We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Louis Phaethon Beach
Nearby Hotels
$196
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almyra Hotel(Paphos)
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Bay Hotel(Kissonerga)(Great Value!)
$95
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$194
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Boutique Hotel(Paphos)(Great Value!)
$76
$67
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,254)
Filter reviews
5,254 results
Traveler rating
3,499
1,234
355
103
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,499
1,234
355
103
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamchinese buffetthe lion kinglife guardsgreat holidayfun gamesbar staffsomething for everyoneall agesat lunchtimefantastic hotelshuffle boardevening showskids clubpirate shipplenty of choicefamily hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,804 - 3,809 of 5,254 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you're looking for a week in the sun for your young family, with excellent food and all round service then this is the place for you.

The Louis Phaethon (pronounced fire-thon) is a lovely hotel which has many of the usual all inclusive attributes. The rooms are small-ish as previous reviewers have commented on, we booked two interconnecting rooms so our 2 teenagers (18 and 15) could be near and this worked fine for us. It would have been good to have a fridge in the rooms as standard (you can pay extra for one), with daily refils of bottled water, soft drinks etc (I understand this is already done in some Louis hotels) although maybe that's the difference between a good 4* all inclusive and a 5*. We've been to Turkey a few times in 4* all inclusives and they all seem to provide this service as standard.

The air con was only just sufficient for the October heat (late 20s low 30 deg), if output is kept at the same during the summer months I'm certain we would not have been able to sleep in the evenings; I presume the holel makes allowances for this??? If not, and the summer's extreme heat is an issue for you, it's certainly something to consider before booking.

The food was as good as and better than most other all inclusives we've stayed at, there was always something available every hour of the day and the choice was exceptional and always well cooked. My daughter and I were particularly addicted to the cheesecakes, which were not your usual holiday look-alikes, but the real deal (oh well, you don't go on holiday to diet!! ) We were impressed with the food served in the pool bar at lunch time; a wide range of hot and cold snacks were available, which saved treking off to the main restaurant.

Staff were VERY pleasant and always helpful - my kids and husband took a liking to George who worked in several of the bar areas. He had a permanent smile on his face and served up endless rounds of 'shots'. I don't know if the hotel has a rigid interview policy to select the right personnel or that the staff just enjoy working there, but whatever the reasons are, keep up the fantastic work - service was second to none and a credit to the hotel.

The pool areas were good and the slides a great attraction. I know others have said that the lifeguards can be a bit 'Hitler-ish' in their ruling of the pools (I saw one insist that a lady not climb over the small wall into the pool, but go down the steps) but whatever keeps guests safe has to be a good thing. The hotel was at capacity the week we were there (21st to 29th Oct) and we never had a problem getting 4 loungers, although we did have to collect singles up and place them together - not an issue for us. A small note here (don't like to call it a negative really), we've been lucky enough to visit many 4 and 5* all inclusive hotels and the provision of pool towels is generally a standard service at this level; I hope this is something the hotel addresses in the future.

Finally, the First Choice and Thompson holiday reps worked tirelessly day and night to provide a wide variety of entertainment; BUT, personally I take exception to the First Choice brochure which states that this hotel is 'great for teenagers'.... it's not at all. We realised before booking that this would probably be the last time our 18 year old son would want to come away with us and with this in mind I looked for somewhere that catered for teenagers and took the brochure at it's word - mistake on my part. The reps aim the majority of activities at young children or adults, with nothing in between; I don't know what I was expecting exactly, but if the brochure advertises that it's great for teenagers, then I would have assumed that teenagers would be given 'special' attention. It wasn't enough to spoil our holiday, we just ended up spending money we didn't expect to keep him entertained (jet biking, quad safari etc)

All in all, this was a great holiday and would recommend to any family with young children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyJ00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Phaethon Beach we thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have so many positive things to say about our hotel. We are extremely happy that you thought that our staff was exceptionally friendly and service minded, and that you felt well taken care of throughout your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you consider our food to be better than in many other hotels you have stayed in previously. Here at the Louis Phaethon Beach we try hard to offer food of high quality and variety in our All Inclusive package so it is always nice to hear that we have earned our guests’ appreciation. It is also pleasing for us to hear that you appreciated our Water Park, pool area and attentive lifeguards. Regarding your comment about the A/C we can assure you that it is capable of cooling down the room even at the peak of summer, and if not our maintenance team are more than happy to come and take a look at it and make the necessary repairs. We thank you for your feedback regarding the fridge and pool towels and we will take a note of it along with other possible changes to consider for the future. It is true that the Louis Phaethon Beach is very well suited for families travelling with young children, but the Water Park is usually highly appreciated by guests of all ages, and we also offer other activities such as archery, green bowling, tennis etc. However, we are sorry if you found the options for teenagers a little bit disappointing but we are relieved to hear that your family still had a very enjoyable holiday.

Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending the Louis Phaethon Beach to other families with children. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Louis Hotels some time in the near future.

Yours sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned home from a brilliant week at this highly recommended hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff extremely helpful and always with a smile on their faces. A special mention to the bar staff who work their socks off waiting on guests. They're all friendly and chatty and remember what drinks you like....which is a nice touch. The alcohol in the all inclusive package included cocktails and every night a sample of the cocktails were given to the ladies, which was very nice. Brandy sours were definately the cocktail of choice for us and we had a few rough mornings to show for it!!! We didn't really go to any of the shows put on by the Animation team, prefering to stay in the bar upstairs but we were treated to the brilliant "Nicolas" who had everyone, including the staff, dancing around the bar. The guy who added to his act by getting on the mike and singing along to "Amarillo", I don't know your name, but you were brilliant and made the night!
The food is superbe, best we've ever had from an all inclusive, with plenty of choice throughout the day. The new water park area was fab, both for the kids and also the adults. It really adds to the appeal of the hotel, extending the grounds and you can always find sunbeds in the area you want to be.
The only negatives (and there's only 2) for us were:
1. The gym as stated elsewhere is very dated, hot and in need of some maintanence. That won't matter to the majority of guests but it wouldn't take much to improve this facility and would add to the already great features of this hotel.
2. The area that borders the beach front next to the water park, could be better as it just seems to merge into a dirt track/scrub land and was only seperated by some 3' posts linked by some bits of old rope. On our walks to the harbour we noticed other hotels (incl another Louis hotel) had laid nice stone paths and looked alot smarter.
Only minor points though and they did not detract from what is a brilliantly run hotel. Even though we went on this holiday as a couple, the family theme suited us and did not put us off. The atmosphere was very relaxed and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves whether they had kids with them or not.
Thank you to all the staff for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for spending a week at the Louis Phaethon Beach and for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you had a brilliant holiday at the Louis Phaethon Beach and that you greatly appreciated our friendly and professional staff team. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our evening cocktails and that you experienced excellent service all throughout your stay. It sounds like you have many good memories from your time spend here with us.

Thank you for recommending the Louis Phaethon Beach to other guests and we hope to see you here soon again for another fantastic holiday.

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

brilliant hotel, had a another great year, cleaners, bar staff, animation team and managers Michalis and Rudi were a great help,
The Animation team headed up by Dido was once again phenonmenal, offering great entertainmet all day and throughout the evening.
Food, where to begin the main resturant is open for breakfast, lunch,and dinner offering a wide range of choices while the pool bar offered snacks through out the day.
Rooms are okay in size but are always clean (rooms cleaned once a day)
swimming Pools aregreat for adults and children they are never over busy, waterslides are great for children and adults alike.
Couldnt reccomend this enough,
Cant wait for next time :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sturrock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear loyal guest,

We are deeply grateful that you have returned to the Louis Phaethon Beach once again and we thank you for your enthusiastic comment.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed yet another brilliant holiday at the Louis Phaethon Beach and we thank you for all your kind praise of our friendly and hardworking staff. We are very happy that you like our tasty food, our clean rooms and excellent animation team. It is also very nice to know that you think that the water park is great fun for both children and adults.

Thank you for recommending the Louis Phaethon Beach to other travellers and it will be a joy to have you here again.

Yours faithfully

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels, but this has got to be among our favourites. Where to start? This hotel is so child friendly that we felt safe letting our 8 year old go and do his own thing.
ROOMS : A little on on the small side, but clean and plenty of storage space. To be honest with all that this hotel offers you only use your room to shower, change and sleep.
The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.You are not pressured, if you are not ready the chambermaid will come back at a time to suit you.
FOOD: Fantastic, the main restuarant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and there is enough choice to even satisfy the fussy eaters. The pool area has light bites available all day, so if you sleep in for breakfast there is more than enough choices to keep you satisfied. There is also my favourite, the Asian corner which serves delicious chinese food for lunch.
POOLS: There are several pools. The main pool is divided in two, with all the pool activities in one half and the other half full of families with kids. The water is only waist deep, and all the kids have a great time playing with their inflatables and water guns.
There is a deeper quieter pool behind the main pool, only used this once, due to it being too deep for my son who can't swim. There is also a toddler splash pool which is ankle deep and has slides and water features for younger children.
The water park with the slides is amazing, used this on a daily basis everybody who used this loved it.
All pools including the toddler splash pool had life guards in place.
ENTERTAINMENT: The animation team worked really hard, from games and competitions at the pool, to the night time shows. What a great bunch of boys and girls they not only kept you entertained, but were on hand at night to seat you in the restuarant. The shows we went to see were fantastic (Lion King, Chicago. Abba tribute) and these are only a few of the shows.
At night there were a few options for guests. You could sit in the lobby and have a few drinks or a coffee. The hotel offered board games free and we saw a lot of families and couples playing these.
There was also a games console and computers stationin the main reception although you had to pay for this.
There was also an outdoor area where you could do the same. Drinks at night were waiter service, but you never waited long for a drink as the staff were so efficient.
The nightime entertainment was in the Chariots nightclub and started with the mini disco at 8:30pm and as stated before Fantastic night shows.
Children had a playpark and a games room. My son loved both of these and made a lot of friends using these.
The hotel also has 2 kids clubs. Thomsons who were fantastic. Thank you Bubbly Bev and Emazing Emma. The hotel run kids club we didnt use, but heard it was great and Shona who runs it is lovely.
All staff at this hotel are amazing, from the chambermaids to the front desk staff, but I have to mention two people who helped make our holiday special
Constantine: Our waiter most nights, what a lovely, intelligent young man always polite and was very knowledgeable in a lot of subjects. Had a lot of good conversations with him.
Pampos: The barman in Chariots nightclub, always service with a smile and he obviously remembered guests because he had your drinks on the bar before you asked for them.
I can honestly say that my family and I have never enjoyed a holiday as much as we enjoyed this one. We dont do the same place twice, but we had such a great time here that we will go back in the future. I am already recommending this hotel to friends, neighbours and work colleagues. Ignore any negative reviews, if you are looking for a great holiday, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiiemartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for spending you holiday at the Louis Phaethon Beach and we are very grateful for the charming review you have written here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure reading your comment because the Louis Phaethon Beach evidently impressed you so much that it already has become one of your favorite hotels. It is with great joy that we read that you regard the Louis Phaethon Beach as an extremely safe, fun and child friendly hotel with lots of facilities, entertainment and activities. You mentioned that you loved our Water Park and that you spent some great time there everyday which is wonderful to hear as our Water Park is one of our most popular features making our hotel so special. We are delighted that you also loved our Asian food corner and highly appreciated all our other fresh and varied food dishes that we offer on our generous buffet. It is very nice to know that you valued our amazing staff from various hotel departments, and we are thrilled that our friendly hospitality made your stay here so memorable.

Thank you very much for so warmly recommending the Louis Phaethon Beach to your friends, neighbors and work colleagues, and we are sure they will enjoy our hotel as much as you did. We look forward to welcoming you and you family back for another fantastic family holiday in the sun.

Yours truly

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Expertly run hotel with great service from friendly and dedicated staff. 20 minute transfer from Paphos airport. Speedy check in and offered meal even though arrived at 11pm! Rooms very clean and all with nice aspect. The real plus are the pools and slides. Rare to find hotel these days with lifeguards but this hotel has a large team of them. They are extremely safety conscious which was most reassuring. The food is fantastic, incredibly fresh, varied and delicious. 'Large' contingency of guests who return year after year. Great entertainment team although they are worked too hard. Aside from entertainment day and night, they even act as hosts at dinner, all very enthusiastically so, but this is pushing their job description a bit! Hard to criticise this hotel if you want an activity filled day in the sun, but there is always room for improvement, so my only constructive comments would be: 1. Supply beach towels (hard to dry your own every night). 2. Clean up beach. No real beach as such as clogged with seaweed. This isn't the hotels fault but there was a fair amount of rubbish which could do with cleaning up. Couldn't do 2 weeks here unless ventured out but a great choice or 1 week family break and Paphos harbour pretty and only 15 minute 1 euro bus ride away. Buses til 1pm and children free. Thoroughly enjoyed our break. Our 6 year old very happy too....loved slides as much as mummy and daddy!!! Thanks to all staff.x

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank NadiaScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Phaethon Beach we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your family holiday and for writing a comment about your experience.

We are thrilled to read that you felt safe and well taken care of by our friendly and professional staff and that you greatly appreciated all their service and hard work. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic buffet, which always is filled with a large choice of fresh food enough to satisfy all different preferences. It is wonderful that both you and your child loved the pools and the slides in our popular Water Park and that you enjoyed the entertainment. Thank you for your suggestions concerning possible improvements and we will take your feedback into consideration.

We hope that the Louis Phaethon Beach has given you many great holiday memories and that we will see you here soon again.

Warm regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews