We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed in the Aliathon may 7th to the 21st for our first wedding anniversary. It is the second time we have been, e stayed here last year when we got married in Paphos. we stayed in the fishing village area both times.
It's an absolutely brilliant place that I could go every single year and not get fed up. It's clean, friendly and has everything you could ask for for everybody.
My 2 kids absolutely loved kids club and and all the in2action team(Matty, Scott, Chris, Hollie, Holly, Adam, Joff, Linzi, Bouncer and just so many more). Their jobs were to keep everyone entertained who wanted to be and they were so friendly. There is always something happening whether its a quiz round the pool while relaxing(by Matty or Scott usually) or kids running round on the pool in a giant blow up ball while Matty is walking round 'arrrrring' like a pirate at the top of his voice while trying to convince people they need to join him in a game of bowls haha!
Kids club had something going off for the kids all the time, chocolate parties, mini beast spotting, high ropes, mini Olympics and for most of the two weeks we were there special visits from Barney and Bob the Builder.
Night entertainment included a kids disco where the kids would play games and learn the dances, then there wold be chuckle time where a few kids would be chosen to tell a joke or sing or dance. My son went up twice and did a joke and then the running man dance and Bob the Builder got up and joined him which he thought was brilliant!
The rooms are cleaned everyday, clean towels and pool towels. The rooms were comfortable and really spacious. We had a kids suite where the kids had their own room with a tv and ps2.
We went all inclusive and the food is great, something different with loads of choice which is great cos my kids are fussy..
I would Definitely go back every year, we said at the end of our 2 weeks that we could have easily stayed another fortnight and not get fed up. My kids were so upset on the last day and insisted on going round everywhere saying good bye and hugging the in2action folk. My daughter especially took to Chris and he got about 5 hugs(she was really gutted that she missed Scott as he was her other favourite but he wasn't around by the time we left).
I would recommend the Aliathion till blue on the face.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,560 - 2,566 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2009

Never done this sort of holiday b4..dont normally do people or kids...lol..I However gotta say I just couldnt fault it in anyway..fab food, fab service,fab room,fab staff,sooo friendly, felt safe with the kids, felt comfy, felt welcome, booking for next year a.s.a.p

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djdivaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Just stayed in the lovely fishing village in aliathon, Very pleased with the delux room it was very clean and had all mod cons(setanta sports sky sports the lot)
Quite a quiet place all in all as your were outside the main areas, WORD OF WARNING you would certainly need to be all inclusive as i was as it is one of the most expensive places ive ever been...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We had just returned from the Aliathion 2 days ago after getting married and staying for 14 nights and have to say it was fantasic. We stayed in the Fishing Village (which was out of this world) room 1108. Our hotel room is everything we could have wished for and more. Having a DVD player was great for my 14 month old baby as it gets very hot in the afternoon.

The kids clubs for great, my 9 year old son loved all the activities, he was there from 10am till most nights 11pm ( dont worry we did see him at meal times!! lol ) All the kids staff are great and very friendly.....Linzi, mark,craig matty, nick...too many to give a shout out to. They work very hard and very long hours but you can tell they just love their jobs. Please tell all the kids reps that Tin-Tin (my sons nick name) says hi.

Food was great, something there for everyones taste. The beer and wine is very good to...we spent many a night " a bit worse for wear " but thats whats happens on holiday lol !!

We loved the night time entertainment the best. Joff is such a good laugh, all the team holly, michelle and danni (poor dannii had a fall back stage one night and broke her leg but still managed a smile to all the kids..bless her) are so hard working, they sing and dance great. We loved the Aliathion thyme tune (The Saturdays...Just cant get enough) we had the dance moves off to a tee by our second week.

We got married in our second week, the service was very short and we did have a few mis-haps but never the less our wedding was just perfect and wouldnt change a thing.

All in all we had the best time ever and would definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank parkin4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We have just returned from the Holiday Village Aliathon (02-16 May) and had to write to tell you all what a fab place this really is. We had a duplex apartment in the fishing Village (room 1234) which had the best view of all the facilities. There were 2 sofa beds down stairs for the children and then a double bed upstairs, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and a wonderful furnished balcony - we really felt like royalty!.

We met some absolutely brilliant friends - Hello to Dave and Ricardo below!, as well as Grant, Zara, Stacey, Mark, Jo, Emma & Andy. The staff are all superb - keep an eye out for Craig, Matty & Scotty, and the rest -there are too many too mention!.

My top tips are

1) Take a jacket / cardi for evenings as it gets very blowy and a bit cold. Very hot during the day though.
2) Take a pen with you for bingo, and be prepared to take a trip to the White horse if you win!
3) Book in for the Greek restaurant - this is very good, Mexican not as good.
4) You need trainers to do the high ropes course.
5) Check out the indoor pool - bit cold but nice and relaxing
6) Bus to Coral Bay - only E1.50 but takes about half an hour, keep on until the last stop as this bit of the beach is better.
7) Taxi's - make sure you negotiate the fare before you get in, a taxi to the harbour should cost E8, and Coral bay E12.
8) Visit Fat Mamas restaurant ,E10 in a cab but the food is lovely and the portions are huge!

Cyprus is very expensive though we really noticed the difference E2.90 - E4.10 for a pint and E5.00 for a cocktail.

We had a brilliant time and would definetley recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Just got back from the Holiday Village in Cyprus, one of the best holidays ever!

We went for 11 days, as we normally get fed up after around this time when on a 14 day holiday, wish we had booked the 14 days as we didn't want to come home.

The only bad point we had is when we first got to our room which was in the old part of the resort, way up away from the main pool, the room was clean but very dated, with ants and a view of a wall, and next to a road. I went to reception to be moved to the Fishing village near the main pool, which they did straight away for an extra supplement of 15 euros a night, which we paid, I would have paid double that if need be as the old part of the resort is pretty tired and definately not 4 star.

We were placed in room 1165 which was great. It was in the corner behind the daytime main activities centre, and 50 feet from the main pool, perfect!

The Reception staffs at the Aliathon are very friendly and helpful, if you need something done such as extra pillows for your bed it's done without a problem and normally within 5 minutes of asking.

Just to point out from the previous review here about the front of the main pool cracking up, when we left they were in the process of fixing all of this, so if you are arriving any day now this should now be all ok.

There are many activity staff here and all are friendly. The entertainment during the day is very good and anyone interested in doing more than just laying on a sun bed will find something. Watch out for Mattie the water polo ref, he will get you clucking like a hen while hoping on one leg and throwing the ball with your left arm. Craig is a very good children's entertainer with so much energy. Don't forget to join in the lunchtime Choccolatte!

The evening entertainment staff are just as good, although lacking in some independent acts during the time we stayed. Hi to Holly, Joffalina Ballerina, Paul, Adam, Michelle and Dani! However, the pirate’s night team challenges was a great laugh, but if you are part of the team on stage when you are here watch out for the 'rope burn' in the tug of war left my arm a bit sore the next day!

The evening entertainment is the normal nights you get at First Choice. Kids Disco and Bingo. There is a part of the kids show called 'chuckle time' where some of the kids can go on the stage to tell jokes, sing or dance. There was one little boy who went on every night to tell a joke and delighted in shouting his name down the microphone, at first this was funny but after a few nights it became very irritating, chuckle time was a good time to go to the toilet or get a drink.

The food was pretty good, although some times the hot food was not so hot. On the whole the food was a good enough standard.

I would recommend you go all inclusive, as you can get as many drinks and ice creams as you want, I don't know how self catering guests can afford to pay for drinks etc. All inclusive is a much cheaper option over the whole holiday than self catering is considering the currently weak pound.

There's wireless internet access but only in reception. There are only 2 computers to use so I would recommend taking a laptop or net book with you if you have one as there is often a queue. We used our net book. You have to buy a card from reception which has a 'username and password' for access to their system. You can buy 60, 90 and 200 minute cards; the 200 minute card is 10 euros.

The pool tables and other entertainment machines require tokens, which cost 1 euro each, you can obtain from a machine in reception, don't ask the bar man in the entertainment bar for tokens as he will only send you to the main bar token machine which never worked when we were there!

If you want to use the beach you will need to cross over the main road outside the front of the resort and walk a further 100 yards before you get to the beach.

You are supplied with a pool towel each, if you want these changed just leave them in your bath along with your normal room towels and the maid will change them when they clean the room. If you can't wait that long just ask Reception and they will get someone to come and change them straight away.

You will have to pay for bottled mineral water if you want it, but there are plenty of water coolers at the restuarant, pool bars and main bars for you to refill a bottle if you have one. The mini kitchen in the room was great, fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and two ring hob. The supermarket in the commercial centre is very expensive.

The check out and coach back to the airport was smooth and straight forward. If you have mobility problems you can call reception for the golf buggy to come and pick you up and take you to wherever you need to go around the resort. There is also a lift down to the main restaurant (go through the main bar and turn left) but everything else is pretty much on the flat and its easy to get around.

This place is fun and entertaining, but can also be quiet and relaxing if that's what you want. We had a great time and would love to come back. We would come back at the beginning of May as half the rooms are empty and there was no problem getting sun beds even at midday. Don't think I would come in June, July or August as it's fully booked and I can imagine it will be the old problem of no sun beds and people sitting on top of you.

Verdict overall: Loved it, want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

This hotel is superb along with all the facilities. Anyone with any doubts need not worry. We were lucky enough to have a room in the fishing village which is great and close to splash park and Kids club (which is excellent). Talking to other people the older part of the complex is still clean and tidy but a little dated. The food was very good and plenty of choices. The greek restaraunt was good and the mexican was ok. The evening entertainment area was outside and could get a bit chilly on the night. Although it is probably fine in the main summer months. The entertainment team for both daytime and nightime activities were full of energy and very friendly. "Tall Paul" and his amazing pair of shorts was a quality act....We met some great people and had a great time.
The only slight worry i would have is that the main pool in the Fishing village seemed to be cracking at an alarming rate. More parts of the pool were being sectioned off daily by the way of sunloungers which did look an eyesore and was resembling an obstacle course. They will have to do something about it sooner rather than later as the pool will be full of sunloungers by the end of the summer at the rate it was cracking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#30 of 85 in Paphos
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $73 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing