We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, friendly people but food selection and all inclusive value terrible”
Review of Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Venus Beach Hotel
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pool, friendly people but food selection and all inclusive value terrible”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013. Parts of the hotel are dated but our room on the 4th floor nice, clean and comfortable apart from air con seeming not to work, had to leave our balcony doors open at night to be comfortable.
Outdoor pool lovely, most of the staff were friendly enough.
Not a five star as advertised more a three star.
The thing that really let this hotel down was the food. Breakfast was buffet type but the bacon, sausages I found to be in edible and if you just wanted scrambled egg, beans and toast you were fine.
We stayed here on an all inclusive basis but wish we hadn't. The quality of lunch and evening meals were good, nicely cooked etc but the choice is appalling.
For lunch and evening meals we only had a choice of 2 starters which was usually fish and some kind of pasta and two types of main course which was either chicken or pork.
There was no child's menu whatsoever so young children had to eat the "adults" menu which my son struggled with most nights as it was filled with spices, oils etc and were not suitable for most childrens tastes.
The desserts which were buffet style tended to be the same every night, some kind of cake, creme brulee, jelly or apples and oranges.
There wasn't a choice at all for the snacks menu for all inclusive guests, it was cold cheese and ham sandwiches (2 small triangles each) and a small slice of fruitcake or nothing.
The drinks menu for all inclusive guests was quite small.
The one time we did order room service, we ordered burgers as we were still quite peckish after dinner.. We were waiting an hour and when we phoned to see where the food was, we were told it had been sent to the wrong room even though we clearly stated our room number, it arrived about 10 mins after our 2nd call and had been reheated in the microwave so the bun was hard, the burger around the edges was hard, coleslaw warm and chips cold!

If I stayed here again, I would use the hotel and facilities here as a base and go out for meals as I felt the choice of foods here for all inclusive guests really let the hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    219
    225
    131
    115
See reviews for
243
376
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautiful hotel! A lovely swimming pool! Very clean, amazing food, a lot of variety! Very local, can walk to shops and restaurants. Very friendly staff! We went with family and would highly recommend to anyone! Rooms are lovely size!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Venus Beach Hotel and we have faced an awful experience. The hotel certainly does not worth the five starts; it should be a three star hotel. The rooms were far away from the pictures of the official website of the hotel, as the pictures showed only the superior rooms. The breakfast was awful and the services provided were not those of a five star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank popopo439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Empa, Paphos, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good food, very clean, and very friendly staff.
Would go back again, easy to travel to harbour, and a very good bus service right outside hotel.
Nice swimming pool, in all we had a really good holiday.
Would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Very spaciouse rooms and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BJW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have been staying in the Venus Beach Hotel for the past 7 years in September, and have never been dissappointed.
The Staff are always friendly and polite especially Tasos and co at reception.
The rooms are more than adequate for you needs if you are like us out everyday enjoying the Cyprus villages and tavernas.
The hotel is easy accessable for Paphos town or Coral Bay with bus stops right outside hotel plus plenty of taxis driving by.
There is a small private beach which can be a bit rough and care needs to be taken when swimming and along as you do this, it is fine.
There is a large area for sunbeds and you do not have to get up silly hours to reserve a bed.
The bar at night is good with good waiter service and nice comfortable chairs.
The hotel is not 5 star but for location, comfort of rooms and service it is nearly there.And that is why we always return

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

supported 2 people with learning dificultys here in oct 2011 they really enjoyed it the staff here was so good throughout the holiday very helpful the only slight downfall was the food other than that it was good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshirelad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tracey from Essex - we stayed for 10days from 5th November 2012 assuming the 5star rating was correct. Room was average dated but adequate although no teamaking facilities.Outside pool was the best feature of the hotel: after that we are struggling for anything good to say.Management and Staff are not customer focussed- they closed the poolbar even though weather good ( apart from 2 days)and guests including us wanted to sunbathe by the pool. We were expected to walk back into the hotel and up stairs to the bar 2 floors above and then take drinks back to the poolside. In the bar, staff were reluctant to serve All inclusive guests- range of drinks available was poor limited to a small menu and you had to sign for every drink even if it was a machine coffee which was powdery and poor quality. All inclusive was supposed to include snacks- there were none availiable. No bottled water available either unless you bought it from the shop. Think this sounds bad- well it gets worse. The evening restaurant was terrible. It reminded us of the very worst hospital food with a shocking lack of care of service. The hotel offered themed nights but in reality the choice was minimal- beef stew or bits of chicken or boil in the bag type white fish all with frozen vegetables and extremely limited salad- often no lettuce or similar. There was very limited fresh fruit at any meal just apples and oranges- I saw bananas just once. We had 2 nights of raw red chicken and undercooked pink fish, no vegetarian option we complained were ignored by the restaurant management and then chose to eat out even though we were All inc. To further add to the problem the hotel has a cat issue. There are at least 6 cats which live right outside the restaurant in the hotel grounds. There was a constant issue with cats coming in the hotel roaming round the food counters, jumping on tables and one even messed on earth in a planter. The staff attitude to this was mixed- from some shooing them away to others ignoring them and then feeding them which just encouraged them further. A further complaint to the hotel management was met with dressing gowns and a bottle of wine arriving in our bedroom- they completely missed the point that what we wanted was just what we had paid for- a reasonable selection of meals that were edible and a servicefrom the restaurant and bar to All inc guests that was less than hostile- sadly that was not on offer. My final word of warning is to endorse other comments about the beach. It is a red flag beach with riptides. The hotel had put up bouys in the weeks before we arrived but the stories shared by one member of staff about the deaths that had happened this summer and in previous months is frightening and alarming that the holiday brochures and hotel website do not adequately make this clear. I wouldnt go back not even if some one offered me a free stay not a chance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#39 of 86 in Paphos
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#38 of 86 in Paphos
499 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#64 of 86 in Paphos
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#63 of 86 in Paphos
1,647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
0.8 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach Hotel

Property: Venus Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 62309, Paphos 08063, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#29 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Venus Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Beach
Venus Beach Hotel Paphos
Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus
Venus Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing