We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but comfortable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eleni Holiday Village
Ranked #16 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from a ten day trip to the Eleni Holiday Village which was booked only a few weeks previously as a last (reasonably cheap) holiday of the year and did not expect too much from the place having read a number of reviews.
Whilst I can understand some of the negative comments regarding looking tired (fridge handle missing in our room, flaking paint here and there, cracked glass in the foyer doors, and a few broken umbrella's etc), overall the place was spotless and the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable without being of a high standard. (the place does not claim to be anything more than a three star, and I would say this is about right). I would imagine that most of the signs of neglect are down to it being almost the end of the season with no doubt maintenance to to take place in the off season.
This review is starting to sound a little negative and that would not be fair really because the hotel is a pleasant little place, well run, and a very good location for those who wish to go out sightseeing, with a bus stop just outside and a taxi office just up the road.
The staff are very friendly, efficient and work hard to meet every need and request.
The comments regarding the food are pretty much spot on, in the main restaurant was at best average and at times mediocre with limited choices every visit. The better option was the pool bar where food was prepared freshly to order and whilst a limited menu, was our preferred option after a few days.
Due the size of the place all entertainment takes place in the bar area, so you have little choice but to sit through the mini disco and bingo every night before the entertainment starts but the staff do their best to make this short and not too boring.
All in all I can see why people come back to this place (one couple there visit several times a year!) as it is pleasant, almost cosy, and does what it claims to do.
The majority of the guests seem to be Russian and sadly some of their drunken boorish behaviour could occasionally create an awkward atmosphere, and they all seemed to have left what manners they had back in Mother Russia, with staff at times having to contend with being bellowed at incessantly at times.
All in all, a pleasant stay but would not go back.

Room Tip: Pool or sea views would be a better choice as the view from the outward facing side blocks is not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funnello13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 724 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked the holiday about 3 weeks before our stay. We looked at trip advisor for reviews and decided the good reviews outweight the bad and you know what its like, there are always some people that whinge.

However we found that the overall feel of this hotel was tired and in needs some updating. It is creative to describe this hotel as 4 star.

Our room was huge, we paid extra for the sea view and had a two bedroom room on the ground floor. The furniture was dark wood and blue walls that made the rooms drab and old fashioned. We did have ants in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had a brilliant view of the sunset each night. The room was clean.

Bar staff were great, worked very hard and were always very pleasant.

Food was poor quality and lacked variety. We found the pool bar best for snacks, however we found a blob of mud on the cucumber garnish, which made us cautious regarding the hygienic preparation of the food.

The pool area was nice and we always managed to get a sunbed, however the scum on the tiles around the deep end was obvious, some people had even scratched their initials in the dirty marks.

We are realists and aren't whingers , but I don't understand why people would return to this hotel, even though we booked as a late deal it wasn't value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Farmercy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

my wife and i have been here twice which we dont normally do, but we were so pleased we are thinking of returning again . the location is stunning , the food was fantastic,and i know everybody says it but the staff where very friendly and always smiling.we like to do our own thing and sit quietly in the background which is exactly what happened,they leave you alone to do what ever you like.we went on a trip one day and got talking to a local so much that we got off the bus miles from eleni. After a short walk we asked directions at a locals house.they made us drinks , and snacks and drove us back to the hotel.Need i say more.you will enjoy it here.

Room Tip: try to book seaview, its stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous week at Eleni exactly a year after first going there and it was as good as we remembered it. Travelled with my husband and 18 year old son who came with us to do his Advanced Diving Qualification with Cy Dive. So many thank you's to say to all the staff in all departments of the hotel: Stavros and his team in the restaurant, the management and reception team, Chris and his team in the main bar, all the staff in the pool bar and all the cleaners who battled with the debris of assorted dive gear in our room - you were all fantastic and made us all feel SO welcome! Many happy hours in the sea below the hotel, many happy hours on the grass area by the pool bar, and many happy Ouzo specials and assorted other cocktails in the bar in the evening!! For those of you who haven't been or have read some of the bad reviews please try it - it's so friendly we felt at home the minute we arrived the first time. For us to return somewhere is really unusual so that in itself is a testament to Eleni. Ok, it's NOT perfect but it beats many other all inclusive hotels we've been to into a cocked hat! For us the location away from the 'bright lights' isn't a problem - buses and taxis are easy, quick and cheap and we spent time in both Coral Bay and Paphos and were happy to return to the hotel for the evenings.
Personally we don't want or need much entertainment in the evening, we want to make the most of being a family together in comfortable and friendly surroundings and that is exactly what we found at Eleni.
All that remains to say is - here's to our next visit!

Room Tip: Any pool or sea view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have just returned from The Eleni Holiday Village in Paphos after enjoying a ten day stay although only rated a three star, it was a vast improvement on the four star plus we stayed at last year in Paphos. The food which is critiqued on here fairly often was extremely good with a wide choice of hot or cold dishes well prepared and presented in an efficient organised dining room. Guests piled high their plates high and returned them empty. The environment and rooms were clean tidy and more than adequate. The entertainment was enjoyed by many. the bar staff ensured there was no queues by quick pleasant service. Staff were friendly helpful and hardworking in phenomenal heat.
Overall a well managed hotel providing a great platform to have an enjoyable holiday and ensuring guests were centre stage.

Room Tip: studios are large spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delthel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Returned home on Wednesday after a 14 night stay and missing it already. We stayed at the Eleni last year and could not wait to return. The staff are fantastic and deserve a lot of praise for their great service and hard work, from the moment you arrive they are always smiling and nothing is too much trouble. I would like to say a big THANK YOU to Stavros who opened the restaurant a little earlier so we could have lunch before our coach came to pick us up on our final day, no matter how busy the restaurant was he would always have time for a chat. Food was excellent with lots of variety. Claudiu the apple pie got a big thumbs up. Hectors Bar down by the pool served great snacks and thanks Adam for the best Pina Coladas always served with a smile. The rooms were spacious and clean and the aircon was a god send, the cleaners work hard and do a fantastic job and always had a smile for you. Zina kept us happy with water volleyball, aqua aerobics, water polo and darts. The grounds are lovely and well kept and with plenty of sunbeds around the gorgerous pools. A ten minute walk along the coast past the Laura Beach Hotel takes you to a lovely sandy beach or you can take the bus to Coral Bay for just 1.5 euros. The hotel has glorious views over the sea and watching the sunset is something you should not miss. The entertainment at night varied from The Comedy Show, Singers and The Fire Show so something for everyone to enjoy and not forgetting Chris and the friendly bar staff.
Thanks to everyone at the Eleni we couldn’t of wished for a better holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had my 2weeks summer holiday at the eleni. The only great thing about the place was the sunsets simply stunning. I could pick so many faults with the place, here is just a few. The food was just about ok to start but after 2 or 3 days it was really getting us down, after I had moldy bread it made things worse we couldn't eat in again after that. The pool area was quite nice tho getting a lounger was a challenge. The entertainment in the day was also ok at night it got 10 times worse. Although karaoke on a Thursday was quite good, two guys called Gavin and Mark got up who were fantastic, I said to my husband they should be on the x factor. Overall our holiday was ok nothing to do with eleni's efforts. We had ants in our room, poo in the pool on several occasions and was in the middle of nowhere. I would never come back to the eleni and would think twice about returning to Cyprus.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.8 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#45 of 85 in Paphos
1,270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Akteon Holiday Village
Akteon Holiday Village
#11 of 87 in Paphos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleni Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni Holiday Village

Address: Ayiou Georgiou 5 | Chloraka, Paphos 8106, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Price Range: $52 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleni Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eleni Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni Holiday Village Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing