We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Would recommend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel (12th - 26th September), and I can only say that HSquires must have been at a completely different hotel! Sure, the pool bar closes at 7.00pm sometimes (having been open open all day, and had daily happy hours from 15.00 to 17.00!), but on most nights, when there are outdoor events on, it remained open, plus waiter service. There are also two other bars, which have happy hours at different times of the day. I think I know the barmaid referred to, and she was a bit miserable, but,hey, she wanted to close up for the day. The rest of the staff were unfailingly friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble. They are also efficient and hard working, so let's get things in perspective.
There was entertainment most nights, outside the first week we were there and inside last week. This comprised of a male singer doing covers, Greek dancing, a latin - themed dance troupe, a man/woman duo, a single guitarist and the seemingly inevitable kaoroke (which was a bit incongruous, given the hotel and clientle). Perhaps HSquires was too busy compiling his unduly negative report to notice! Emeraldtrixie's review is far more accurate and fair.
The hotel is a little dated and tired in parts, but spotlessly clean throughout. The clientle are mostly middle-class, middle-aged or elderly couples, and if this is your scene, for a quiet relaxing holiday, then you can't do better.
My only moan would be to echo the views expressed by other reviewers regarding the selfish 'reserving' of sunbeds, I am ashamed to say by the British holidaymakers, who get up at unearthly hours to drape towels over 'their' sunbeds (usually exactly the same one everyday!) and then go into breakfast. I even overheard at breakfast two couples commiserating with each other, as some people who were even sadder had beaten them to 'their' sunbeds! Get a life! The hotel and holiday companies should certainly take action to prevent this annoying practice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YorkshireSpartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

Checking in to the Hotel was no problem, quick and efficient without any hold ups which was exactly what we needed after such a long days travelling. The room was clean and tidy and the sea view was better than we had expected, a good start! After unpacking we thought we'd get ourselves a drink from the pool bar and walk down and sit by the sea only to be greated by the grumpiest looking barmaid I'd ever seen who seemed to be very put out that we actually wanted something! Anyway she served us our drinks...in plastic cups!.. and closed the shutters for the night (7pm!) The Grounds leading up to the sea was dark as most of the lights had also been switched off, a real shame. The rest of the holiday ran along the same theme, very unfriendly staff in the main, very expensive to eat/drink there and little entertainment in the evenings (unless you enjoy listening to 'Shaggy's' CD on the PA over and over and over again)! However, there was a karoke night when we first got there but the majority of the guests must of been in their late 60's - 70's and simply weren't interested which to me shows the management's lack of understanding of their guests requirements. As I mentioned earlier we were lucky to have a decent room with a balcony which we made the most of during the day, then went out in to town in the evenings as our Hotel seemed to shut up shop around 7pm. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this hotel but annoyingly it could be really good if only they did two things; employed friendly staff who actually smiled once in a while and keep the pool bar area open so guests could buy a drink and watch the sun setting over the sea...simples!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Just got back on Sunday and had to add my views to all the others. Yes the location is not brilliant it is about a 45 min walk to the harbour, but there are loads of places to eat round the corner, not many shops however. The beach walk is fantastic only two rough places so watch out for them. Out of all the hotels on the strip this is by far the best. The staff were great, we had a problem with the shower head and it was replaced within an hour. The food was very good plenty of choice, but of course it was not very hot, but this is the norm we have found. Breakfast was excellent so much to choose from. Drinks was as expected price wise, but they did a happy hour between 6pm and 7pm every night and they were half price. Well worth the effort of going down for this as sitting in the terrace watching the sun go down was perfect. Would recommend that you hire a car and get out and about as the area is so beautiful and very easy to find your way around especially as they drive in the saame side as us. All in all a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lorna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Pioneer Beach Hotel. We wanted a lazy, relaxing time and had just that. Our room on the 3rd floor had quite a large balcony from which we watched a thunderstorm one night with a complimentary bottle of wine. The room was very comfortable, and clean with plenty of wardrobe space. We found the room hot but the air conditioning eventually did its job. We had pool/beach towels which were changed daily if you needed that. We were B&B but ate in the hotel a couple of times in the evening, and it was very good with a very varied selection and plenty of food. We went out to eat and liked Opus, a small-ish restaurant not very far up the main road to the left, on the other side of the road. It is a family-run restaurant and the food is very good and the staff are lovely and provide excellent service.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast but found the scrambled egg of a mystifying texture. Everything else was really good - the omelettes and pancakes are made as you wait and are delicious. We liked the little beach and the garden/poolside area. One day we went to Cairo for the day and as we were going down in the lift at 6.15am were joined by an elderly couple going down to put towels on the loungers!! I think this should definitely be discouraged - there is plenty of room and this is silly! Incidentally, that trip is well worth the money - what you pack into the day is real value. We liked the verandah for drinks in the evening - fantastic sunsets to be seen from there. The evening entertainment is a bit hackneyed - old style crooner mangling nice old standards, but some seemed to like it. I would say that Coral Bay is not all it's cracked up to be but others may disagree. We would definitely go back to this hotel for a similar kind of holiday and one week was just right.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner & I chose Paphos as our destination for a short relaxing break. We booked our holiday back in June through a travel agency. On the 21st we arrived at the Pioneer Beach Hotel at around 9pm to check in due to a long drive from Larnaca airport. The receptionist asked for our name and said ''I've got some news for you..'' .. you've been "upgraded" to one of our sister hotels as we're overbooked!!!!!!!!!! what?! .. The receptionist added that this may have been a result of late booking .. late booking in June? I don't think so!!!!! and if so, why weren't we informed?? as it turned out the travel agency were not even informed of this. In return we have been upgraded to a Superior Room and FB at the Athena Beach Hotel which was OK .. however we did choose the Pioneer Beach Hotel for a reason and felt this was a scam by the company especially because we are surely not the first couple that were in this same situation ,therefore, overbooking in this hotel was nothing out of the norm and surely not a one time only mistake .. I felt like they waited until we got there to spit it out as from there we had no turning back except to accept the offer, go to a different hotel and still earn the company money !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! By the way .. I didn't mention that the hotel that was chosen for us allowed kids, not that I have a problem with that as we have a 4 yr old, however, this was one of the reasons why we chose Pioneer Beach as we wanted to relax for 4 days wihout any kids running around. If I had to consider returning to Paphos I will surely not consider the Constantinou Bros Hotels as there is a great possibility that this may happen once again.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank SvtMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Relaxing /Calm/ Enjoyable sums up the Pioneer Beach Hotel

The hotel has always had very positive reviews until recently – and I was concerned prior to our departure that it had gone badly down hill, fear it as that was far from the case. The Pioneer is a good quality 4* European Hotel. There are a few minor points but they are minor overall. We had a great holiday there.

Two weeks from 6 September with Thomas Cook on half board basis.

The hotel – is very clean and the public areas are bright and well maintained. There are a few areas that do need a bit updating but nothing too serious.

The staff – loads of them and all very pleasant and hardworking. They seem to work non-stop , there is the odd one who finds smiling or saying hello a challenge but overall that does not take away from the rest of the crew who were a total delight and it would be wrong to pick any of them out, that goes for the ground staff as much as any other member.

The bedroom – we were in 131 the room was a good size with loads of storage (including lots of hangers which is good). The rooms could do with a bit of modernisation but that’s just a décor thing and not a major issue. We had an inland view (well of the front car park but that was interesting watching the coming and goings). The balcony was small but enough for two people.

The Food – loads and loads of it. The quality was usually very good. The breakfast had everything you could imagine and your eggs are cooked fresh on demand ( I strongly recommend the poached – ive never eat 2 eggs for breakfast in my life before). Strangely the bacon is deep fried but most didn’t seem to mind. Dinner always had a theme most were excellent the only disappointing was the Brazilian themed night and I felt their salad bar was a bit lacking. I would recommend only going half board for say 7 days and eating out as well. You can upgrade to half board for 4 or 7 days when you book in.

Prices – very reasonable. At lunch time we eat on the onsite café Regina which had loads of choice and compared to our previous experience was very reasonable. Drink was also reasonable esp for the Euro zone. 2 Vodkas and mixers 11.80 euro (last year in Greece it cost us 16 euro and recently in Dublin 17 euro) so for hotel prices they were good.

The Pool – was great having no kids about the pool (actually overall having no kids about was excellent). Now be warned if you want a sun- lounger by the pool you do need to be up very early to hog a bed say 7/7.30 (crazy as there is loads of beds on the grass and on the beach) – PS the hotel provide towels for the pool/beach and they are changed daily.

The Beach – this is were we spent our day. Sandy/Single beach, private although you get the odd passer by. Because the beach has a man made boundary of rocks it does cause a problem with seaweed and rubbish on the main part of the beach – staff do try to keep it manageable. I would recommend you go to the far right of the beach and enter the sea from there is clean, calmer and sandier (apart from the rocks that are obvious)

Shops – the nearest shops are about 12 minutes walk away (leave the hotel and turn left), phone cards can b bought in the supermarket for the “yellow” phone stands.

Paphos – the harbour is about 35/40 mins walk from the hotel . There is a local bus service at 1.50 each which is good and a taxi will cost between 8-10 euros . It there are a number of people waiting on the bus a shared taxi is always good value they charge you each the same price as the bus – and it’s a good way to meet new people

Other Guests – never meet a more mannered and friendlier if not over bearing crowd.. Mostly over 55 although also some younger couples – including a couple that got married (good luck guys) and honeymooners. Also popular with people with mobility problems or disabilities, single people holidaying on their own etc.

Other places to eat – definitely try the French restaurant Gabor (on main road to Paphos), Sakura Japanese Restaurant just as you enter the buzz of the town (brilliant eating experience – a real treat). There is a good Mexican at the shopping centre (expect loads of food so maybe just a shared starter and a mains). Would not recommend Grazie as advertised in the Thomas Cook map etc (its over priced, over rated, bland food and service is not up to much – wine list was very inflated)

Would I recommend the Pioneer Beach Hotel – YES DEFINITELY – and I would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrendanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was our first trip to Cyprus and found it to be a relaxing enjoyable holiday. On arrival we were disappointed with our room as it felt very small and the balcony was tiny, we were however moved to a superior room within an hour which was bigger and had great views of the sea, we were charged 10euros a day extra for this (the hotel had wanted 23). We couldnt get our room cool enough, but Flawia saved the day by giving us an extra door key so we could leave the a/c on all day.
The food was very good, masses to choose from and lots of chefs cooking, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The pool area is clean and plenty of sunbeds, we never found it a problem getting somewhere to sit. The sea was lovely and warm and clear and the beach was cleaned regularly.
We had a great holiday and would return here again as feeling very chilled out after our ten days there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $195 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing