We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great value, with few a improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
surrey UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great value, with few a improvements”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had 5 Days away in November and his was our first time to Cyprus
My wife who will only let me book 4Star hotels or better was rather disapointed when we first arrived. The living area and bedroom because they are self catering are what i would call 3 star but clean. The building is old but has been refurbished and painted but was still showing its age in some areas. One side of our waldrobe would not open, which we found was due to it being stuck with tape which made it difficult to access the safe and prevent use of shelves
The pool areas are lovely and well keep along with the bar area.
The services is the star attraction of this hotel. We were on half board and the food and staff were excellent. The manager was usually about checking on people but our special comment goes to the lovely Maria who we allowed to chose our wine each night, which were excellent as was her service.
We were lucky that we had 5 sunny days so could be by the pool otherwise at that time of the year it is very quiet and the hotel is a reasonable walking distance from the harbour and town at the top of the hill.
Only one other thing to note is the through the wall A/C units. These are noisy and we only used these a couple of times to warm the bedroom. As other have noted in the summer you could not run these and sleep at the same time. They really could be replaced by a central system.

Summary 3 Star rooms, 5 star service and food, good valve and minor updates and changes would result in 5 dot rating

Room Tip: In the winter period ask for east facing room with south balcony so you get the sun so you can sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuttonsurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your visit of the King Jason and for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud to read your consideration of our staff as the 'star attraction' of our hotel and rest assured that your comments will be passed on to them immediately. Additionally, we are very happy that you liked our pool areas as well our excellent half board package.

It is sad that our rooms were not to your entire satisfaction and for this we would like to apologize. We feel hard done by your comment of the accommodation being 3-star, because the bathrooms have been completely renovated, as have the floors; in addition, we have invested significant amounts of money on the beds and linen. Nevertheless we will take your criticism into consideration for our improvement and assure you that especially the issues of the wardrobe and A/C will be looked at with immediate effect.

We want to take this opportunity to inform you of our new deluxe studios which will be ready in May 2013. We are very confident that those rooms will be to your entire satisfaction because they will be high-end luxury, albeit smaller. Therefore, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and try to make up for your disappointment this time round.

Thanks again for your honest review and best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,570
    348
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
863
1,673
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormiston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at The King Jason 12-19 Jan 2013. What a week we had. Welcomed by the legendary Andreas on arrival we immediately felt like we had been there all our lives. The apartment (84) was ground floor as requested and was right next to the hydro spa pool and sun terrace. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equiped with cleaning staff visiting everyday. We have travelled to many different countries but have never experienced the level of customer care that is the norm at The King J. It is superb!!!!! Every member of staff we met was always smiling and attentive and always enquiring if you were having a good time or willing to make suggestions of places worth visiting. If staying at the King J go half board. The cuisine on offer is to a very high standard with an amazing selection and variety of high quality food each day. The only problem you have is what to choose and how much you can eat.
If you are thinking of going to Cyprus then look no further.
The hydro spa and outdoor pool look fantastic. I would like to suggest that the Louis hotel group consider heating the pools in the winter as everyone there including ourselves were dying to try the hydro spa out but it was freezing cold. Such a pity.
Andreas please thank your staff for making our all too short stay with you one to remember and we have already recommended the hotel to friends and family. Hopefully we will return in the not to distant future. Sam & Cathy Jess

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the King Jason and for sharing your thoughts with the online community.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and read of your entire satisfaction with our spacious, comfortable rooms, our high standard of food, our good value half board package, and of course our customer care. Your comment about the hydro pool has been noted and we will investigate the possibilities for our future improvement.

Hoping to welcome you back to the King Jason for a try of our hydro pool, please accept our warmest regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This Hotel was all it should be,very friendly Manager and Great staff.The One bedroom apartment was amazing with seperate bedroom and a good size bathroom,plenty of room in the excellent kitchen and lounge.The pool looked really nice,but not warm enough to try it.The evening meals were very varied and plentiful,each night was a different theme,good value for money.They have a well stocked shop,if you arrive and it's not open,just ask,they will open it for you,nothing is too much trouble.Next to a busy road,but you don't really notice it.The Harbour area is nice and a nice ten minute walk away.The city centre is in the other direction,also ten minutes and not so nice.Great views and a good market if you make it.Would we go back ? yes but only out of season,don't fancy the huge crowds this area must attract at the height of the year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceedeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We send our thanks for your visit to the King Jason and for your review online.

It is always a pleasure to receive plaudits for our friendly staff, spacious rooms and varied theme meals. We hope to have done enough to convince you of a repeat visit in the near future, hopefully at a time which is off season yet still warm enough to enjoy our outdoor pools.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The King Jason has many outstanding points! The service, the apartment and the FOOD! On arrival we were met by Mr Doorman, a gorgeous black and white puss-cat who centres his operations around the main front door! Reception were lovely and very welcoming with a very much needed drink on arrival! We were taken to our apartment, and our luggage taken up for us - again very much needed! Lovely spacious apartment with separate bedroom and lounge/kitchen/diner. The sofa's in the living room double up as beds which is fab, so you can fall asleep in front of the telly - there's a DVD player also, so bring your DVD's for any soggy days/evenings! In our room there was also a little welcome tipple (we think it was sherry), it was lovely and definitely added to the warmth of our already wonderful welcome.

Throughout our stay, the staff were so lovely and made you feel so welcome. Although we didn't try breakfast, I can most definitely recommend the dinner buffet - it was by far the best food we had in Kato Paphos! There is a vast choice, with soup or salad for starters - and even sushi on one night! Then up to 10 dishes for the mains.... and then the dessert table!!! WOW!!! Jellies, fruit, chocolate mousse, baklava, gateau's, meringues, ice cream - and that was just one night! If someone had pulled up a chair, I could have stayed in the dessert buffet for the night! There was also cheese & biscuits, and cypriot dishes a plenty!

The facilities are superb, two outdoor pools - one of which is a hydrotherapy pool - given that it was January we didn't try these out. There is also an indoor heated pool, fully equipped gym, sauna and a steam room - all fab! If, like me, you can't access the WIFI available throughout the hotel there is the option of a computer with internet access which although pricey was invaluable for my stay as I was waiting on some important news.

There is a small supermarket in the hotel which is fairly reasonabley priced, and also there is a shop opposite the hotel which is handy for the extra bits and bobs!

And finally... the feline staff! All utterly gorgeous and so so friendly. If you're not a feline fan, don't worry there are plenty of cat lovers to keep the fluffies busy. Although they officially don't belong to the hotel, you wouldn't know it - if you're missing your homebound fur brigade, these guys will more than look after you while you're away.

I visited the King Jason with my mum, but we both said we'd feel more than comfortable to return on our own - and there were many guests travelling on their own. The staff's attentiveness and warmth make you feel at home right from the start and throughout - 4 star product, but 5 star service. Will definitely be returing. :) xx

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flyingkat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay at the King Jason, for your extensive online review as well as the lovely photos you published! The dessert plate looks really appetizing!

We were delighted to read how our large rooms, warm welcome, gracious service, lovely pools and varied food left such a positive impression on you. To answer your question about the sherry in your room, it is actually called Koumandaria and was enjoyed by the Knights of St. John all those years ago! It is one of Cyprus' best kept secrets and has actually won several international awards as one of the most undervalued sweet wines in the world. We are very proud to be the home of such a well respected product and the King Jason is delighted to offer our guests a complimentary sample of this sweet Cypriot heaven.

Thanks again for your amazing review and we can't wait to welcome you to the King Jason again.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I chose this hotel for a short break in January 2013 on the basis of the excellent reports posted here on Tripadvisor by other guests. This is truly an exceptional hotel. From the warm welcome on arrival and hassle-free check-in, to the glass of orange juice and porterage of the bags to the apartment, it promised to be a friendly experience to stay at The King Jason - and it was! The one bedroom apartment was superbly equipped, an indication that once again everything for the guest's comfort had been thought about.
Many guests praise the buffet in the restaurant and they are not wrong. The choice at breakfast is very wide and must cater for all tastes. To have a fresh omelette or fried egg cooked 'before your eyes' by smiling chefs is a great start to any day.
The manager Andreas is an amazing character; thoughtful and friendly, and keen to see the guests' comfort satisfied and the reputation of his hotel held high.
We booked car hire through the hotel reception (as suggested by another guest report) and were not disappointed by the vehicle and the rental terms.
All the staff at The King Jason take great pride in their jobs and were always very helpful.

If there was one criticism it would be the speed of the wi-fi connection in both the hotel lobby, and also in the apartment. But if you try to use the free wi-fi access in the cafés or public areas of Paphos where it is available, the speed of connection is similarly slow. So perhaps The King Jason is no different from other locations.

However this hotel apartment complex is excellent and being in a quiet residential area is in fact a decided advantage. It is only a short stroll from the harbour area. Because our visit was in January it was not possible to use the amazing hydro-contact pool - it was just too cool. So there is obviously only one answer, to go back when the weather is warmer and we would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to The King Jason.

Thanks to all at The King Jason for a relaxing, quality stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for staying at the King Jason and for sharing your thoughts with the online community.

We are touched to bear the title of 'exceptional hotel', as mentioned by your review, and to read how much our warm and hassle free welcome meant to you. Additionally, it was great to see your appreciation of our comfortable rooms, our sumptuous buffet, our live cooking area, our location and our courteous staff. As for the wifi, we do confirm that internet speeds in Cyprus are not yet up to the UK standards however we are slowly getting there.

Thanks again for your amazing review and we hope to welcome you again in summer, where you can experience the full luxury of our hydro pool.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I have just returned after a week in mid January 2013 for my birthday. I must say the customer service is second to none, the food was well prepared and a huge choice will satisfy even the fussiest of us. I have eczema and am allergic to a lot of foods, but even I had a choice of the foods I could eat every day. The "naughty" deserts counter will soon make you put on weight if you wish to enjoy yourself (you are on holiday after all) but does have a huge "healthy option" range of fruits for the health conscious. I would recommend half board at least, as the food is truly superb and caters for all tastes, and every type of beverage is also available from plain water right up to good quality champagne.
The rooms are modern and well planed out and we had no complaints with the cleanliness and daily chamber maid service. We were greeted with a small taster of the local wine on the main table a nice touch, and very nice it was too! Our room was well equipped with T.V.with a movie channel in english and sky news and even sky sports1 for the football! A DVD player and a fully functioning kitchenette (microwave, toaster, two ring cooker, kettle, fridge freezer e.t.c.) The location is good, has it's own mini supermarket, three pools, gym and all was kept in clean usable condition. A hire car is not essential but we found it helpful to get around the island and to be spontaneous when going out and about, they drive on the same side of the road as us, the steering wheel is on the right side and the road signs are the same as ours and well sign posted so you can't really get lost, I'm glad we hired a car and would do the same again, parking at the hotel was a breeze and parking and driving in Cyprus generally is a delight compared to London .
The hotel manager Andreas with Maria and all of the staff deserve a special mention..
Andreas is the all seeing eye and will help you with anything you need and nothing is too much trouble and Maria is the lovely all knowing oracle and her local knowledge of places to go, what busses to catch to get there and what is worth seeing is astonishing and is extremely helpful when planning your days and may I take this opportunity to thank each and every member of staff for making our stay and in particular my Birthday a very special one.
Cyprus is a beautiful place, this hotel and the staff that run it was the cherry on top and we would stay there again no problem, no question. Great value for money...
Thanks again to all...Missing the country and all of you already..Patrick & Linda.x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the King Jason team we would like to congratulate you on your birthday and to thank you for choosing our hotel for your special occasion.

We are very glad that our customer service amazed you, and well prepared and varied food could satisfy your demanding appetite; that our delicious desserts made you forget about your diet can only be taken as a compliment, however we are delighted that you note our provision of many healthy options as well. It is nice that you liked our modern rooms, and that you werre impressed with their cleanliness. We are delight to hear that our small present and our lovely and helpful staff made your birthday special and memorable.

We will be glad to see you again at the King Jason as our guest.

Best wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week between 13th may 2012 and 20th may 2012.

Overall our stay at the King Jason was fairly good, we were self catering but there were plenty of very very good cheap eats about, typical day was breakfast full english 2 euros, lunch from a local bakery 2 euros and main meal 11 euros each includin wine from many of the promenade restaurants, so dont rush into the full board option, a family of 4 eatin out for 1 week would set you back 350euros approx. The new hydro pool is superb, very relaxin and def worth going too.

The rooms were of adequate size, plenty of space and of course sky sports which i personally enjoyed, only drawback of our ground floor 1bed apt was the slugs..... Not the cats once you shooed the away they didnt really bother you but the slugs wer a diff story, after our 1st full day we done a little hand washin, hats t-shirts anythin with lotion on it and we hanged it out over night to dry and the next morning was slug trails over eveything, and the consistently pestered our patio area for the whole week the children were beside themselves at the thought of bein out there with THEM..... lol.
But that is our only gripe, everythin else was spot on, staff wer exceptionally nice and helpful, our thanks 2 them.

Word of advice, if you go 2 nicosia take your passport to enter the turkish side, we didnt and got refused at the border, we wer never aware of this as the guide books and thomson reps do not state thatyou have 2, but thomson does state it 4 their excursions to famagusta but not there trip 2 nicosia.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hairydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the King Jason and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It's nice to read that you appreciated the new hydro pool, the friendliness of our staff, the size of our rooms and our satellite TV. We are however sorry to read that you faced some problems with nature and to be frank, we were not aware of this issue. Rest assured that we will keep our eyes open for this in the future and will to our utmost to prevent it from happening again. Nevertheless we do hope for your understanding that in an area with natural vegetation, experiences like yours may occur from time to time.

We hope that the issue you mentioned will not deter you from visiting our hotel in the future; it would be an honour to welcome you again.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 88 in Paphos
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Property: The King Jason Paphos
Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing