We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but located far out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but located far out”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a great hotel filled with fun, but what id describe as "butlins in the sun".
The hotel was very spacious with big pools, their unheated so were very chilly. We had a deluxe room with kids den, the room was very spacious and ideal if you have a little one, it was cleaned everyday. The only thing i would say is the funiture is very worn (scraps, scratches etc) but overall the room was clean. Dinner was great many food choices and lovely puddings. I visited nissi bay last year, paphos is nice but beaches are crabby and their seems to be no life apart from souvenir shops, the hotel is far out and is about a 30 minute walk to the bars that they do have. My son was very ill on holiday and i didnt feel the staff were very accomadating in terms of welcoming us back from the hospital etc. overall the holiday was nice and id like to do a holiday village again as excellent for the kids but id say its way overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseywilders87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliathonPafos_Cyprus, Director of Sales at Aliathon Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Aliathon Holiday Village for your 2012 vacation and for sparing the time to write this review on trip advisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a great holiday here with us and that you especially enjoyed the food and the puddings. We are indeed situated about a half hour walk from the harbor. We would like to inform you that you can also catch the bus which takes less than ten minutes to the harbor and is only EUR 1 each way. Furthermore, we were sorry to hear that your son had to visit the doctor's whilst you were here and that the staff were not very accommodating when you returned. Looking after our guests is our top priority and we assure you that we will be looking into this incident further.

We do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the bear future and thank you once again for recommending us so highly.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Sekadakis
Guest Relations & Social Media Manager
prm@aliathonvillage,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    754
    234
    76
    29
See reviews for
1,847
321
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just back from our holiday yesterday. We booked a 7 day holiday for 2 adults and 2 children aged 9 & 8. On arrival we checked in and was chauffeured to our room via a buggy. This was great not having to wander around trying to find your room number late at night. We opened the door and was shocked at how big our apartment was. You went into the large kitchen following this was the lounge area with patio door onto a terrace. To the right was 2 separate bedrooms 1 large twin and 1 large double bedroom which had an en-suite bathroom. The main bathroom separated the 2 bedrooms. The settee in the living room was a bit tired but overall very clean and equipped with 2 t.V's. The rooms where cleaned daily, towels changed and beds made. The holiday village was very impressive with its buildings. The pool was great, the kids loved it. Pool bar food wasn't very good, not a great variety, however if you went to the main restaurant the food was varied and was good but sometimes lukewarm. Same for the evening meal. The first choice reps where friendly and helpful and worked very hard. Not much to do outside the resort though, the beach wasn't great. Went on a bus journey to the harbor a couple of days. 1 Euro for 1 journey or 3 Euro's for all day unlimited trips to various places on the island for adults & children were free. We had horrendous thunder storms which resulted in one of our kids hiding under the bed, it was scary, never experienced anything like it, we got pelted by large hail stones getting back to our room from the entertainment venue. Something to bare in mind holidaying at this late time in the season. We have been to holiday villages at Turkey, Lanzarote, Tunisia and now Cyprus. We think they have all been good and all have different things to offer. We had a very relaxing time. I want to go back but earlier in the season.

Room Tip: The fishing village apartments looked more modern and recently updated than the Aegean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliathonPafos_Cyprus, Director of Sales at Aliathon Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review following your recent stay here at the Aliathon Holiday Village.

We were all impressed by your feedback and we thank you for so many compliments regarding the food, your room, the staff, the pools and the resort overall.

The weather indeed in November cannot be predicted and we do hope that the storm did not affect your stay too much.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Aliathon in the near future.

Thank you once again for recommending us so highly and for sharing your experiences on trip advisor.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Sekadakis
Guest Relations & Social Media Manager
prm@aliathonvillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week (5 middle aged women). We were given a one bedroom apartment for 5 adults which meant there were two single beds in the bedroom, 2 childrens camp beds and one sofa bed!! Not ideal for 5 middle aged women. Only one bathroom and one wardrobe so not what we expected at all. The website states one bedroom apartments sleeps a max of 3!! The food was OK but luke warm (had to microwave everything to make it edible). We were served drinks in disposable plastic cups night and day in the bars (apart from the adult bar). The gin was horrible and tasted of ouzo so we couldnt drink it. There were so many rules and regulations (couldnt fill our own plastic cups we had brough with us with drinks as this was not allowed, couldnt take drinks back to the room etc etc). The adult bar didnt open until 8pm which was no good for pre dinner drinks (too late). The weather wasnt good so they opened the adult indoor pool for the children so bang went our peace and quiet there! Dont change any sterling at the hotel reception, they give you a riduculously low rate (on the marina by the inny bit there are three exchange places with much better deals commision free). There are loads of cats but we didnt mind this as we had read reports that some rooms had mice so they were a welcome deterant. The hotel charge for wifi but there are places on the marina such as Hobo Cafe and Rania Bar down the road that do free wifi. The staff were mainly very nice and helpful apart from the sullen barman at the main bar on a night.
On the positive side, we really enjoyed the resort and hired bikes for a day with Rania Bar at 10euros (turn right out of the hotel gate and 400 metres along on the opposite side of the road). No deposit needed and really comfy bikes. We went to St Pauls church (400metres on the road up to the old town from the harbour on the right hand side) which was really interesting, full of mosaics and free. The old town and market was nice. The walk to the harbour took about 45minutes but is a really nice costal path walk (cross the road and through a path to the sea from the hotel).You can cylce or walk further along the coast past the marina to Faros beach which again is a lovely walk.
All in all, this place is ok for families with young children but not suitable for adults. We wouldnt return to this hotel but would return to Paphos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

just back had a wonderful time while there our granddaughter Ruby was 5 a cake balloons and card were delivered to our room the staff were all so good; enjoyed the food; and the entertainment team were second to none ; had a first class holiday and will be going back; this was our second visit and will not be the last; thanks to you all ;

Room Tip: stayed in room 1120 big and near everything in the fishing village
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliathonPafos_Cyprus, Director of Sales at Aliathon Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty towards the Aliathon Holiday Village and for sparing the time to post your review on trip advisor.

It is always a pleasure seeing guests returning to the Aliathon and we were all very happy to read that your second visit was as great as your first and that you are planning on returning again next year. We would also like to thank you for your compliments regarding the food and the staff.

We truly appreciate that you have shared this return holiday experience with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to email us prior to your next visit with any special requests you may have and we will do our best to meet them.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Sekadakis
Guest Relations & Social Media Manager
prm@aliathonvillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

on arrival we five women discovered we were in a one bedroom apartment! there were twin beds in the bedroom, then in the lounge area one person slept on the sofa and 2 more on campbeds. We were horrified, and had to use the coffee tables for wardrobes! In the end we laughed and decided to either go and complain or just accept our situation and make the best of things. We did the latter, and jokingly our bedroom/lounge became known as the 'dosshouse'. One of the camp beds had a matress only about an inch thick, so the first night was most uncomfortable. However after popping to reception the next morning, they immediately added another matress which made the nights more comfortable.The place was quite clean. It seems better for kids than adult entertainment. We traipsed to the bar for our all inclusive drinks of gin and tonic, only to find the 'gin' was not gin as we've ever known it before, more like Ouzo or similar. Not nice with tonic water!
There is an adult only pool which none of the staff seemed to know about, however we did find it ourselves, but most of the day it was in the shade, so we only used it once. There was also an adults only bar but as this opened only at 8.00p.m. it was a bit disappointing. We could go there after our evening meal for a drink or 2, but no other times.
The good points were the staff. They were always polite and helpful and gave us good and friendly service. The entertainment for children seemed exciting.
The food was mostly lukewarm but there were microwaves to use, and we also took cake for afternoon tea on our balcony and were never stopped from doing this. We took drinks back to our room too for 'happy hour' and were never stopped. Although they would not do a packed lunch for us, they didn't object to us making up a few sandwiches for taking out on a bike ride for the day.
The only water we were provided with was one bottle between the five of us, so we bought our own water but then refilled the bottles from their water fountains.
The evening entertainment was once again mostly aimed at families and children, but looked to be performed quite well by the staff, and was enjoyed by lots of guests.
The Mexican restaurant left a lot to be deisred but the Greek restaurant we enjoyed the best and once again all the staff were very pleasant.
The setting is quite nicely laid out, and overall we enjoyed our holiday. We'd go to Cyrpus again, but maybe choose a hotel near the beach would be more to our liking.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have covered balconies, a little dark but depends if you want to sunbathe or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Bellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here 21/10/12 - 4/11/12 in 2 delux studios as there were 6 of us (4 adults - 2 children 13 & 11). Worked well with the girls in 1 and the boys in the other. We did request rooms next to each other, but it worked out well in the end as we were not too far away from each other. The complex was very clean, the pools were lovely, the entertainment was very good, the food was superb - so much of it and plenty of choice for everyone. we had lovely food at both the Mexican and Greek restaurants. The red wine could have been warmer in the main hall and restaurants. Our rooms were kept clean. We were impressed at having pool towels supplied, which we will remember when we go back as this will save us taking our own towels. The idea of being able to change them daily, if we wished, was great. The only problem we had in our room was the lack of storage space. Would have been ok-ish if there was only 2 people, but not as good for 3 in this type of accomadation. We will definately be returning and will contact the hotel in advance to see if we could get a room where we would like on the complex. The overall experience at this family run holiday village was excellent. We certailnly felt like we had had a nice rest. We look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliathonPafos_Cyprus, Director of Sales at Aliathon Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Aliathon Holiday Village and for sparing the time to share your experiences on trip advisor.

Providing our guests with high quality, delicious food and fantastic family experiences is one of our highest priorities and so we are very pleased to read that we have succeeded this. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us here at the Aliathon to keep on providing only the best services to all our guests.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do email us prior with any special requests you may have and we will do our best to meet them.

Regards from everyone here at the Aliathon,

Georgina Sekadakis
Guest Relations & Social Media Manager
prm@aliathonvillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Family of four (2 adults & 2 children aged 12 & 10) stopped for one week at the beginning of Nov '12. Have preiouvlsy been to HV Turkey & Tunisia and found both of these have much better activites set up for a wide range of childrens ages rather than this one. Apartments were nice and spacious, overall cleanliness of the whole complex was excellent, food was plenty with a good variety and staff were pleasant.. Reps were nice but have experienced friendlier & more enthusiastic & dedicated elsewhere. Evening entertainment wasn't fabulous but reps had put in a good effort.

I certainly would't say not to go here but it depends on what you actually want out of a holiday. Would not recommend this hotel for couples or solo travellers. We wouldn't chose to return unless there was an overhaul of childrens facilities made but overall for what we paid it was well worth it and we still enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Chose not to be on the ground floor. If you want a quieter area then the argean part of the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliathonPafos_Cyprus, Director of Sales at Aliathon Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Aliathon Holiday Village for your family break in November and for sparing the time to write you review.

We were happy to read that you had a nice holiday overall and that you you found the cleanliness excellent, that there was a large variety of food and that the staff were very pleasant.

We were however disappointed to read that on this occasion the true Aliathon experience was missing. It is always our aim to provide enjoyable, fun and relaxing holidays and we are sorry to hear that we let you down.

We truly hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and that you will give us the chance to restore your faith in our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for sparing the time to share this review.

Kind Regards,
Georgina Sekadakis
Guest Relations & Social Media Manager
prm@aliathonvillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 86 in Paphos
2,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 86 in Paphos
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Property: Aliathon Holiday Village
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing