We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from an amazing week's stay at the King Jason Hotel. We stayed in a self-catering apartment which was clean, spacious and had good cooking facilities.

When we arrived in room we had a welcome gift of turkish delights and when leaving, we were given a jar of cypriot honey (nice little touches.) The pool area was lovely. Clean pool, plenty of beds and lots of umbrellas. Also it had an upper tier sun terrace for those who wanted a bit more privacy. There wasn't many children screaming and running around, although the summer holiday haven't started yet. The outside lounge area was lovely also, with comfortable relaxing chairs (see pics) and also tables and chairs to eat at.

On our last night we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, as we were leaving quite early in the evening. This made me regret the fact that we hadn't gone all inclusive or even half board!! The food was amazing!! Lots of choice and all of it delicious.

The hotel location is quite far from the harbour & bar street (about 15 minute walk), but if you like a nice walk in the evening then this hotel would be ideal.

I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and family and we are hoping to go back soon.

Thank you Andreas and all the staff at the King Jason.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby82Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,131 - 3,137 of 3,279 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

Read many of the TA reviews noting both the good / bad points before travelling to KJ on 10 June, 2009.
Our opinions re the complex in general:
Cats - there were always several lurking around but never gave any cause for concern.
Rooms - we had a one bed appt (sleeps 4). It was clean and well equipped. Only negative - I would not like to stay in this appt with 4 adults - storage space for clothing is limited. I'd also opt for an appt above the ground floor if you like to sit out on your balcony - the majority on the ground floor appear to be in permanent shade and of course, in full view of all passing guests.
Plenty of sunbeds available (good quality) however, we still encountered the usual clowns who thought that they were 'special' and had to 'reserve' their sunbeds as daybreak approached - both comical and pathetic.
Hotel staff - brilliant - friendly and helpful at all times - the manager, desk staff, bar staff and cleaners.
The area:
We thought KJ was ideally situated. Simply turn left out of the hotel, stay on the well lit road for approx. 300 metres and turn left at the fish restaurant to hit the main road after approx. 100 metres. Turn right and follow the road onto 'the strip' for copious numbers of bars and restaurants. Alternatively, as you walk along the main road you will see signs to the left at the traffic lights pointing to the harbour / tourist area and more bars / restaurants. It takes approx. 15 - 20 minutes from KJ to both areas.
Currently, the best priced dining out options appear to be the fixed menus ie. 3 courses for say 14 euros. We paid on average between 11 and 18 euros. Cheapest pint we found was 1.50 eu, tho' restaurants typically charged between 2:50 and 4:00.
We preferred to eat local dishes and our top 3 tavernas were Aphrodites and Zorbas on the strip and Romeos on the way from KJ to the main road.
In summary, no real complaints about the complex or the area. The weather was absolutely fantastic for the 7 days we were there. I would certainly return to KJ if I wanted to re-visit Paphos.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eucalyptus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

wat can i say from the moment we got to the hotel i coud not bolive the way we were treatid it was fantastic we arrived at around 1230 am wen we got ther wer wer greatid at resepshion by a very helpfull imploye who had a member off staff take r cases to r room wen we got to r room he showd us in and showed us wer every switch and room was he then tock us to the fridge wer they had left us a cold meat and chess saled wich was so clean and fresh . in the morning wen we woke we had a good noes round and the the appartments wer breath takeing clean and very modern . the pool area was spachusclean and very romantic it had the perfect touch the indoor pool and gym sauna and steam room wer great all the staff wer so helpfull and very afishant and andreas the manager cant do anoth 4 every one very clean and friendly hotel will defantly go back food is great half board opshion well werth the money ther r a few cats but they dont intavear with any one great holiday huge thanks to andreas and all his staff for a fantastick holiday mr dowling room 56 (fantastick weeding vennue as its uch a romantic seating ther wer many weedings during r stay most off wich wer staying at the king jason great venue)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Just got back from our fifth visit to KJ and, as usual, everything was perfect. We are already in the process of booking again for next year. it is an ideal base to explore both the harbour/tourist areas as well as old town and King of the Tombs Road areas.
Just one small piece of advice, to get to the main tourist area, turn left out of front door and then immediately left down a path (deserted road) down to the main road. Cross on Pelican crossing and then go to the right of the buildings opposite and then keep heading in that direction. You should be there is around 10 mins. We regularly see people walking around the blocks of the residential area, completely lost.
Back at the KJ, Andreas runs complimentary cocktail/wine tasting evening alternatively on Fridays from 18:30 to 19:30 - I would recommend these an opportunity to meet him and other guests for a nice chat. Also, the offer of "buy a cup of tea and help yourself to home made cakes" on Sunday and Thursday afternoons should not be missed - tons of scrummy cakes just waiting to be eaten.
The next year will drag all too slowly...........

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baggy_Boy_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the King Jason we were made very welcome. We were greated by the Manager, Andreas and one of his staff, given a glass of juice and our cases were taken to our room.

We were staying on a half board basis so we ate all our evening meals in the hotel. The food was great - plenty of choice and they were constantly checking that they hadn't run out of any of the dishes and if necessary they would cook more. There was a good choice. For starters they had soup and/or salad dishes, a choice of several main courses and a wonderful selection of desserts plus cheese and biscuits and sherry to have with your dessert.

I loved the layout of the hotel downstairs; the reception and lounge area was spacious with plenty of armchairs and sofas to relax in or watch TV. The restaurant was well laid out, the bar area was nice and there was a lovely external seating area with cosy conservatory furniture and some tables where you could have lunch or a drink etc. Further along was the pool area which was very clean and quite self contained which made it ideal for families with young children. There was a small pool for toddlers next to the main pool, plenty of very cosy sun loungers and lots of umbrellas. There was also a play area beyond the pool.

Our room was spacious and included a TV and a well equipped kitchen. Although we weren't self catering it was handy being able to make our own lunch on the days that we spent at the hotel and they had a Mini Market which was useful if you were self catering; they also sold English newspapers, magazines, books, pool toys etc.

We travelled with teenagers; a 16 year old son and 13 year old daughter and there were other teenagers at the King Jason; our son liked to socialise in the evening and the hotel was lit up outside by the bar and pool area - it was very pretty. He also like the hotel gym and our daughter used the indoor pool.

Although the King Jason is in a residential area, it is still within walking distance of the harbour, shops, restaurants etc. It was nice to walk to the harbour in the evening and we even walked to the Tombs of the Kings which was an interesting morning out.

The Manager, Andreas and all his staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They were very attentive in the restaurant as well.

We had a very enjoyable holiday in Cyprus as there is so much to see and do and I decided to write a review as I found it so helpful when we were booking our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

First tip for anyone visiting these apartments if you are making your own way there is the directions! We only had the street name and thought it wouldn't be a problem finding it, boy were we wrong! After an hour spent going round in circles and down side streets in Paphos we eventually had to phone for directions. To save anyone else having the same problem:
There is a dual carriageway type road that runs through Kato Paphos. It starts at a roundabout at one end and then goes right through the town out the other side and up towards the Tomb of The Kings. Get onto this dual carriageway. It runs past a large Greek church with traffic lights crossroads outside. With the church on your left turn right at those traffic lights. Then take the first road on the right. There is a sign to say you can't turn right from that direction but just ignore it (everyone else does!) and turn right, or if you have someone right behind just go further up the road and turn around so you can turn left into the road. The apartments are then just along that road on the right. There is parking for about 6-7 cars but there is a bit of land opposite which is fine to park on or on the pavement on the road. I would imagine that the parking would be a bit of a problem in the height of summer for all the rental cars.

We had a studio apartment but somehow missed out on the free bottle of brandy mentioned in the other reviews! lol but we did get a box of cyprus delights (like turkish delight). Apartment was nice with a wooden floor and had sunbeds on the balcony which was a nice extra. We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a couple of drinks at the bar. The drinks range from about 3 euros to 6 euros, which otherwise would be fine but with the crappy exchange rate at the moment it can get expensive.

There was a bar on the walk down the road towards the harbour which was called the Friends Bar, they didn't cocktails on offer for 2.10 euros and they were proper cocktails too. Try the brandy alexander - lovely! The best place we ate was the Gourmet Taverna on the way to the harbour. Very very nice food, although a bit expensive (crappy exchange rate to blame again!) We had a three course meal with a bottle of wine (28 euros!) for 89 euros. This is somewhere to go for that one off special meal on your holiday. Like others mentioned there were a lot of places where you could get a three course set menu for about 12 euros but this wasn't really an option with my friend being a vegetarian. Other places were about 30 euros for two courses and drinks.

Weather was hot whilst we were there ranged from about 22 degrees to 26 degrees which doesn't sound hot but easily needed 15 -20 SPF suncream and even then we burnt on a couple of days.

The indoor pool was nice but needed a bit of a clean with a bit of dirt on the tie grouting. We didn't use the outdoor pool but it looked very nice with plenty of nice cushioned sunbeds.

We were welcomed with orange juice on arrival which was nice but you felt rushed as the porter was waiting by to take your luggage to your room whilst you drank it, but it was a welcome refreshment!

The first morning we woke up with no water and electricity. Luckily we had boiled the kettle the night before for a cuppa and had just enough water left in it to brush our teeth and splash a bit of water on our face! Turns out there was a power cut and because the water is pumped round by electricity this meant this got cut off too. We went off out and by the time we got back it was back on again so no great problem but not sure what happened!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Me and 4 girl friends visited King Jason for a week for a friends wedding. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by pleasant, English staff with a refreshing glass of fruit juice. The porter lugged our 'over-packed' cases to our room, which was lovely, modern and clean (particularly liked the wooden floors). The pool area is very pleasant, just a nice size, plenty of sun loungers and rather quiet, and the whole place is very tastefully decorated. There is a shop on site, which was extremely appreciated for cold drinks and ice creams whilst baking in the hot sun (which was quite unexpected in March).

I would love to visit Paphos again and I would love to visit the King Jason again, there's just one problem - the apartments are quite far from restaurants and bars. As this was my second holiday in 2 months I was on a tight budget and the taxi ride was 10 euros each way, there isn't a lot in the area, a couple of small supermarkets up the road. The harbour is lovely and worth a visit during the day but we didn't get to enjoy the pleasure onm more than one occasion due to the cost of travelling.

If you like to be a bit out of the scene then I would absolutely recommend this hotel, there is a restaurant in the apartments and although we didn't eat there, it was usually busy, the food smelled nice and again the restaurant was decorated tastefully, cream linen etc. There are also a couple of restaurants nearby but they wouldn't have tempted us (Mr Chicken was one!)

I would recommend a lot of the restaurants in Paphos (we never had a bad meal). Chloe's Chinese is definitely worth a visit, beautiful food, reasonably priced, nice wine and decdorated in a modern but typically Chinese fashion, the staff were also very attentive - wouldn't miss that one. Grazie was a lovely Italian, maybe a bit more expensive than some but worth it I thought. El Sombrero Mexican was delicious. I'm sorry we didn't get around to trying Mezze but would have triied it if we were there for 2 weeks.

The wedding we went to was at the Annabelle Hotel and then on a yacht at the harbour for the recption. A beautiful wedding and a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballerina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $119 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing