want to go out for dinner that night, you can ask reception for a lunch voucher. Be warned: you will only be met with utter confusion and eventually ‘no’, like everything else. You are entitled and meant to get lunch vouchers if you’re not there for dinner, so I don’t know why they are so against their own policy!! On 3 separate occasions my brother was given hassle about this and eventually we just gave up and paid for food we didn’t even eat.

It’s clear to see that this hotel does not cater to the younger couples. Every night is bingo night, met with pretty lame entertainment afterwards. I would recommend visiting the local restaurants and bars. There is an amazing little Italian restaurant at the top of the strip, and just opposite the hotel is an incredible Japanese restaurant where the chefs cook in front of you. Really well worth it for a good night out if you don’t want to drink a lot.

The main thing I learned during the stay is that the staff at this hotel are probably the most unfriendly people I’ve met. We changed their slogan to… Crown Resorts Horizon, Where Everything Is Just Too Much Trouble.

The staff in the restaurant are unfriendly and don’t talk to you at all. I don’t know her name, but she is the head waitress in the buffet/restaurant, she was the worst. At any opportunity she complained to us about being too many for dinner, and they wouldn’t put tables together because we hadn’t told her the day before! What a load of rubbish. On another evening, we had two guests for dinner and the waitress agreed to put the charge to one of our parties’ rooms. When this person checked out, the hotel had forgotten to put the charge to the room. Therefore, this waitress and her boss came to us a few mornings later at breakfast and said ‘he has checked out so you must pay’. Through utter embarrassment and not wanting to have anymore run-ins with the staff, we paid. Had they not thought to contact this person via email and request payment?

My father had spoken to Stavros, the hotel Manager before the holiday and agreed his rates for the three nights. Upon checking out, the same receptionist that met us tried to charge him full rate! When my father explained that he had confirmation from Stavros, the receptionist didn’t believe him. When my dad insisted that he called Stavros, the receptionist wouldn’t hand the phone over and attempted to call security. Eventually and unsurprisingly my father became pretty upset and gave the receptionist what for, and about time too. Thankfully, headquarters (or whoever this guy called!) confirmed that my dad was correct. No apology, nothing.

The staff in the restaurant and the staff who work in reception are not there to help you have fun, they are there to treat you like numbers as opposed to customers. As such, they lack any common sense and any form of customer service. I’ve worked as both a receptionist and a waitress and wouldn’t dream of treating people like this.

The only person that gave us the time of day was Melinda who works in the bar. She is lovely and always said hello and chatted to us. After having stayed here this year, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel and certainly wouldn’t return, simply because of how we were treated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ckc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
5.4 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#76 of 85 in Paphos
873 reviews
7.7 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#59 of 85 in Paphos
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Horizon

Address: Coral Bay Avenue | PO Box 62727, Paphos 8068, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $65 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Resorts Horizon 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Resorts Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel Paphos
Crown Hotel Paphos
Crown Horizon
Crown Hotel Horizon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing