We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, can't wait to go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Louis Phaethon Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

we were recommended this hotel by friends (who holidayed with us). as they have small children and had been twice in last 12 months. we booked direct with the hotel and after a 2 hour drive arrived. We were told that we would have a delay in checking into our room ( we arrived 2 hours before check in time!) but were given our all inclusive bands straight away compensate and had full use of the facilities..
The food was very varied and the separate kids station at evening meal was fantastic. The staff couldnt do more for us, extremely helpful. The "Animation" entertainment team work day & night and were all very friendly and welcoming. stopping to chat to the kids, and the evening entertainment was varied and lots of fun, alot of planning has gone into it and they do not stop..
Ok, so the rooms are in need of a lick of paint but they were kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping (daily)... but they were comfy and had air con..
I would like to see mosquito screens on the patio doors though, especially for pool-side rooms..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebs0396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,438 - 4,444 of 5,041 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have just returned from a week long stay at this hotel, booked as a last minute break.We went all inclusive. I was wary after reading some of the reviews here, but my feeling now is that it very much depends on what you want from a holiday.
The hotel is dated and in need of the upcoming overhaul. It was extremely hot (up to 40 degrees) while we were there and the air conditioning throughout the hotel struggled to cope. The corridors leading to the rooms were like a sauna. It was also turned off in the communal areas at midnight, which was extremely uncomfortable. All of this I am sure will be rectified by the refurb its about to undergo.
Our room was very small for 3 of us, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway, except to escape the heat.
It has all been said before about the food, which was plentiful, with a good selection. We did eat out a few times tho as it was a bit repetitive, and the dining room is huge, busy & noisy.
The pool was also extremely busy, crowded, with loud music and loads of (very happy looking!!) children with inflatables.Lots of activities going on with aqua aerobics, volleyball etc. It is dangerously slippery around the pool but staff did their best to mop up water and put signs up. Sunbeds were hard to come by after breakfast. A second pool would improve things I'm sure. We spend most of the time on the small beach nearby, where it was cooler & quieter (sunbeds cost 2.50 each there) and the sea was lovely, shallow and warm.
There are 4 computers in the bar area so there was always a queue to get on particularly at night (it cost 1 Euro for 10 mins)
We went to the harbour a few nights, there are loads of bars and restaurants and shops (including some well known British brands!)
The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times and worked flat out from morning to night. My teenager enjoyed it because of the friends she met there, but there was very little for them to do in the evenings. The evening entertainment was shows, bingo, hypnotists, so they entertained themselves mostly.
We did enjoy our time in Paphos, but would not return to this hotel in its current condition.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityssliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I agree wtih the last 2 good reports, think the other reviews must have gone with high expectations. I agree the rooms are a bit dated. But everything worked in our room including the air con.
The food is excellent so much so that I did aqua gym in the pool everyday and went running on a morning so I could fit into my clothes when I came home!. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the reception including the manager and assistant manager they were really good.
The animation team work really hard to please everyone without being too pushy .There were plenty of sunbeds so why people had the need to put there towels on the beds at night I dont know.

There isnt a beach as such but the watersports are great . If you want a beach there are a few just a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel is a bit far out of paphos harbour but there is a bus every 15 mins and cost 1 euro. The bus stop is right outside the hotel.

We didnt go all inclusive we were half board because we hired a car and went exploring this beautiful Island.

Only down side and its a bit petty but there isnt a Kettle (I like my cup of coffee in the morning) No Fridge and No towels for the Sunbed but apart from that we would definitely go back .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Had a great time with my 9 year old son. Animation and kids club, great food and nice accomodation made this a holiday that can be relaxing, energetic or a mix. Great to go with Thomson who have really made an effort from start to beginning to make the holiday no hassle .

Only bad point - the rudest person in the world is the manageress of the the shop in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Please ignore the previous reports about this hotel we came in june and stayed for 2 weeks and was by far the best i've been to, hotel rooms slightly basic but at the end of the day all you do is sleep in them, air conditioning excellent, rooms clean and tidy and maids did an excellent job 7 days a week. When we arrived the hotel staff where very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you, The bar staff where fantastic nothing was ever too much trouble and the food throughout the day by the pool again of excellent standard, huge variety and tooooooo many drinks to choose from. Animation team did their best, dido was excellent others slightly annoying but made the effort, Evening meals where different class, different food every night, huge selection and dining areas always clean and tidy, The beaches where lovely just a 1 minute walk to beautiful sandy beaches and the guys on the water sports section where fantastic, did jet skies and a half day cruise strongly recomended. Will definately be going back next year especially as it is being updated in the winter
Great great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james19Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in. I have holidayed in Cyprus for the past 6 years. There is no beach just filthy muddied water for the first 30 yards. The animation team walk around by the pool all day blowing their whistles. Larnica and Aldo think they are great, they need to go back to stage school. (Don't go to this hotel it is awful) .The food by the pool is rubbish and the beer is watered down . The food in the restaurant is ok , plenty of choice, but cold food yogurt etc is not kept on ice, it is left out uncovered in hot room for hours on end. Had an upset stomach for the whole length of stay at this hotel. No stomach problems at the Ledra.I f you have your evening meal on the terrace you have to fight off the many ferral cats. They will remove food from your plates. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms are filthy and smell. The corridors are long and dreary. I lasted four days at this dump and upgraded to the Ledra beach. There is no way that this hotel is a 4 star. The Ledra beach was fantastic.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank cmay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Good points:
Food was excellent, very British
Great entertainment for kids. Animation team put on some good shows.
Pool area was good size
Friendly and helpful staff

Bad points:
It's a 45 min walk down a main road to the Harbour .The nearest super market is a 15 min walk.Basically this is the last hotel from the Harbour and shops.
Hotel rooms are out of date and are way to small for 2 adults and 2 kids.
The main entertainment room is underneath the hotel ,which we used to call the cave because it is so dark and hot down there.The A/C does not come on until 9pm.
There is not a beach at this hotel but if you walk 5 mins down the front you will come to a deserted beach wich is rubbish.The best beach to go to is in coral bay, but you will have to get the bus which takes 25 mins.
Warning!! lock away your daughters from Chris the guy who cant keep still and his break dancing mate both from the Animation team ,these 2 guys are very slimy!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#8 of 84 in Paphos
3,622 reviews
2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Phaethon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Phaethon Beach

Address: 22 Theos Aphrodite Avenue, Geroskipou, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Family Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $127 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Louis Phaethon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Phaethon Beach 4 star hotel in Pafos is located on the Paphos coast near the picturesque harbor and only 10 km from Paphos International Airport. Louis Phaethon Beach is also an all inclusive hotel in Pafos located directly on the beach, with an unlimited Mediterranean Sea view. Relax at the Louis Phaethon Health Club, enjoy a swim in one of our indoor or outdoor pools or forget your stress and go for a steam bath or a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louis Phaethon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Phaethon Beach Paphos
Phaethon Hotel
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing