We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Give this hotel a miss'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Louis Phaethon Beach
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We have just got back from staying at this hotel and it is beyond doubt, the worst hotel we have ever stayed in! Having paid our travel agent for a room with a sea view we were shown to a very shabby room with no sea view, overlooking the kitchens and with a distinct odour of food. Following a swift complaint, we were moved to a less shabby room overlooking the outdoor drinking area. It was clear the hotel 'manager' wasn't happy about the complaint stating that he would move us as a 'goodwill gesture'.

We were staying half board, however, it soon became clear that most people were all inclusive and there appeared to be a drive at the start of the holiday to encourage people to convert to this with an extra payment. One night we were not offered a drinks menu at all whereas the all inclusive guests could help themselves to prepared drinks from a table. The food was distinctly average and as a previous reviewer has stated, very similar to canteen food with few local dishes. As a consequence, we started to go out more locally and tended to get up late, missing breakfast.

This hotel is predominantly focused on families and we would definitely not recommend it for a romantic getaway. Previous reviews have commented on the 'friendly staff' whereas from start to finish we could only describe them as disinterested, grumpy and unskilled.

The bus service is good. However, a taxi to Paphos will generally cost approximately 10 euros for a 2 mile journey. The bars and restaurants approx 10 minutes walk from the hotel were varied and of good quality. We hired a car for 2 days and this proved to enhance the holiday as we went up to the Trodus Mountains and found some lovely beaches towards Latsi.

On the whole,we would reccomend to give the hotel a miss!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,723)
There are newer reviews for Louis Phaethon Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,374 - 4,380 of 4,723 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

Hotel is definitely not 4Star, more like an average 3 star. Bathrooms were tiny,tiles had mould on them and were cracked. The shower curtains so thin they stuck to you. The towels were like rags, I dry my dog on better towels at home. The dispenser for shampoo and soap had the most disgusting stuff in, smelt and felt like cheap washing up liquid. (However, maids did keep it clean-1 good point!)
The balconies were tiny.
There is only one restaurant at night which is always buffet service. No air con on for breakfast so absolutely stifling. Food was okay but nothing special. People were touching food with their hands which is disgusting - no signs to say use tongs.
In the bar area it seemed they only had one cd which was the Carpenters, depressing at any time.
Pool was large but 75% of it was over 2 metres deep so unless you are a good swimmer not good for cooling off in. Shallower end was packed. Pool shut early to be cleaned as problem with 'poo' in it. Seems to be a real problem going on other people's reviews.
Beach was non existent, public beach next door full up with locals and groups of teenagers and not very clean at all.
Nearest decent beach is a bus ride away.
Hotel is right on the edge of Paphos and no shops or eating places less than 15 mins walk away. Taxis in the area are really expensive, 7 Euros anywhere.

Very over rated to say the least.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clarksabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Just came back from a two week holiday with 2 young children. The hotel is rated as 4* but I would rate it as 2*, with exception to the restaurant as a 3*. In my opinion the hotel was dreadful. On the first two days the pool was closed all day due to kids pooing in the pool. Each day the weather was fab and we would take the route outside to breakfast, not very pleasant with the wiff of the souer in the air with most days the drains being brought up - digusting, I spent two days at the pool in total and the smell was constant.

I agree with someone else's comments if you have a tattoo then you'll fit in well...

Also the hotel is way out in the sticks no shops around, the nearest is about 15mins walk depending on houw fast you go.

Will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beachScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Room: Our room was reasonably clean but was a bit dusty in places. Bathroom needed redecoration with evidence of rust and mildew. There may have been mold in the room somewhere as we noticed a funny odour. Our air conditioning didn't work properly the last two nights and we were seriously overheated.

Restaurants: Very poor quality food and not enough local Cypriot cuisine.

Beach: Non-existent.

Pool: Pool is too small for number of guests. Pool may not be hygenic - there are lots of children and infants swimming without swimming nappies - the pool was evacuated on one occasion due to presence of fecal matter. The area around pool is too slippery and one child was very badly injured. There was sometimes a strange sulphorous smell around the pool. Mosquitoes are a big problem around the pool area as well as in the rooms. The constant noise from the animation (eg. reading out horoscopes) was irritating.

Bar and drinks: Excellent service with great waiters and waitresses.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ElleCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Just spent two weeks in this hotel and its ok but nothing special, definitely only a three star (as all the local brochures show). The hotel and rooms are dated and getting tatty. The pool area is rammed with sun beds and you look out of place there if you’re not covered in tattoos or have a football shirt on. Twice in the first week babies fowled the pool. They did start selling water nappies the second week although not everyone was using them. The room safe is an extra you have to pay for and fridges are only available really for medical requirements, if you want one email them and pre book it.

The food tasted nice but wasn’t very varied with things like steak and kidney pie, shepherd’s pie, chips fish and very few local dishes available. The carvery was nice though and the food was well cooked. It reminded me of army food where it’s just thrown out on a large scale, it tasted ok but you would be disappointed if you ordered it in a restaurant.

The plus sides were the staff, they were all fantastic with lots of Russian people working as waiters in the bar and everyone was very friendly.

Overall we didn’t have a bad holiday but we went out a fair bit towards the end as the food was getting so boring(the rib-shack down the road is fantastic) there are much better places to stay for the cost and we won’t be going back. There were four or five people we spoke to though who keep going back there, all I can think is they haven’t travelled much and seen what else is available.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanInAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Phaethon was absoluteley fantastic for my daughters wedding,The staff on the day worked really hard to make it special and everything went great.There were a few weddings while we were there and every couple looked happy and relaxed. We had a lot of children with our party and they all had a brill time.The food was lovely and all the staff were great.
The pool was the best pool i,ve been in,it was lovely and warm all the time.
Last but definatley not least were the animation team,the lads and girls really made my holiday, I was up til 1 am most nights avin a dance.They worked really hard and were freindly to everyone all the time.cheers!
We would go back to the Phaethon anytime.This hotel is what family holidays are all about.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vonnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

THIS HOTEL IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING FOR ALL AGES...
There is a creche for the younger ones, kids club for the older children and people above this age entertainment all day!
This is my second year and every single year this holiday has been AMAZING!
The views!
The BEST thing about this hotel are the animation team who are so friendly and they will make your holiday PERFECT!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank siesie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.8 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#8 of 85 in Paphos
3,331 reviews
4.3 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,742 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Phaethon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Phaethon Beach

Address: 22 Theos Aphrodite Avenue, Geroskipou, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#19 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $117 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Louis Phaethon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Phaethon Beach 4 star hotel in Pafos is located on the Paphos coast near the picturesque harbor and only 10 km from Paphos International Airport. Louis Phaethon Beach is also an all inclusive hotel in Pafos located directly on the beach, with an unlimited Mediterranean Sea view. Relax at the Louis Phaethon Health Club, enjoy a swim in one of our indoor or outdoor pools or forget your stress and go for a steam bath or a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louis Phaethon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Phaethon Beach Paphos
Phaethon Hotel
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing