We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I went to paphos on a weekend, i stayed In Alexander the great hotel. The rooms were clean , lovely big beds, The food was delightful , wide variety of cuisine, ,the staff were very nice. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our the rooms being clean with lovely beds, the delightful food and that the staff were very nice.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
There are newer reviews for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week at the fantastic Alexander the Great Paphos. The staff where an absolute credit to the hotel, helpful, polite, and genuinely nice. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel catered for your every need and if anyone who stayed there says anything different the I really do not know what planet they live on.The food was beautiful plentiful and so varied that it was hard to choose what to eat as to be missing out on anything, all credit to Their fab chefs. We have travelled far and wide and stayed in many countries and various hotels of different ratings and would say the Alexander the Great wins hand down and really should be a 5*without doubt. We like to think it won't be long before we have the pleasure of returning in the not too distant future as we can not praise it enough. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special. Colin and Patricia

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel being beautifully decorated, the rooms clean and comfortable and most importantly that you found the staff to be helpful, polite and genuinely nice are greatly appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and this hotel is as good as any we have used!! This hotel cannot be faulted. its the little touches like hairdryer, plug, mirror and chair together. Most hotels seem to think you can stretch for miles and lie on your side whilst drying your hair, well not at my age!! Staff just seem to appear by magic, especially the girls from the Alexander Bar, nothing is a problem to them and always smiling, even if it is raining. The food is excellent, we usually book half board and then go out to eat a couple of nights especially in a place like Paphos with nice restaurants but we did not go out once. In fact my husband's only complaint was that he missed the BBQ night as we had booked to go to the Italian restaurant on the Saturday evening. Japanese night was perfect as well and again staff were just so helpful.

One we found out how to work the blind in the bathroom and the keypad on the safe we settled in as if we had lived in that room for ever. Room 105 was perfect for view and peace at night. In face we have just spent the last week trying to source a blue nightlight bulb for our bathroom at home, not easy I can tell you but well worth the effort. Now every time we go to the loo at night it reminds us of a perfect week in the sunshine. Think we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 105 and the other superior room along above the Adults Only Pool are very peaceful and have gre...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the little touches in the rooms, the excellent food especially in Kiku and the Garibaldi restaurants and our staff.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having stayed in rated 5 star hotels in Paphos the Alexandra the Great is wrongly rated as it should be 5 star and the 5 star 4 star.
Staff were frendly and accommodating.
Unfortunately my wife had to use a wheelchair (manual) but the the walk into Paphos and on to the lighthouse was managable, if a little bumpy at times. Hotel can arrange scooter hire and there is an area for re-charging on the ground floor.
Nice surprise that our evening meal was served with a (complimentary) drink....wine,beer or soft drink.

Room Tip: Definately worth having a sea view room as rooms at the front of the hotel are on to the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our friendly and accommodating staff and that you liked the half board plus where you get a local drink each and a bottle of water between two.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've got to agree with all of the flattering reviews herewith. 45 years of travel including many 5* big names,...... some could certainly do with learning from this relative minor. The hotel is a beautiful building, oozes class. The rooms although not large are very tastefully and simply appointed, AND very clean......well done staff. The food/restaurants serve a wide range of excellent fare.......well done catering staff.(three types of bacon in a 4* at breakfast !!! ooooh!).
Most elegant pool area we have ever experienced and NO problems with sun beds. Can't think of any more superlatives that haven't been used before my review. The dedication and cheerfulness of the staff are what really make the hotel so good, They are a real asset. Feel a special mention must go to the cabaret / entertainments team. To put on several shows like this a week and then be ready to organise daytime activities so well..........they are a TREASURE!! AND they are a genuinely unassuming and friendly group as well........makes you proud to realise they're all Brits. Looking forward to the Jersey Boys show tonight............GO the Kanika All Stars. Oh, and the backroom and bar staff!!
Two little pieces of advice for the management
1. Get some "rod" curtain pullers for those lovely long drapes, some "gorillas" are bound to pull them down.
2. Before you continue using the (very expensive??) flashing overhead lights during the shows, read up a bit about "photo sensitive epilepsy". I may be saving you some expensive litigation here! My wife has been a victim of (non photo sensitive) epilepsy for many years and knows about these things.
These two minor items apart, a very big THANK YOU for an excellent twelve nights
Regards Bob & Sheila.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room above the Alexander Bar. NO noise from the entertainments. The sun hits the ba...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel whilst you are still with us.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, customer service, food, cleanliness of the hotel, sunbed allocation system and especially the Kanika Allstars who will be delighted when I show them your review.

Thank you also for your constructive comments that will be reviewed and discussed.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent hotel,quality refurb rooms spacious ,clean ,lovely big bed , bathrooms has window from bedroom allowing natural light in giving a more open feel to the room with blind if needed ,limited or full seaview a must,the walk along beech front right to the harbour nice & flat or bus just outside hotel 11/2euros one way or for 5 euros as,many times that day as you wish to travel, Entertainment the best in the resort , this hotel with Warren and his entertainment team , out shone all the other hotels we visited for evening entertainment We thought we were at the "WESTEND" in London we had The Jersey Boys/ Abba/Micheal Buble &many more a fantastic show every time , an asset to the hotel ,and such lovely people!! ALL STARS by name ALL STARS by nature. A diamond in its crown was Phillippa(guest relations) always listened , advised, assisted with any query, problem ,or request .Thank u for listening to us . Lets hope the robes&slippers are a must ! ! We then have Becky your lovely Thomson Rep full of information you need while on holiday , we needed a car for a few days within the hour Becky through Eurocar had us a car sorted Thank u Becky . All the staff are friendly /polite/ helpful/smart a nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere, there wasn't"many children there when we stayed in march so nice & peaceful , but plenty to do trips/ entertainment / spa , etc A sun bed allocation system so reserve it & it's your all day brilliant idea . The hotel offers one complementary meal in the Italian restaurant each week but book early a beautiful evening meal . SPOT ON !! The breakfast restaurant a wide selection to choose from "excellent" something for everyone . Evening restaurant themed nights brilliant food, but ask for plain alternative if required nice atmosphere attentive staff , Your happy hour was good ,but a selection of all your drinks you sell should be included . It is a up market hotel "" Al A CARTE " at it's BEST. we will be back xxxx ROOM 202 the Sketchleys

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the rooms with the lovely big bed and privacy window in the bathroom, the location, the sun bed allocation system, the food and the Garibaldi restaurant are most appreciated.

I will personally share your review with all of our staff who you found to be friendly, polite and helpful. In particular Warren and the Allstars team and Philippa our Guest Relations Manager, they will be delighted when they see they have been mentioned. I will also give a copy to the Thomson's rep Becky.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and the whole team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for one week in early March so were not expecting great weather. However, we had some very good days early on with a few storms towards the end. Managed to sunbathe a few days which was a bonus and used the balcony overlooking the bay a lot which protected us from the high winds.
Check in was swift with a welcome drink, staff courteous and luggage delivered to our room whilst we were checking in. Room (we had upgraded to a sea view) was spacious, very clean with lots of room - large bed, plenty of drawer space - lovely bathroom with again lots of room for washbags etc. Toiletries adequate but no conditioner or body lotion so take your own. Lovely soft towels which were changed twice a day if necessary and turn down service if you wanted it. Sun beds were booked and kept for the whole time you were there (you could change when people left) but as it was early in the season we only used ours about 3/4 times. Pool lovely but quite cold which we expected for the time of year. There is also a quite pool for couples only - quite small but in high season I should imagine it is a godsend. As we were off season not very children around so didn't bother us.
We were disappointed to find that the only restaurant which was open (outside of the buffet) was the Italian open for only 2 nights, Tuesday and Saturday. We tried to book it on our second day but was told it was full and we were disappointed. So, if you are only going for one week - take my advice and book in advance.
Food in the buffet was very good, hot and varied menus - themed nights which we enjoyed - apart from the last night which was Mexican. Shame really as it was our last night and we were hoping to be in the Italian but it was not to be.
Breakfast very good with lots of choice but I would have liked to see more fruit. Omelettes cooked to order were excellent and I must admit I have one every morning.
Entertainment staff were excellent and not intruisive - they worked very hard to make sure everyone was happy. We particularly enjoyed the archery and are thinking of investing in equipment to be able to do it from home. Well done to all the team o worked very hard.
Hotel has a lovely location with walks on the headland on into Pathos (10 mins).
We had a wonderful week and will definitely revisit. Met some lovely people and have some lovely memories.
This is the second holiday with Thompson AlaCarte (first was Malta) and we will certainly use them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the welcome you received on arrival, the room being clean, spacious with plenty of drawer space and the lovely bathroom. Also that you liked our sunbed allocation system, the buffet them nights in Roxanne's restaurant and that you found the entertainment staff to be excellent and non intrusive.

I see that you are thinking of returning to see us, the whole team and I look forward to the day when we welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $104 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing