We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday at the Aliathon... could live here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just back from a lovely 10 days at the HV Aliathon, 20-30 June 2012, and have to say what a great holiday we had. We booked with FirstChoice and had a superior one bed apt in the Aegean Village which had excellent self catering facilities if this is what you want, fridge, small freezer, brand new combi microwave/oven and ceramic hob, and brand new crockery, pans and cutlery, the cleaning staff keep the place spotlessly clean and the grounds staff maintain well tendered and pretty gardens. The reception staff are polite and helpful and maintenance guys were prompt and put air-con problems right quickly. We enjoyed all the food on an AI basis, lots of variety, cooked english breakfasts options and cold meats, cheeses , cereals, toasts, yoghurts, fruits and muffins, cakes, pastries, lunch at the lighthouse was also very good and caters for all tastes, chicken legs, pizza, fruits, puddings. Dinner choices in the restaurant were excellent, lovely moussaka, lasagna, pasta, and beautiful meats, lamb, beef, chicken, with fresh salads, cooked vegetables and rice and pastas every evening, range of drinks are also good, tea, coffee,soft drinks, fizzy drinks, wine and beer on tap. The restaurant is well managed and served by very efficient staff, and traditional entertainment is also very good. Accommodation and facilities are exactly as stated on the hotel's website which makes a refreshing change,the staff here go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The pools are clean and if there is one thing which could be improved, it would be to ensure that the adult pool is retained just for adults as there are plenty of pools for children. The FC reps worked fantasitcally hard and put on decent shows each night. A Lovely place and lovely Cypriot people. We wish we could have stayed longer, and will definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,688)
There are newer reviews for Aliathon Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,982 - 1,988 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights and although generally enjoyable there were a number of issues with this place. I also think they may turn the service up a bit during peak times as several people we spoke to said a number of things, particularly the food, were of a better quality during their first week (which was half term).

Despite arranging for medical reasons and travelling with a 74 year old a ground floor apt we were put upstairs. Not a great start at 12am but to be fair, they bent over backwards the next day to accomodate our needs. However, it was quite stressful and I had spent a lot of time on the 0871 number in the UK to avoid it.

Being so heavily focussed on children I expected safety to be of a greater concern. The recently refurbished first floor apt had blind cords loosely dangling at toddler neck height and a balcony door latch that my 3.5 year old could operate. The splashpark relies on parent supervision which is often not present. It was left to the parents of younger children to keep order and tell older kids to stay off the slides with inflatables etc etc. There was a fairly constant stream of preschoolers in tears having been wiped off their feet at the top or bottom of the main slide. Nearly every parent stood there was complaining about it and I truely believe it will only be a matter of time before there is a nasty accident. I don't go on holiday to supervise and discipline other people's children.

The food was hit and miss. Breakfast was the best bet, I took to taking fruit and pastries for lunch from breakfast. Lunch was uninspiring and dinner dishes varied from really quite nice to pretty awful. Children's options for the vast majority of the time were limited to chicken nuggets and chips or watery bolognaise sauce with pasta. Unless your child is good and will happily eat plain salad and fruit.

The drinks machines in the there were crowded and tempermental and the water coolers were constantly broken with wet floor warnings by them. Daytime food on offer outside the restuarant (only available at the main pool in the fishing village) was not up to much at all, nothing like four star standard. The BBQ on Sundays was nice, but again, not four star.

Information was sadly lacking in the Aegean Village, I seemed to spend a great deal of my time walking across a rather large complex to find out what was going on when. A problem simply rectified by putting information boards up at both ends of the village.

The kids club was good, activities were fun, staff friendly and the kids could go as often as they wanted to sessions at 10, 12, 2.30, 4.30, 7.30 and 9.30 for an hour and a half a time. If staying at the other end of the complex though it is a 20-30 minute process to drop them off and get them at the busy sessions.

Football and swimming acadamies were very good, and reasonably priced unlike slushies at 3 Euro's a pop!!

The evening entertainment left a lot to be desired. A repatitive mix of bingo, unecessarily loud and distorted music, dance and childrens competition type things. Definitely the most dissapointing element of the holiday.

The main pool got shut 2 or 3 days on the trot as some child was pooing in the pool, probably indicative of the fact that the complex supermarket had sold out of swim nappies.

The hotel service and environment was clean and well looked after and the best stops just outside allowed for easy and cheap local travel. The beach across the road is not worth bothering with, if you want a nice relaxed beach day then it's worth travelling up the coast a bit more.

In short, it's not bad, but it's not great. I expected more, particularly for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Fishing village is newer but noisier and overlooked, Aegean Village is a more traditional environmen...
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank BusyMummy_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just arrived home from a week in this Hotel. I was very excited about travelling here, but I feel that I was expecting too much, as I did feel quite let down. Obviously it's all personal opionin, but we went on 2 All Inclusive Holidays last year and I felt these were of a much higher standard than Aliathon (we paid more this year too).
First of all, the flights were rubbish... Thompson obviously cutting back, no TV's or entertainment on a 5 hour flight, very boring and the kids were very bored. On arrival at the resort, the check in was quick and a golf buggy took us and the luggage to our room. As we arrived too late for the evening meal there had been some sandwiches and crackers left in our fridge, along with water which was a nice touch. We paid extra for a deluxe room in the Fishing village. This was ample, clean and good size. Nice big balcony with sunbeds on. The DVD player came in very handy, the only niggle I had was that our 3 year old was expected to sleep on the campbed inthe living area, next to the door out to the 1st floor balcony and near the Front Door. Not sure why doors abroad can't have a chain or something else on to secure the door. She ended up sleeping in the Bedroom with me and poor Hubby slept on the campbed all week. Not the most ideal arrangement. We spoke to people who hadn't paid extra and were in the Agean village, and their room was bigger and had everything the Deluxe had, so not sure it's worth paying the extra for.
The Kids pool was fab.... the best thing about the place and by far the busiest pool (and we went out of school holiday season and couldn't get a sunbed most days) the water could do with cleaning more often, it looks cloudy quite a lot of the time. Main pool was dissapointing, very shallow and very high sides so you can only get in one way. it was closed a couple of days whilst we were there as kids had pooed in the pool. On our last day we visited another pool behind reception which was small but nice and a lot quieter.
Food was ok.. i've had much better last year. They have a roast on each night which is good, but not much variety, out of 7 nights it was Beef 3 times and Pork 4 times. Food was sometimes very odd... strange combinations of things. Also there was no kids buffet as advertised. Food was always warm though, never had any problems with that. All drinnks in restaurant are self service which was good. However there's nobody finding you a table when you enter, it's just a free for all.
We got the Bus into Paphos Harbour which is easy to do and it was a lovely place. Nice for a change of scenery. There is a waterpark down the road but we didn't go as we heard it wasn't very safe? It was also quite small but very expensive.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful..... i didn't experience the same from the First Choice staff though.
Now onto the thing that really lets this place down... (but i've since found out all Holiday Villages have the same)..... the Entertainment!!
After 2 holidays last year of fab Mini Discos and good Adult shows, this was a total let down. It is pretty awful. There is NO Kids min disco... our 3 year old was so upset. They have an awful thing for kids called i 5 Live. It's more games which are geared for older kids, our daughter desperatly wanted to take part in some things but was too small. They do a couple of songs but these change every night, so they don't get chance to learn the dances. then the i 5 live song which is done every night. Once this finishes it is announced it's "Adult Time" and all the kids are ordered to sit down and not run around! I couldn't believe it when I heard this first.. it's a family resort!! We were shocked they were treating the kids in this way. Our little one wanted to run around and do dancing but wasn't allowed. They get told off if they go on the dance floor after that. During the kids show, they even tell the kids there's a monster who lives in the stage who will eat their fingers if they touch the stage, and even eat their head!! Just the thing to give the kids nightmares...
Adult entertainment is the same 4 people every night, singing different songs. No scenery or anything, no proper shows as i've had before. It's a bit like Karoke. It's also very loud, but the room doesn't help, it's just a big bunker really. If there had been decent entertainment on and they weren't so against the kids this place would have got 5 stars.
Since hearing all Holiday Villages have the same entertainment, I will not be looking to visit a holiday village again.
Oh... the bars only give out drinks in the smallest plastic cups... less than half a pint, so if you want a decent drink you need to get about 3 or 4 at once. There was a notice up saying you could only get 2 drinks at a time to reduce queues, not ideal if you're a family of 4!
There was a bit of bird poo about too, especially on the fabric sunloungers, they needed cleaning more often.
Late Checkout was 50Euros, but we didn't bother with this. The courtesy showers by reception were fine and they supplied towels/soap etc... this was a nice touch.
The toilets by the kids splash pool got quite dirty and very wet during the day, they needed cleaning throughout the day really. Also the toilets in the Entertainment area were too small (only 2 ladies loos) and they got very dirty as the night went on.
This place could be a lot better without much effort... I was dissapointed. But again, that's because i'm comparing it to a much nice place I visited last year. I will not plug it on here, but message me if you want to know where it is.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday with my husband and our 3 children aged 10, 3 and 10 weeks and we had the most fantastic time. On arrival at the accommodation we had a warn friendly welcome from the reception, and throughout our stay where extremely helpful nothing was ever to much bother.

Our apartment was based in the older part of the complex but the apartment was spacious and comfortable the kitchen was well equipped although as we were on an all-inclusive basis we did not use this. Both the bedroom and the living area was air conditioned, throughout our stay the apartment was cleaned on a daily basis with regular towel and linen changes.

The whole complex was kept exceptionally clean and tidy and the staff work tirelessly all hours of the day to keep it this way.

The food we received on the all-inclusive basis was fantastic a wonderful choice every day and all food clearly labeled. On previous holidays we have always eaten out even being all-inclusive but we had no need. Even my fussy 3yr old managed to eat something everyday so that made life a lot easier.

The entertainment programme at the holiday village has something for everyone of all ages, although my children did not take part in much of the kids clubs(just to happy round the pool) they did take part in the football academy and swimming academy and these where priced reasonably.

The worst part of our holiday was the fact that we had to come home, we will defiantly return the the Aliathon and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If your looking to book a holiday for you and young ones, this is the place. The pools and play areas are superb for all ages. The staff are absolutely fantastic in every department. The food is good and quite varied for a large scale buffet set up.

My wife and I spent a week from June 17th with our 18 month old son. We had a deluxe room in the fishing village which was comfortable but would be improved with a double bed rather than two singles pushed together. There is a dvd player which is great for the little ones movies. We used the creche facilities which were very well staffed. My wife enjoyed several visits to the spa, they offer half price deals which are very good value compared to regular hotel spas.

There is a beach opposite the hotel but younfeel like your trespassing on the other hotels patch! The pools have everything you need! The bus stops right outside and its easy to travel about the area for 3euros a day.

The only moan we had was that too many idiots act like Germans and put towels on the loungers whilst the sparrows still farting. They then never use the loungers for large parts of the day, leaving parents with little ones frustrated and searching for a seat or parasol for their families. It would be good if these people could be identified and made to do evening entertainment sketches for he rest

We would be happy to return to the Aliathon, but maybe the new holiday village in the baleriacs will be next years choice, simply because its half the flight time.


Many thanks to all the staff at the hotel and the first choice team, you gave us a great week away.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank sunbed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are planning on having a wedding here, please ask about the day pass charges for non resident guests. My neice (who was married here) was told non resident guests would have to pay for a half day pass to come to the wedding. Adults 35 euros, children 15 euros. This was even though she had paid for the meal. When we arrived we were informed that they dont do half day passes and full day passes would have to be paid for. 55 euros per adult and 30 euros per child.

On the other hand we joined family for a meal in the Greek Restaurant and they only charged us 16 euros each for a three course meal plus drink!!! That was a bargain.

No complaints about the wedding though, she had a lovely day, staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Well all I can say is FANTASTIC....we arrived back in the UK on the 20th June after spending an amazing week at the Aliathon Holiday Village.Food was brilliant, cleanliness was exceptional, staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for anyone.This was our first family holiday abroad with our children aged 18 years, 5 years and 7 months and although we were worried about the baby being so young everything ran smoothly. We paid for a baby pack through First Choice which had everything we needed for the little one from a buggy ( although we had our own), changing mat, bottle warmer, high chair, the list is endless.We will be returning very soon as we had such a wonderful time.........can I make one comment which isnt against the Aliathon...if you have a young baby...being bottle fed please make sure you take enough baby milk with you as we ran out during the week and the supermarket on site doesn't have our normal baby milk so I ended up having to go to Paphos Harbour to a bigger supermarket to get something similar and also take swimming nappies....apart from that this is one holiday you will certainly enjoy and want to return

Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room as I noticed the lovely friendly locally cat ( who is so lovable) enj...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanorjones1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $77 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing