We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pioneer Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paphos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pioneer Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, beautiful situation, food to die for, staff very friendly. We had a poolside/sea view room with spectacular sunsets. Only downside was it was too hot for us 40 degrees but that was no fault of the hotel! We will be back when the heat is more bearable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragdoll475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    463
    146
    32
    14
See reviews for
72
1,425
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Pioneer Beach. Having read some of the bad reviews of this hotel I think this hotel has seen many improvements in the last couple of years.

The staff at this hotel are amazing, they are so friendly and welcoming. You see the same faces from the morning breakfast shift to lunch and then to the evening. They obviously work very hard and they are doing a fantastic job.

The food is amazing, so much choice and very tasty. So glad we were only half board and there for 7 nights as I would hate to think how much weight I would have put on if we could have had any more!

We found no problem getting a sun bed, the latest we went down was 9.30am and still managed to get two right at the pool.

The rooms were nice enough and most important for me, clean. The bed was very large and very comfy. We had a little fridge which could fit a good few large bottles of water in if you take the shelves out.

It's about 40 minutes walk to the harbour, the scenic beach way along the path and about 5-10 minutes walk to a much larger shop and some different choice of bars and a couple of restaurants.

The only reason I have given a rating of 4 instead of 5 is to do with a misunderstanding with a restaurant manager and the poor customer service we experienced due to this. If you are half board you may have a voucher for lunch instead of eating dinner in the hotel restaurant. Perfect for us one day when we were going to a wedding and wouldn't be at our hotel in the evening. We used the voucher for lunch no bother. A couple of days later we decided to go out to a different restaurant in the evening for dinner. We went to the harbour in the day and so didn't want lunch at the hotel so were willing to just forfeit a meal that day and accept due to personal choice that we had lost money. On our way out for dinner at 7.30pm that night we decided to ask on the off chance that perhaps we could have a lunch voucher for the following day in place of the meal we were missing that night. We asked guest services and explained we weren't eating at the hotel that evening and wondered if due to missing this meal at the hotel could we have a lunch voucher for the following day. The lady said this was absolutely fine and asked reception for a voucher for us. We left thinking great, glad we asked. Next day, our last day, we had lunch at the hotel using our voucher and went to dinner at the hotel as usual. We had just sat down to our main course when we were very rudely spoken to by a manager (annoyingly no name badge but had a long tie instead of a bow tie so we knew he wasn't a waiter) in front of other diners saying we shouldn't be eating in the restaurant as we had lunch, we explained how we got the voucher and he would not listen, just kept shaking his head and telling us that it doesn't roll on to the next day. I said perhaps you need to speak to reception about this as we explained to them what we were doing and they said it was fine. He had to have the last word on the matter and left us. I was very upset by this, we had such a brilliant time at Pioneer and being spoken to like this on our last evening left a very bitter taste. We both felt like we were not welcome in the restaurant by this man and didn't end up staying around for that nights entertainment as we originally planned to (lost revenue for them in drinks). I think what happened to us would be easy to rectify by giving guests a clear statement of the rules regarding lunch vouchers etc. and ensuring reception staff are fully aware of this (if that manager was correct in saying it cannot run over to a different day). This was just a one off incident and although it was quite upsetting to be spoken to like this on our last night in Cyprus (when we had done nothing wrong!) this was the only time we had received bad customer service as everyone really is so pleasant and helpful. We did pass this incident on to our holiday rep who was very surprised and said how very upset the hotel manager would be as customer service must be consistent and they aim to give the best customer service.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room through Thomson and while we could see an area of wasteland from our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rooty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

From the orange juice, champagne and cool towel on arrival to the champagne on ice the day before departure, it is the level of service that places this hotel and group above the usual rank of holiday hotels. Every guest is welcomed equally and the differentiated rooms and board bases allows everyone to pay for and receive the level of benefits they require, and to receive an appropriate card to show at payment. We had booked a superior sea view on an all inclusive basis because we like to enjoy a sizeable room with a good view and to only carry spending money. As a guest in a superior room, we were entitled to take breakfast in the Christiana restaurant, which was quiet and with a high level of personal service. As it opens at 8am, on one occasion we ate a breakfast in the main, Odysseus restaurant, where there are small differences, such as plastic rather than stainless steel coffee pots and the strawberries I was getting used to enjoying with my cereal were absent. The service was less personal, but had we not been to the Christiana before, we would have been perfectly happy with the main restaurant overall. At lunch, we chose to eat in the Regina restaurant, which is a self service buffet complete with trays, and where payment is made at a till. Staff, however, would then carry our trays for us to a table, which was a little bizarre, but we soon got used to it. As an all inclusive guest, we were entitled to eat in one of the a la carte restaurants every evening, but this always had to be booked the day before. An advantage of eating in the Christiana restaurant in the evening is that the outside seating is relatively close to the poolside entertainment area, so by booking an appropriate meal time slot, it is possible to enjoy the low key entertainment while eating. The menu was equal to a London restaurant and benefited from the same, high level of service. Mostly, though, since my husband eats a very limited range of food and prefers a buffet, we ate in the main restaurant during the evenings, where the food was also of a high quality and included starters through to cheese and biscuits if desired. Unlike in the Christiana, a finishing coffee wasn't available, but could easily be taken in one of the bars and I usually enjoyed an Amaretto one, which came topped with cream. We didn't try the Thalasso Restaurant in the evenings, but were seated there on a couple of occasions at lunch. It overlooks the sea and is by the Cabanas, which gives you the opportunity to muse whether you should have booked a deluxe room - though the cabanas alone, we discovered, can be booked if available, for 40 euros a day. We, though, chose to recline by the pool, where a poolside lounger can generally still be found by around 10 am. It is lovely to slip from a sun bed into the warm pool, though if you wish to do serious swimming, then early or late is preferable. It is, after all, a couples hotel and whilst there is a good mix of ages, during the main part of the day the pool looks as though it is full of mating frogs. You can swim round them, though, they don't move much, and the day can be passed quite pleasurably enjoying a Pimms and the cocktails of the day, especially if you have booked all inclusive...There are also daily aqua aerobics, which women do and men watch - and an occasional free opportunity to learn how to dive, although a further, paid, diving excursion seemed to be pushed upon those who took part - no such thing as a free lunch, so to speak. As we were only at the Pioneer for a week, we did one excursion, a 4x4 experience, which, for once, lived up to its title. We were in the lead jeep, driven by 'Zeuss,' who drove safely, but exhilaratingly bumpily off-road. Our excursion details had neglected to mention the 30 minutes each way clamber over uneven rocks and paths through a gorge, which we enjoyed, though a couple of less mobile ladies had to abandon - and neither were we told that there would be an hour after lunch for swimming. We, though, went for a walk and enjoyed that more, as we could swim at our resort. The lunch was the best we've had on an excursion, with a real desire shown to find something for everybody, and wine or juice included. It was a lovely day out without a single, carpet-factory-type, purchasing opportunity and definitely worth booking for Zeuss' commentary alone. Aside from organised excursions, the hotel is served by a bus stop just on the far side of the roundabout on the main front road. A single journey (we were going to the harbour) would have been 1.5 euros, though while we were waiting for a bus, two taxis stopped, offering to take any four passengers for a fixed price. The first one offered just over the bus fare, but the second offered the same price, so four of us took it as it was rather hot waiting. The only downside was that we didn't get to try the bus as we walked back later - though this is not a 30 minute walk. I am a painfully slow walker, though I am not old (!) and it took us 55 minutes with the occasional pause for the view and the heat. It would take most people around 40 minutes. At the harbour, I should mention, the castle was closed in preparation for an opera to be performed there shortly and the shops are touristy, though there is a Debenhams. Most shops are inland at the old town, which with a shopophobic husband, I didn't visit. It was nice to walk round the harbour area, though, and we did see a group riding segways, which looked fun. The Thomson reps, of course, don't mention anything other than their own activities, though they will help you organise something like the segways if you mention it to them. On our last morning, we explored the waste land to the rear left of the hotel where a beautiful white and blue chapel has been newly built, presumably just for weddings. We did see one wedding party whilst we were at the Pioneer - they had to pass the pool area and people clapped and cheered as they passed.
On the final day, we had booked a taxi transfer and were given a card with an 11.45 am departure time, though reception rang our room at 11 to say it had arrived. Luckily, we were ready, but the wait at the airport seemed very long and noisy with little to do - very few shops and charging around £5, I gather, for a sandwich. The premier room, at £25, might, after all, be worth it. The flight, though, also, left a few minutes early and arrived home around half an hour ahead of schedule, which was lovely. Would we return to the Pioneer? A definite YES. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the friendly and approachable manager was always visible, often welcoming you at the entrance to the restaurants and showing you to a table personally if all other staff were busy. As a final note,I would say that I have been to Cyprus three times now, twice in August and once in October and overall, prefer the gentler heat out of season when its easier to get around. My preference would be to return in Spring, when the flowers, Zeuss said, are lovely :-)

Room Tip: From a sea view room, you will hear the evening entertainment, which finishes promptly at eleven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had opted for a relaxing holiday and this hotel was perfect. Sea, Sun, sunbathing area, a nice cool breeze and great hotel staff. The room was well lit, spacious and clean. The food was really good. The only thing which did upset us was that at around mid-day the pool is warm but we could opt for sea or indoor pool which was cool. A big thank you to all the staff and look forward to enjoy another relaxing holiday.

Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool are. It was great and never noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we got to the hotel we were made to feel special. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful- check in took a few minutes and a porter was there straight away to take our cases to our room. We had a lovely pool side/ sea view room, which was cleaned to a high standard. The pool area and beach area always had sun beds and parasols, even if you had a lie in. The food at this hotel was the best we have had at an all inclusive hotel, and the service was excellent, we were never kept waiting for a table or our food. The staff were very friendly and all need a mention because the atmosphere is also what made the hotel so nice. The staff work so hard and are always smiling.Each night they have a live singer, it was nice to sit in bar or outside in the evening relaxing listening to Andy or the other lady singers. There were also theme nights which were good. The hotel is a short distance from the airport, we had a taxi from airport rather than go in the coach, as it was about a 10 minute taxi ride. The hotel offers a chioce of different board basis and this was confusing at times because you can't go in all restaurants if ur not in a superior room, but we soon got used to it.Overall this hotel was excellent, we had the lovely relaxing holiday which we needed so much, we highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Great weather, good food, very good service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and in good condition. Only a short distance on the local bus to Paphos harbour. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: It pays to have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springer1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have little to add to previous reviews, but felt obliged to reiterate what others have said.
The location is wonderful. I am not a sunbathing type, and did not spend any time by the beautiful pool, but was happy to sit on a sunbed, under an umbrella by the sea for a couple of hours each day, watching the waves and the palms, with a gorgeous breeze to battle the intense heat of the day.
We spent many happy hours exploring the fabulous archaeology surrounding Paphos, and found the buses excellent and convenient.
Wine was available in the local Papantoniou supermarket at 2 euros a litre, beer could be had at the harbour for 2 euros a litre during happy hour, so expenditure could be minimised.
The level of service and attention to detail in all areas of the hotel was outstanding.
I can unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea or pool view, the "mountain" views looked rather barren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OolaTeatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.7 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#4 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing