We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I went”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tombs of the Kings

Tombs of the Kings
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.74*
and up
City Sightseeing Paphos Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #10 of 111 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Glad I went”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having missed the tombs last time I was in Cyprus I made sure I went this time. Amazing how way back then they cut them out of the rock with the tools available, and so many of them. There are only two that are really worth the effort of the long walk in the heat. It was very quiet as I was walking round, after all it is or was a cemetery, I looked round me and what did I see, a big sign sticking up in the air for a KFC drive through...sums it up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janieChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,819
    1,981
    977
    220
    82
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hot hot hot”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The site is obviously excavated tombs. you need to take plenty of water and be prepared to climb through rock an rubblle. so not good for people with walking diffulties.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hot and arid”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I wish I could have explored it more but the heat was around 40 degrees and seriously, I thought we might expire here! It's like going back in time, lots of underground tombs and caves but very dry, very barren and at the time we went (2pm in August) roastingly hot and almost empty (everyone else knew better). My main memory is the deafening sounds of crickets, the dazzling sun, and how vast the place is. Really interesting though, but weird as you leave to see a KFC sign hovering over the tops of the tombs... you really are that close to civilisation.... very cheap to go in, just make sure you go at the end of the day when the heat has lessened.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Massive site - take water”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Amazing what they could do in those days with limited mechanical tools. Big rooms and tombs cut out of the solid rock for the kings who lived there in the past.
Well worth the €1.70 admission fee. 20 mins walk from Kato Paphos bus station. Not to be missed. No shop so take refreshments.. It's well fenced and if necessary you can exit this site and Paphos Archeological site from any number of turnstile gates around the perimeter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Culture”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Cheap at 1 euro 60 to enter the site. Work in progress but interesting to see and appreciate the history of the tombs

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stellalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tombs of the Kings also viewed

 

Been to Tombs of the Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing