We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Almyra Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloe Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,933)
Filter reviews
2,933 results
Traveler rating
2,421
414
68
26
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,421
414
68
26
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunbed allocationsun bed allocationsea viewroxanne restaurantallocated sunbedsjersey boysserenity poolhalf boardthe guest relations managerentertainment teampool attendantturn down servicespecial mentionwedding venueswim up barwelcome drinknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
2,244 - 2,249 of 2,933 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Really impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of staff in all departments. The entertainment team and the bar/restaurant staff got to know us and were always on hand with a joke and a smile whilst carrying out their jobs politely and efficiently.

The hotel is very close to the beach and a short walk to Pafos harbour so conveniently located.
Food was excellent and varied enough over our 2 week break.

Several people we met had visited this hotel several times, always a good indicator of quality and service. If you are going to Cyprus then you won't be disappointed at the Alexander the Great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a poolside/seaview room.The views and the sound of the waves is better then the front which over looks a road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the friendliness and professionalism of our staff, I am delighted that you got to know them, especially the bar and the entertainment staff. Thank you for also mentioning the location of our hotel, as you have said it is a very short walk to the harbour.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had our wedding here in august 2012 and got the WoW factor as soon as we walked through the front door. Greeted by lovely friendly staff with a fresh cold fruity juice in a huge reception area. Checked in with ease and were taken to our room by a friendly porter who took all our bags. Rooms were very spacious and very clean with lovely balcony and beautiful sea views,and were well equipt. Pool loungers were designated per stay with preference to poolside given to families and as were we travelling with kids found this very helpful. Plenty to do for the kids in the daily run kids clubs with very energetic and friendly staff who gave every child attention. The buffet breakfast had plenty of excellent food on offer and there was no shortage of food or tables. We had our wedding reception in The Liminaki restaurant, again the local Cypriot food was delicious.
Over all this hotel was amazing. Great food, very friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, our friendly porters and staff, the spacious clean well equipped rooms, the sun bed allocation, the Little Monsters Kids Club, the Cafe Royal buffet breakfast and the Limanaki Cypriot Tavern are much appreciated by all of us here.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with all the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a superb hotel just minutes walk from the harbour area. We arrived at the hotel in mid afternoon and after completion of our registration form we quickly moved into our seaview room on the third floor. Our room was quite spacious and well furnished throughout with ample storage and hanging space for our needs. Upon opening the curtains we where blown away with the full seaview that met us. The balcony had the usual table and two chairs which became a pleasant spot for a relaxing break in the afternoon. We also had the sun all day onto our balcony.
There was a 32" Samsung Smart TV in the room which had several English TV channels available in the menu: BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Chanel 4, Channel 5 and BBC World News. The sound from the tv could also be relayed into the ensuite if required.
The ensuite had both a rainfall and head height shower over the bath and a non slip bath mat can be obtained from either reception or housekeeping if needed. There is also a blue nightlight in the ensuite. A clear glass panel from the bathroom overlooks the bedroom however an electric blind maintains privacy. A range of quality toiletries is also available and replenished regularly.
Our bedroom also had both UK and EU electrical sockets. There is also a mini bar with expected price list, complimentary in-room safe. There is also a turn-down service each evening when any used towels are also changed and chocolates left on your pillow which we always find to be a nice touch. Complimentary WIFI is available throughout the hotel and access details provided to us at check-in.
We received an invitation to the weekly Management Cocktail Party for new guest arrivals which gave us the opportunity to meet and chat to the hotel General Manager and his team.
There is a choice of restaurants available;
Roxanes-open for dinner between 18.30 and 21.30. Although self service it doesn`t feel like it with Quentin and the team being extremely helpful and attentive. A good selection of dishes available which would suit all tastes and several theme nights are experienced each week.
The Speciality restaurants include:
Garibaldi Italian Restaurant, Kiku Japanese Restaurant and the Limanaki restaurant which serves traditional Greek food. Not all the restaurants were open during our stay although the Garibaldi was extremely popular with guests saying how good it was.
All guests on either HB+ or FB basis are allowed to visit each of the speciality restaurants once during each week of the stay at no extra charge.
Breakfast and Lunch are taken in the Café Royale with breakfast available between 7am-10.30am with both inside or outside seating. It did get quite busy around 9am each morning although never felt under any pressure to rush breakfast with plenty of tables available. A good selection of both hot and cold dishes available.
The hotel operates a very good sunbed allocation system whereby the beds and umbrellas are allocated at the start of your holiday by the Pool Attendant with your room number attached to the umbrella. Striped towels are placed in your room for use at both the pool and the beach and replaced daily.
We noticed that there was a Little Monsters Kids Club in the hotel which offers supervised activities for young children. Both daytime and evening activities are organised by the Kanika All Stars who always appeared enthusiastic. Evening entertainment was centred around the Limanaki Tavern although piano music was sometimes played in the Roxanes restaurant during dinner. The Alexander Bar is close to reception and very popular.
The Pool Bar is open throughout the day and we enjoyed the light snacks and drinks on several occasions.
Paphos harbour is just a10 minute leisurely stroll along the promenade with the Alexander the Great Hotel being one of the closest to the Harbour area.
The hotel also appears popular as a wedding venue with at least one taking place during our holiday.
The Alexander the Great has undergone a complete renovation in the last couple of years and we were extremely pleased with the high standards achieved by the General Manager and his team. Many guests are repeat visitors which speaks volumes.
My wife and I look forward to returning to the hotel for another wonderfully relaxing holiday, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on the third floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the location of the hotel, the spacious well furnished rooms with ample storage and hanging space, the 32 inch smart TV in all the rooms, the bathroom with two shower heads, the rainfall and the head height.

Thank you for also mentioning that non slip bath mats can be requested on arrival at the reception desk, that there is free WiFi throughout the hotel, the specialty restaurants Kiku the Japanese, Garibaldi the Italian, and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern where guests can eat once a week, the sun bed allocation system, the Little Monsters Kids Club and the Kanika Allstars entertainment team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel the week before Easter as I wanted to be there to celebrate my 50th birthday. This was our 10th visit in as many years and were were certainly not disappointed. The staff are amazing especially the bar staff, namely Mihaela, Alina, Siisike and Alina. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they really did make our stay very special. Philippa from Guest Relations was wonderful, she really did go out of her way to ensure that my birthday celebrations went well.I can't believe how much trouble she went to when my friends contacted her to arrange for flowers and a beautiful cake to be delivered to my room on my birthday. It really was appreciated. My husband even went to the trouble of arranging for our breakfast table to be decorated with balloons and champagne.

The hotel just seems to get better each time we go. The rooms are lovely and spacious and are spotlessly clean. The entertainment is good too although we only ever caught the end as we went out to eat of an evening. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice and was was always hot. We've never eaten in the other restaurants but have heard other guests saying how good the food is. I have never stayed anywhere else that has a sunbed allocation system like the Alex, it really does take the stress out of finding a sunbed each day.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday. We are already booked in for September and can't wait to go back. Thanks once again to all the staff for making my 50th birthday very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality for the tenth time and for your 50th Birthday celebration.

Your views about the hotel, the breakfast buffet at the Cafe Royal restaurant having plenty of choice, the good entertainment and the sun bed allocation are greatly appreciated. Also thank you for mentioning by name Philippa our Guest Relations Manager and the bar staff Michaela, Alina, Siisike and Alina. They will all be delighted that they are on the review and I will make sure that they all see it.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a brilliant holiday hotel, with very high levels of customer service in every department.
The hotel is modern,imaculately clean, well located and the rooms are well appointed.
Executive chef Pambos Charalambous and his team produce excellent food, with a wide ranging choice to cater for everyone. There are several seperate restaurants each offering a different theme.
We had a fantastic stay and will definately be back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Thank you for mentioning that the hotel is modern, clean, well located and the rooms well appointed. Most importantly I am pleased to read that you found very high levels of customer service in all departments. Our Executive Chef Pambos and his team will be delighted when they see your review.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews