We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

3rd time in 4 years we have stayed a the King Jason, always been good, but everytime we visit there as been major improvements ie the Hydro pool in 2012 and the new adults only pool this year, This is the 1st time we have gone all inclusive, food was very good, my wife is a really fussy eater but had no problems finding something she enjoyed at every meal. The staff cannot do enough for you and the manager Andreas seems never to go home, He is there at every meal and makes an effort to speak to every guest. Had a one bedroom apartment which spotlessly clean, spacious and great air con, Maid service visited every day. Already planning next years visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear loyal guest,

Let us thank you for choosing to stay once more at the King Jason and for posting such a nice review.

It is a delight to hear that you had yet another brilliant holiday at our wonderful hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our exciting all inclusive package as well as our major improvements over the years; it is a real delight to hear that we never fail to impress you with our high quality service, our delicious and extremely varied cuisine and our attentive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the King Jason soon, and rest assured that we have even more improvements in the pipeline!.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,138)
There are newer reviews for The King Jason Paphos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,845 - 1,851 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the King Jason and it lived up to our expectations. Andreas, Maria and all their team were amazing they could not do enough for us! The location of the hotel suited us perfectly it was quiet and relaxing but if we wanted to go to the bars and restaurants in Paphos and to the harbour these were only a 10 minute walk away. I am a very fussy eater but the food was delicious, varied and plentiful so I was never at a loss as to what to eat or drink as they topped up our wine glasses constantly too which was a very nice touch!! The 3 pools were lovely especially the hydro pool and it was nice to see an adults only pool there too. Our 1 bedroom apartment was lovely it was spacious, clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay so much we are making plans to return there next year which is something new for us as we never go to the same place twice! Thank you to everyone for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the King Jason and for taking time to write this lovely review.

It is an absolute delight to hear that our magnificent hotel has lived up to your expectations. We are happy to know that our charming staff has played such an important part in making your stay fabulous and that you appreciated the serene location of our hotel together with our delicious and varied cuisine, as well as our amazing accommodation.

Thank you again for your kind words, we are delighted to hear that you will come back to the King Jason next year and it will be an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in one of the new deluxe one bedroom accommodation blocks towards the back of the hotel.

As independent travellers, we found many aspects of the hotel to be between good and excellent. However, there was definitely room for improvement in some areas which I'm sure the hotel will pick up on as they do try hard to get it right.

Like a previous reviewer, we formed the opinion that the hotel is heavily geared towards the all inclusive package holiday customer with most guests we met booking through Thomsons.

Anyway, I will try and give some useful info in this review.

As is well documented already, staff are unfailingly polite and welcoming.

The deluxe rooms in the new blocks are well planned out with plenty storage space , especially lots of drawers. You won't get much of a view but they are rather more private than the ones directly around the main pool ( though the latter are obviously closer to the hotel amenities)

Good news for female guests :- They have proper hair dryers with a 'cool shot' button The hair dryer is sensibly located right next to a large wall mounted mirror . There is also a double sided magnifying make up mirror so no need to add extra weight to your suitcase in packing these items. There is a good iron and a small but adequate table top ironing board. There's also a discreet clothes line area fixed to the inside of your balcony.

There's a decent size television that gets CNN and Al Jazeera news plus at least one good movie channel.

The room had the biggest bath tub ever ..... Definitely made for 2. By the way, don't be put off by the photos showing a curtain between the bedroom and bathroom as the toilet is completely seperate and entirely private behind a closed door.

Housekeeping was generally a reasonable standard but seemed very late and on two occasions our room wasn't cleaned till between 3.30pm and 4.15pm. This really wasn't good enough, especially as we were always out of our room from 9.30am onwards, either at the poolside or away down town . By the end of two weeks, we were getting thoroughly fed up of hanging around the hotel waiting for the room to be done so we could go back to it and relax in the afternoon.

Onto the food : it was excellent, especially breakfast. Supplies were always plentiful and replenished promptly. We had dinner and lunch a few times and they were very good quality and varied choices too.

We weren't All Inclusive so had no idea how much we were paying for our meals, whether wine was included etc and were handed a lengthy and non itemised bill at the end of the fortnight which we're still not entirely sure was correct. You see, the multi national waiting staff often seem to try to remember your room number and English is not their first language so even when we gave them our room number we often had to repeat it. We are honest folk so always corrected them if they repeated our room number back incorrectly. However, not everyone will do so...... I notice an earlier management response to similar concerns stated that this matter was being dealt with and a more transparent food and drinks billing procedure put in place. This was some time ago but it hasn't happened yet. We just paid the bill they gave us but we're pretty sure someone else's drinks were on our bill.

By the way, the hotel seems well equipt for guests with mobility issues as there are proper concrete ramps to and from the various pool areas and I noted several guests with mobility scooters and wheelchairs ( which are easily available to rent in downtown Paphos ). They were able to park them safely and conveniently outside their ground floor apartments . It's a pity that the only Disabled Toilet in the hotel was being entirely taken over by able bodied guests and pitiful to watch a clearly badly disabled guest having to continually go back and fore trying to get into it while it was taken up by a never ending succession of people who couldn't be bothered using the stairs from Reception to use the regular Ladies and Gents toilet facilities. The hotel needs to give this matter some attention as Disabled guests need the disabled facilities ( and often need to access them swiftly ) .... Others don't.

As mentioned earlier, we formed the opinion that the hotel is very geared towards Thomsons package holiday clients and repeat business guests ( some of whom have apparently been regulars for years, and some for decades ) We were " first timers " both to the hotel and to Cyprus but we were given no information whatsoever about the hotel or the area and there was none in the room which was very odd. If you were a regular guestbor were with Thomsons (who have "welcome" meetings) you'd be fine but, as we weren't part of these groups we felt a bit lost and cast adrift. Indeed, we didn't know about many of the facilities and services until 10 days into our 14 day holiday and only found out about some things on the last day when sitting in Reception talking to other guests waiting to go to the airport. The hotel could definitely improve the experience of the independent traveller and I'm sure they will give this matter some thought.

Special mention to the following staff members : - efficient and immaculately turned out Dmitri and Maria on Reception. In the dining room : the always smiling Pepa, very professional and helpful Joseph and Socrates ( these young men should both go far ), the always smiling Shagool and the lovely Swedish students, especially Sandra, who were all unfailingly sweet natured, polite and a credit to their homeland.

So, in conclusion, a good hotel with a highly dedicated manager, Andreas and a hard working, pleasant and motivated team both front of house and behind the scenes. We weren't quite as blown away as many of the reviewers on here but that's maybe down to us being pretty well travelled and lucky enough to have experienced some really stunning hotels over the years.

However, if you're looking for a good base with comfortable rooms and very nice food, I'm sure you'll be fine here. It's not luxurious but it's well planned out and tries pretty hard to get things right.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near the main pool seem convenient but probably lack privacy. Don't take a to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your visit of the King Jason and for posting your feedback online.

We are extremely happy that many elements of your stay, including the service, food, facilities and cleanliness, were to your utmost satisfaction. Nevertheless there were some things which left you unhappy so please allow us to respond accordingly.

Our housekeeping service begins at 10am and normally goes on until late in the afternoon; this means that some rooms are visited early in the morning whereas some others later in the day. It is not a rarity that a room gets visited at a similar time each day but we are always open to special requests. What time we visit your room is not set in stone and if someone has a different preference we are happy to oblige. All it takes is asking so please feel free to let us know next time you are here.

You are right that in the past we had an issue with our billing system and this was dealt with promptly; if you say that old habits have popped up again we can only apologize and promise that we will look into the matter immediately. As for the disabled toilet, we have also noticed that it is used by abled guests and we must try to encourage the use of our underground toilets more.

Finally regarding the lack of information in our rooms (which we agree is imperative for the independent traveller), we are aware of this and are adamant that it needs sorting out. The only reason why we haven't done anything yet is simply because of the renovation work which has been going on at our hotel for the past three years. As such, any documentation quickly becomes obsolete but hopefully after we finish our renovations this winter we will be ready to create an up to date document.

Your feedback has been amazingly helpful and we thank you for it; thank you also for staying at the King Jason and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend and wasn't that impressed. Had high expectations but was disappointed. Firstly, as we had a 14 month baby we asked for a ground floor room by the pool so we could relax on veranda whilst baby had his naps. We were given a ground floor room but facing the kitchens exit door which was very noisy all day and members of staff would relax and smoke cigarettes on their breaks. The one bedroom apartments seem a bit dull and dreary although the bed was amazing! The hotel states it has parking, it does but only a few spaces and it seems everybody parks on the road outside, which clearly annoys residents as they have no parking signs in front of their homes. On the plus side the welcome was warm although the female receptionist was a little short when I asked her for the internet key as there is no internet in rooms. Breakfast was marvellous with lots of choice and good quality food. All in all I was disappointed and there are other hotels like the Amphora that are better than this but much lower down in rankings. It was ok I suppose, just not great, hence 3 stars.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Mddlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for choosing the King Jason as a holiday destination and for taking the time to share your impressions online.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our comfortable beds as well as our high quality and variety of food. However, we are saddened to hear that you were not pleased with the design of your room, especially when this was fully renovated only 4 months ago. We apologize for the noise and only wish you had informed us so that we could have moved you accordingly.

Clearly you have been misinformed about certain elements of our hotel and this has played a significant role in your dissatisfaction. We only have 5-6 parking spots at the front of our hotel but there are a further 40 at the back entrance. Wifi is free in the lobby and bar area, however in the rooms it is only available at a charge.

We respect your opinion of the King Jason and hope that despite your disappointment we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Sitting in the lobby, waiting for our transfer to the airport, I can only echo all the positive comments expressed by fellow holidaymakers before me. It's not my first time to Cyprus and having worked out here many years ago, I only wish I'd had a hotel in my portfolio as brilliant as this one. Located in the middle of a residential area, the front of the hotel is deceptive, you have no idea what perfection awaits you inside. We stayed in a one-bed apartment overlooking the new deluxe studios and the adults-only Elegencia pool. With evening sun and a glimpse of the sea, we couldn't have done better! Half-board was a great option and we weren't tempted at all to search out other restaurants as the food was so good every night.

But what makes this place so special isn't the new decor or the plush pool areas, it's the staff. Andreas, the hotel manager, is customer service excellence beyond anything I've experienced. And this is filtered through all his team - Maria on reception, the international bar and waiting team (who remember your room number and bar order in no time!) to the cleaning staff and of course, Maria the restaurant manager. This is the reason people come back year after year and we will certainly be back (next time with squash racket in hand - game on!)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the King Jason and for taking the time to write such a nice review.

It is a great joy to see how much you appreciated our dedicated service team and our high quality of food.

We are delighted to hear that you will come back to the King Jason soon and it will be an absolute pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week in a studio apartment. The room was spacious and had everything we needed, including kitchen equipment, and we were able to enjoy our own breakfasts on the balcony. We didn't use the restaurant because it wasn't included in what we'd booked. The pool was nice enough, with plenty of sun loungers, but the games nearby (air hockey, pool and table tennis) were poorly maintained and useless. The hotel is clearly targeted at the all-inclusive package holiday market rather than the independent traveller.

The location was a little off the beaten track but we discovered it was only 10 minutes' walk to the main bar/restaurant area, and a few minutes further to the sea and the harbour. It was no problem to park our rental car on site so we could easily visit the places we wanted to see.

The staff were all friendly, helpful and professional. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the King Jason we thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for writing a review about your experience.

It is very pleasing for us to know that you deeply appreciated your comfortable studio, as well as our brilliant outdoor facilities. We thank you for bringing your observation in regards to the games to our attention. Your valuable comment will be taken note of as part of our continuous work for improvement.

Nevertheless, please allow us to disagree with some of your comments, about our hotel not being geared towards the independent traveller. Firstly we have fully furnished all our rooms with kitchenettes so that anybody who doesn't wish to use our restaurant and bar will not be forced to. In addition, we have provided ample parking slots for rental cars, which admittedly are mainly utilized by the independent traveller. Use of facilities like the Elegancia Pool & Lounge and our Hydro Pool are free of charge so that even guests who are not on package deals can enjoy them. Even our lobby and reception wifi is free for all to use, irrespective of whether someone has booked a package holiday or has come as an independent traveller. Finally, and most importantly, our staff remains at the entire disposal of all guests, should they require information about places to visit.

Hopefully you will understand our point of view regarding the above; rest assured that it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the King Jason.

Faithfully yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks staying at King Jason and even although I was there in October and didn't think it could get any better it HAS.The rooms had been refurbished with new low level sofas and nice fresh contemporary table and chairs, bedrooms has new high padded full length headboards and very comfortable deep mattresses. There was a new adults only lounge just off main lounge areas and a new (4th) swimming pool and terrace which is also adults only. Found this area very relaxing and peaceful during the day. Again Andreas heads up an excellent team of customer service providers, from housekeeping to reception and bar and waiter services are all second to none. The only problem was I had to come home but can't wait to go back and I will.

Room Tip: Deluxe studios are in 4 separate blocks with secure main door to each but only about 10 steps from m...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poppypuppy-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear loyal guest,

On behalf of the King Jason, we would like to thank you for writing a short and lovely review about another stay at our hotel.

It is a tremendous joy to hear that you had yet another splendid holiday here and that you deeply appreciated our continuous effort to improve our facilities. Furthermore, it is wonderful to read that our professional team succeeded to turn your stay into an unforgettable memory.

It is a great pleasure knowing that you love your holidays at the King Jason so much that you will return again soon.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#17 of 85 in Paphos
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $135 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing