We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I am so much in agreement with the previous reviewer from South Yorkshire. This hotel is a very special place, it just needs a bit of fine-tuning. The staff are 99% fantastic, efficient and friendly. The rooms are great with ample storage space - we had a beautiful suite with 2 bathrooms (1 jacussi) overlooking the sea.
Everything we wanted was in the hotel apart from a really good authentic restaurant. If only they would realize that some people love real Cypriot food - simple and beautifully cooked on hot plates
and certainly not frozen fish!! Also, I agree that a good Italian section in a cozy atmosphere would be a great idea. A lot of people were taxi-ing or getting the bus to Trattoria La Vigna - a lovely restaurant 5 km. away so perhaps lessons could be learned.
Another thing I agree with is the piped music - I will willingly send some free CD's to the hotel as I thought I'd go mad if the same one was played yet again for 20 consecututive times!! Please do put be put off by this review - the hotel is absolutely fantastic- we would definitely return especially if the restaurant changes it's attitude to food.
Very special thanks to Irene, reservations manager, who is utterly charming and ultra-efficient.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank KatieEnglandU.K.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 859 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

Our party of 4 visited the Thalassa the last week in Sept and first week in Oct. (08) A lovely, quiet hotel with execeptionally friendly staff. The housekeeping was very good with clean sheets everyday and clean towels twice a day. The pool service was superb (thank you Anton) He was so attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him. We also found Mario and Dorata lovely people who couldn't do enough for you. Our criticism was the dining room. We were on bed and breakfast and would have considered flexible dining but this wasn't offered. We didn't think the menu was comprehensive enough and would have struggled had we eaten there for the full 14 nights. We feel the hotel would benefit by downsizing the restaurant and may be having a smaller more intimate one (offering Italian cuisine)! It needs more atmosphere and although we were fine as there were 4 of us, I don't think it would have been quite the same for a couple on their own. Breakfast was fine and the girls serving were very nice. A very warm welcome in Reception and they were happy to book taxi's/restaurants for us outside of the hotel. We dined two evenings in the sister hotel next door and the setting was much smaller and more initimate. We wouldn't have wanted to stay there but the various dining options were encouraging. We did go back to dine at the Gabor in Paphos which was still as good as 5 years ago but you did have a 50€ taxi fare for the return trip. Another small criticisim was the music piped through the system, absolutely dreadful with only 6 CD's which became almost unberable (heaven knows how the staff coped - they must just switched off). Overall though a lovely hotel, just what we like but I do believe they are losing money by not concentrating on the dining arrangements in the Ambrosia. A lot of money was spent outside of the hotel that could have been spent inside! Recommend Gabor in Paphos, La Vigna in Coral Bay and Olivetto opposite Venus Beach hotel (fabulous).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We chose the Thalassa as a real getaway, not cheap, but wanted to be luxurious, quiet and romantic, away from the main resort - and boy did we get what we wanted!
Yes, the Thalassa is expensive, but boy do you get complete relaxation and comfort and discretion - oh yes!
Lovely small hotel, lovely rooms with lots of room to hang your stuff, chill out and beautiful views in the sunrise rooms across Coral Bay - fantastic! Believe it or not we were kindly upgraded to a larger suite, but opted to stay in our full front seaview as it was so gorgeous a view all day!
Small and intimate spa, with a good gym, not many machines, but not busy, so it didn't matter! Massages are expensive and not perhaps the best we've had, but still nice!
We didn't eat at the Hotel, as at night it is like a ghost town- probably due to the cost of everything, however, we liked that as you can go into Coral Bay (about a 15 minute walk) and there are plenty of casual restaurants (nothing classy though - you have to go into Paphos for that!) and get back to the Hotel and sleep soundly as there's nothing going on!
If you want a seriously relaxing break, away from it all, this is the place - the only time it got really busy, was the weekend, when locals come to stay for a romantic getaway - says it all!
You get fruit cocktails at around 11:30 a.m, cold towels brought round at about 1p.m. - LOVELY! we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks (11-24th Aug 08) at the Thalassa hotel. It's a lovely place, very relaxed and tranquil.

The staff and service was super..

Regarding the food.. some people have suggested that the food in the evenings at the hotel wasn't great.. and we nearly cancelled our half board basis.. however we decided to stick with it and YES the menu was the same each night.. but the quality was excellent, well presented and very nice indeed.

Breakfast was a continental spread with cheeses fruit pastries along with the usual pancakes, bacon, eggs, cereals etc.

Lunch from the beach bar was great..the portions where huge so we just ordered one between 2..otherwise it was quite difficult to fit in your evening meal!

Coral Bay has a number of bars and restaurants. Approx 20 min walk into town from the hotel or 7 euro's in a taxi or the bus which stops just outside of the hotel.

If you like chinese, then "Chloe's" which is situated close to the "tomb of the kings" was lovely..(bus or taxi).

The pool attendants Anton and Rowland were wonderful, laying out towels on your lounger and the cold towels provided (be it only once a day) were a welcome break from the heat.

The Spa was was quite expensive but fabulous.

Overall I would say this hotel was the most relaxed hotel we've stayed in. Totally chilled out and if you want a little luxury then this is the place for you

Jill & Jason - Chorley Lancs

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jill_muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from Thalassa and although we had a great time there we thought it was more a four star hotel with 5 star service. The staff were excellent and couldnt do enough for us and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
We would recommed bed and breakfast only as the food at the hotel is not great and we found a great restaurant in coral bay called Andrias which is only a short walk away. The beach bar at the hotel did great lunches-huge portions for reasonable prices.
We stayed in a superior suite and found it to be plenty big enough and very clean. Housekeeping did a great job of tidying up for us and turned down our bed each evening oh and the beds were massive! And you get a bathroom each!
We found that there wasnt much of an atmostphere at the hotel and we were one of the youngest there-We are 26 and 30 years old. I wouldnt recommend this holiday for young people looking for a fun exciting time-its more suitable if you just want to get away from it all and really relax. Drinks were really expensive at the hotel and our bill at the end of the 10 days was huge!!
Overall we had a good experience

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gymbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

It was the first time visit in Cyprus for both my husband and me.
I have specially booked this trip to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. Some friends who are from Cyprus have recommended us to stay at Thalassa Boutique Hotel and Spa which is located in the area of Coral Bay, it was an excellent recommendation from them. We had such a great time staying there. This hotel is most suitable for couples who need to have a relaxing break.

We chose this hotel also because of the spa treatments that they can provided to the guests, we had some spa treatments at the spa that is located in the 2nd floor of the hotel, this spa is in excellent standard and all sort of treatments that you can pre-book. We really love our room, the room was bright, clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the seaside, we could hear the waves during the night which was quite romantic.

Since it was my husband's birthday, the hotel has given us a complimentary sparkling wine delivered to our room. Everything was almost perfect. The buffet breakfast was delicious with plenty of fresh fruits, cheese, cold and hot food.

The hotel is located just 25 minutes away by bus to the harbour where you can find a lot of restaurants, the bus stop takes you all the way. The Paphos airport is also less than 30 minutes away and it costs about 50 euros which is reasonable.

The staff were very helpful and very attentive, they gave us good advice to go around, suggested where to eat and what to do. We would definitely want to go back in the nearest future.

W Cheung

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

A very average property for a high price. Dont really have a bad thing to say, however this is not the place for a twenty-something couple... it's too quiet, no vibe, and miles away from paphos town... Rooms are very average with ikea-standard furniture. Positives are the food, Korres toiletries the bathroom and the spectacular views! A/C in our room did not work, asked for it to be fixed TWICE and it wasnt... in the end we just gave up! All staff are very polite, however, the hotel just isnt up to par with other hotels in the Paphos area. Look around before booking your hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaaNicosia_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
7.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.1 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,212 reviews
9.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
7.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay

Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62422, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#8 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#41 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $154 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay . Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. Accommodation: All rooms and suites are beautifully designed, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing