We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Working out in Cyprus, we have stayed in the majority of Paphos hotels for weekned breaks. Mainly in the tourist area, this was a break from the norm as the King Jason is not on the main tourist strip - and thank goodness. Quiet, secluded, very personal and intimate it is a lovely place to stay. Really friendly from arrival, with complementary cocktails in the evening, the self-catering apartments are large and very comfortable with every thing you need. Centred around a large pool, there are plenty of sunbeds with a seperate raised area with lovely double sunbeds under canopys for te romantic touch. Breakfast was basic but with everything you need to set you up for a relaxing da by the pool!! Has really proved that if you break away from the main tourist areas there are great places to stay that offer a more personal touch where you are not just another tourist passing through. Well worth considering for a break in Paphos.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymCloggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,138)
There are newer reviews for The King Jason Paphos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,017 - 3,023 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderfull holiday at the louis king jason app in paphos. As other people have said it is in an excellent location away from the busy tourist area but just a short walk to all the restaurants and the harbour> the self catering facillities are excellent with oven/grill/hob fridge microwave.

On our first night we ate in the restaurant in the hotel which was really nice as was a buffet style with lots of cypriot dishes so gave us the chance to try lots of different things.The drinks in the hotel we thought were quite expensive and if you go down into kato paphos it is a lot cheaper. The rest of the week we ate out -a favourite was Othellos which was on the top end of bar st as you walk into kato paphos- the stiffado and kleftiko were amazing!! and very friendly too.

There is a small shop in the hotel which is handy but quite overpriced- on the main road on the way up to the old town there is a larger supermarket and also a fab bakery where we bought some just out of the oven bread!

The hotel is about a 20min walk from old town paphos which is worth a trip as there is a market which is nice to browse around but it is not open on sunday.

Our trip was with thompson and we did one excursion with them to the troodos mountins which comes highly reccomended! its a full day in the mountains stopping off at two mountain villages and also the amazing kykkos monestry. also stopping in troodos square where there are kiosks offering samples of their wine and nuts/fruit and honey to try and buy.

There is a lot to do in Paphos we also walked to the tomb of the kings ( 30 mins away) and to the mosaics ( just by the harbour) these were both very interesting.

we also took the bus 15 to coral bay which is said to be the best beach but everyone knows this so found it to be very overcrowded.

we did spend a few hours on the municipal beach in paphos itself in front of the hotels - the hotel doesnt actually own the beach so you can go down as long as you dont use any of the hotels facillites they can't stop you and the sea is a bit calmer here than in coral bay too!

All in all highly reccomended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happysunshine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We just got back from the King Jason a couple of days ago and it was wonderful! Overall the accomodation was clean and well equipped for self catering, the location was also spot on situated in quiet residential area with equal walking distance from the Old town and the new town. The pool are awas nice and clean and the bar served nice lunches though perhaps the portions are quite large. there are plenty of sunbeds and brollies available and a games room and health suite available just down from the pool. The staff are excellent and very friendly and will help you with ny information you need.

The cats are absolutley no problem whatsoever all are well fed and will come for fuss only if encouraged, and most really are quite nice and affectionate.

With regards to local facilities there is a small supermarket behind the apartments for basics, with a larger supermarket and bakery on the main road (turn left out of the car park straight to the bottom and turn right also leads to old papos.)

there are plenty of resturants in Kato paphos howver if you want a really tradtional taverna that is also popular with locals as well as holiday makers then I have got to recommend Hondros, which is near the municipal car park and bus station at the harbour ( turn left out of car park Hondros is situated a few meteres up on the lfet hand side). We ate here every night in our second week as there was plenty to try ( meatballs, sheftallia, stifado etc.) and also on offer were a few vegetarian dishes, such as baked garlic aubergines and courgettes (yum!!) The indoor seating was very cosy with a good bar for cooler nights.

Beach lovers should head to coral Bay Bus number 11 or 15 (about 1 euro 35cents each way) which you can catch just by the church on the dual carriage way. There are two headlands most people get off at the first stop where ther is a dusty car park however the best part of the beach is further on so stay on the bus until you reach the end of its route. There are free showers and a shop selling ice cream refreshments. Sunbeds are about 3 euros a piece however it does get busy so that by 11 most of the beds are taken.

Overall this was fabulous holiday and I would definatly return and stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LittlebearNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We have just returned from a family holiday staying at the Louis King Jason Apartments in Cyprus. Found Andrea's and the staff very friendly and helpful, Andrea's the manager was always there in the hotel checking everything was running smoothly. The reception area and the restaurant were very clean and the food at breakfast and the evening meal (we stayed half board) was excellent with a great choice. Outside the pool area was great with the sun loungers very comfortable with plenty of choice of where to lie around. The apartment was quite large and clean with a nice little kitchen area with everything you needed to stay self catering with a little balcony outside. The cats that are mentioned in other reviews were no bother at all and just walked on by if you didn't want to fuss them. Recommend hiring a car thru the hotel as it is alot cheaper than europcar, the difference was about two hundred euros for 3 days !. Overall a nice place to stay with only a ten minute walk into Paphos and if we returned to cyprus we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Straffords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Having had a fantastic stay at the King Jason in October 2005 we decided to go back there again this April. We had established from recent traveller reviews that standards still seemed pretty good and that Andreas was still in charge - these being strong link between these two points.

The only problem we had with our appartment were the dodgy springs in the sofa-bed mattress. Otherwise it was clean and well equipped.

The cats are much in evidence around the property but are really not a problem. They are obviously well cared for and spend the day, like most of the guests, sitting around in the sun.

Although the hotel has a pretty good shop, there is an excellent supermarket 10 minutes walk up the main road towards the old town. They even sell live snails! Just look out for the old Sainsburys trailer in the carpark.

We ate in the hotel a couple of evenings - there is an excellent buffet meal. Our favourite restaurant in the lower town was Mandra - their Kleftiko is mouth-wateringly beautiful.

The promenade is currently closed for re-surfacing so we kept finding steel barriers across our path when walking around town. This work is due to be completed in May which will make for a nice walk along the front to the harbour.

We took a day trip over to Cairo which was a fantastic experience (see separate review under Day Trip to Cairo).

So back to the King Jason. We don't normally go back to the same hotel twice on principle but I'm glad we did go back here this time. The King Jason is a real gem.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband and I just came back from a holiday at the King Jason apartments in Paphos and loved the place! We read the reviews before leaving, and was slightly worried about the cat situation as I am allergic. However, these cats didn't bother me when I was by the pool. They are very well behaved.

The apartments were very well equipped, but have to agree with some of the reviews which say that they could have been cleaner. Not that they are dirty, but just a bit of dust here and there. All the maids did was make the beds and empty the bins. Tables weren't wiped, bathroom not cleaned until the last day.

Free bottle of Ouzo on arrival and free jar of marmalade on leaving! Weyhey!

Ate out quite often at Mr. Chicken (classier than it sounds). Would avoid Full Moon though.

Took a trip to the Turkish side of the island, which we would highly recommend.

Apartments were 20mins from old town and 20 mins from harbour.

Andreas is always busy and always happy to help.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WeeEck1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

just wanted to say read the reviews before and we were a bit worried, but the apartments were lovely, the manager and all the staff were very nice and all went out of their way to help.
The cats are no problem they did not even mind my 16 month old son pulling them about, they are not like the normal strays you get abroad begging for food and round you all the time they stay out of the way.

would definatley stay here again, the only fault i could see was the rooms were not as clean as they could have been it would be nice to see this improved before we go back

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cep30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#17 of 85 in Paphos
2,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $135 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing