We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break from freezing England!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely break from freezing England!”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We booked our last minute trip to Paphos from the teletext website. Great value, we paid under £700 for both of us for a week. We have visited Cyprus before 11 years ago, but stayed that time in Protaras.
Overall we had an excellent time. We were really impressed with the King Jason Appartments. The manager is lovely and very friendly, he even knew my first name on arrival!
Our appartment was large and perfectly clean. There was a really good selection of cups, utensils, a toaster and microwave and wine glasses and cork screw (vital!). Having stayed at appartments in Greece, i was really impressed with the place!
Location was fine, about a 10 minute walk to the main restaurants and harbour.
Paphos itself is much larger and bustling than i had imagined. There were a lot of very good restaurants and as it was out of season, it was pretty quiet. However there were a lot of bars and clubs and i am not sure i would come to Paphos in high season, it may resemble Blackpool... especially as there is debenhams, pizza hut and next!
The weather was great, it was 0 degrees when we left manchester, and it was sunny and 28 degrees for our whole week, heavenly!
We hired a car (do this from the UK, so much cheaper) and had a fantastic time exploring. We went to Polis - which i imagine is more like Paphos was 10 years ago. We also went into the Troodos mountains, which were lovely, and then on to Nicosia. I would definitely recomend the trip, it was fascinating to see the only remaining devided capitol, and we were able to go across into the Turkish side, which was totally different, like going back in time!
In summary, i was really impressed with the weather, the friendly people and also the appartments, they were great! I think if i go back to Cyprus, i'd go to the North as i like experiencing different cultures, but Paphos is great if you think you'll get homesick from the UK!

  • Liked — Very friendly, had everything we needed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSHaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,395
    328
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
816
1,538
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We have just returned from our holiday to the King Jason apts.
Andreas and his staff couldnt do enough for you. Your only had to ask and the problem was sorted out. When we checking in a waiter served us with fresh orange juice and a wet tissue to cool you down. What a welcome. The hotel is not far away from all the restaurants and the harbour area also the old town of paphos. This was our first visit to the Paphos are and we will definitely be back.
Would highly reccomend this hotel.

Irene and Jim Shirron

  • Liked — The apartment was larger than the usual self catering apt
  • Disliked — the balcony was a bit small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandJamsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by polite and smiling staff who spoke perfect English and initially we were impressed with their helpful attidude.
Unfortunately this impression rapidly deteriorated when we were shown our room and as the week went on it became clear that this was all just a facade hiding a multitude of sins.

The room was dated and shabby :-

Bottoms were falling out of most of the drawers.
The patio door mechanism was broken and had been botched up using an old screw which jutted out right at the eye level of our little boy.
The air conditioning unit was so noisy it couldn't be used at night and it couldn't even be left on during the day because the key fob was needed to activate the electricity.

The real problem however was that the apartment was filthy :-

The bathroom was grimy and needed a good scrub.
The kitchen was equally as dirty.
The glasses had dried on stains which must have been there for weeks not days. When soaking them in boiling water didn't cure the problem we gave up and took glasses from the hotel bar back to the room.
Plates and cutlery were dirty too and basically everything had to be sterilised before it could be used.
We did our best to clean the place up on this first night and were determined not to let any of it spoil our holiday.

The second night was when we heard the mice scratching about at the back of the kitchen units. In the morning we were horrified to find mouse droppings in the cupboards and cutlery drawer.

We made a complaint immediately to both the hotel staff and to our Thompson representative. We were assured that everything possible would be done to remove the mice. Poison was put down to kill the rodents - not very reassuring anyway with a 2 year old boy who gets into everything - but still the room was not cleaned.

After persistently complaining the room was eventually cleaned the following day and even then not very well.
At the end of the week we found more droppings in a drawer that we hadn't used at all and they had obviously been there all week.

In spite of all the above not once were we given an apology by the hotel staff and we weren't even given the option of being moved to a different room.

Other complaints included the stray cats that were allowed to roam all over the complex, the inevitable cat dirt (of all places) in the childrens play area, and the fact that my girlfriend caught an ear infection which was probably due the pool also being dirty.

If this was the standard of cleanliness of the areas we had access to then it begs the question "What were the kitchens like?" Needless to say we never ate at the hotel or in our apartment. It made this a very expensive holiday when we had hoped to save some money by staying in a self catered apartment!

The biggest insult of all was the casual way the hotel manager and staff, along with the Thompson rep, kept up their perfect smiles and did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to make amends for any of the problems we encountered.

DISGUSTING! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Liked — Quiet location and excellent pool area - could have been perfect but for lack of cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The mice infestation in our room and the poor attitude of hotel manager and staff.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LouisNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed in king jason for two weeks. Brilliant for kids our daughter aged 10 loved it, the kidzone reps were brilliant lots of different daily and night time activities. Thought the pool would have been larger, quiet a few children got ear infections whilst we were there. The staff were really helpfull and very polite. The apartment well thats another story,I feel they are long over due for a revamp no way are they 4 star we were quiet disapointed when we walked into the apartment on arrival ( given what you have paied for the holiday). As mentioned in one of the other reveiws the maid needs to chage jobs, ours was not clean at the begining of the holiday never mind the end. There were hair in the bath and sink , the kitchen needed a good clean all the cutelry had to be washed before we could use it. The location of the apartments is not very nice lots of rubish along the street and qeit a walk into town. Lots of people have stayed there time after time it makes me wonder have some of the rooms already been revamped because i would not stay in that apartment again. Yes we did have a nice time because you have to make the most of it. Also it was very expensive we spent £2300 and we did not do anything out of the ordinary. If you do go to Paphos you must try Dianna restaurant staff and food really good.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — apartment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jlavspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Stayed for two weeks in August 2008. Staff, including manager, were brilliant. Very helpful indeed. Hotel itself was clean and of a very good standard. Breakfast was adequate. Evening meal, rather expensive for what was on offer. Pool size was a little disappointing and as it was full of inflatables...a relaxing swim was almost impossible. Biggest disappointment was that pool closed at 6.30pm. Games room was very dated, as were showering areas within the hotel. Location of hotel was good with respect to being in a quiet residential area (and not too far away from the nightlife of Paphos). Our studio room was of a good size. Only issues were the very noisey air conditioning unit which leaked onto our balcony continuously and the fact that our cleaner should probably have considered an alternative career path...Apart from the above, I would recommend the hotel, particularly if you like cats...we love them...Do not go if you hate them.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We agree totally with the previous Mixed bag review.
Positives : Lovely Bar area, well stocked shop, friendly staff and attentive manager when any problem was solved immediately, spacious appartrment/Studio, weather fantastic, trips were great, Thompson rep superb.
Negatives: Pool constantly warm and full of inflatables, if you want to swim not a chance for ball games and lilos!! Sometimes it was like a warzone!! Needs to be supervised a little. The indoor pool lovely and cold but again surrounding area unlean and smelt of toilets! Husband used the gym a few times but no air conditioning!!! Cleanliness poor, lots of kids including my own suffered ear infections from the pool, appartments dirty and bathroom didnt see a cleaner for the two weeks. Towels and beds were changed every three days. Floors smelt of either cat urine or dirty mops, not sure!! Bins emptied every other day which is ok for a small family of 3 like ours but I dont know how larger families who maybe cooked in the appartment coped??
Other reviews have mentioned the friendly welcome of a fruit juice and wet wipe...great! The waiter took our cases on a trolley all of 30 yards and waited for a tip whilst we started to unpack!! He didnt show us around the appartment or anything!! As we'd only just arrived we had no small change and felt forced to give a 5 Euro tip!!!! Not a good start! Cats were around a lot but didnt really bother us apart from the smell! The location was awful, in the middle of residential area that is like squalor!! stinking bins, filthy roads and pavements, poorly lit and just awful!! Once you get past that bit its a short walk to the harbour which is nice
The fee of 49 Euros for a 2 week safety deposit box was a rip off and the prices to eat out in Cyprus has gone up dramatically but then thats the same every where I suppose.
Recommend the Cruises from the harbour...great value for money. The jeep safari day was expensive but worth every penny as you see a lot of the island and its great fun too! The tiger boat ride was fantastic if you like near death experiences...but it was amazing!
All in all I would not go back to this accomodation or in fact Cyprus. been to cyprus twice and thats my lot im afriaid. Would not recommend the King Jason but then I know a lot of people loved it so maybe its down to expectations. For a supposed 4 star mine were quite high and it didnt match up at all.

  • Liked — Bar area
  • Disliked — unclean!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank joycikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

on ariving at the king jason for our first visit we were met with drinks and face refreshers witch we welcomed as it was so hot we were shown to our rooms by a porter who carried our bagsto our rooms, when we entered our room we had a bottle of brandy left by the manager,and dressing gowns and slippers the pool area and rooms were very clean but be up early to get sunbeds as us english seam to be worse than the germans.the manager and staff were so friendly .we read on trip adviser about all the cats around the apts but much worse than we expected, one boy was bitten while we were there and his parents had a big medical bill to pay,we were also followed to our room buy two cats on leaving the apts its about 15 minutes through the residential area and over a few mattreses to get to the town and a busy dual carrigeway. the apts food was nice but a little pricey on a night time there is no entertainment so people just tend to come back and go to there rooms.....the king jason were lovely but would not go back because of the area and how for they are away,

  • Disliked — the area and the cats
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank safcftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
2,433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Property: The King Jason Paphos
Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing