We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 STAR Hotel but 5 STAR Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 STAR Hotel but 5 STAR Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The staff were at all times helpful and quick to respond to our requests.....e.g we complained about bad tennis balls and new balls were ordered and received the next day. We had a minor problem with our TV, and an engineer was able to assist and sort out our problem within minutes. The Guest Relations Manager, Phillipa went out of her way to assist us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible -providing us with excellent local advice and information on transport, tours, restaurants and walks. The buffet had different themes , and it was nicely varied. The Italian restaurant food quality was excellent. The breakfast restaurant has a lovely selection of everything we could imagine for breakfast. The chefs were always ready to assist. A return trip to Cyprus is worth it, just for the walnut cake amongst other seriously tempting desserts. Our room was always clean, and perfect for relaxing. The impressive hotel is well located within a short walking distance to the harbour, There are some steps leading down to a quiet beach right in front of the hotel. The water is lovely and clear, perfect for a refreshing dip. The facilities are of a good standard -we made use of the steam room, indoor pool and tennis courts on a daily basis. The only thing we needed to look out for were the swimming classes for little kids in the evenings during the week. During our stay the staff had their annual party, and they thoroughly deserved it ! We lost some property which we left in our room, and the Guest Relations Manager phoned us personally to post the item to us. If we ever return to Paphos, this is the only hotel we will be going to. Our stay was from 12th to 19th of January 2014 (Low Season).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff being helpful and quick to respond when requests were made. The Chefs assisting in the restaurants, the breakfast having a lovely selection, the buffet dinners being nicely varied and Garibaldi the Italian restaurant having excellent food quality.

I will personally pass on your comments to Philippa our Guest Relations Manager who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    345
    59
    23
    4
See reviews for
537
1,161
60
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

So, having had to cancel 2 weeks of planned luxury in Egypt because of illness, upon feeling better, I log on to the internet and search 'getaway tomorrow' and the Alexander in Paphos pops up. We literally booked on the Tuesday and flew on the Wednesday, not really knowing what to expect. The Hotel looks OK from the front, but once you enter the foyer and see the sea lapping at the shore immediately behind the Hotel gardens at the back, the happy gene starts to awaken. The staff were very nice, expecially in the restaurants (of which there are 4) and the Manager can be seen, on a daily basis, walking through the Hotel and gardens, fully suited and booted and making sure all is well. And that is the overall feel of this hotel - all is well - there is a calm, peaceful confidence about it that almost forces one to relax. My husband used the gym every morning, I used the indoor pool which was ovely and warm and also walked the promenade that passes along the back of the hotel between the gardens and the beach, to walk to Pahos castle and back every morning. The beach was 2 minutes from our bedroom and wonderful. The outdoor pool was ruddy freezing in November - I went in once - but the sea and indoor pools were both lovely. The room was large, well stocked and beautifully furnished. Food in all the restaurants was good, and certainly one would never go hungry. There was entertainment provided but we did not partake, not our cup of tea, however, many people seemed to enjoy it. What did surprise us was that virtually everyone we met had stayed there before, often for many years, so believe the reviews when they say that people return again and again. indeed, should we ever go back to Pahos - this is where we would stay - enjoy it, it deserves your custom. Also, visit the spa, excellent massage to be had and great value for money

Room Tip: They are all good, we hada road facing room as we were last minute travellers and it was just fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mgfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the food, the indoor pool, the Serenity Spa where you had an excellent massage and the location of the hotel are most appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just returned from a super holiday at this hotel which should be five star!.The room was well and newly furnished- I paid for a sea view- well worth it as I had a balcony with a great sea view and lots of sun. The food (buffet) was excellent and varied . The staff were friendly and helpful.The dining room is very pleasant.
It is an easy stroll along the front to Paphos Harbour and buses stop near the hotel.I was with Saga Singles so had their Rep. to arrange trips and the Saga lounge for drinks.The beach is in front of the hotel- blue flag too. Weather (January) was warm- usually about 17 C. Tee shirt and Jeans weather- except on the Troodos mountains trip where it was cold and wet!Lovely bathroom with soft towels and bathing towels provided. Enjoyed the turned down bed service (with choc) Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Seaview worth the extra-
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff being friendly and helpful, the buffet food being varied and excellent and that you enjoyed your sea view room
and the turn down service.

The whole team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to the day when we welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was nearly put off booking this hotel as the location shown on the tripadvisor map is inland. However after a bit of research and reading feedback it is actually on the seafront and in a very good location for everything you need from Paphos. I have informed TripAdvisor so hopefully they will update their map now but I am still surprised no one has mentioned this either from the hotel or in reviews? I have booked and look forward to visiting this summer.

Room Tip: Sea View looks the best view you can get anywhere in Paphos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to contact Trip Advisor on our behalf, we too have informed them in the past and are awaiting the location being rectified.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have just returned from a first-time trip to Cyprus and think *I discovered one of the best hotels on the island. Having recently been refurbished I have to say the whole experience was excellent. The staff were very helpful, the food was excellent, with an amazing range of dishes and the entertainment each night was a pure delight. The only negative point was my room which was quite small compared to some of the other rooms. Luckily I was travelling solo, it would have been a tight fit for a couple. However it was spotlessly clean. I would return here if I venture to Cyprus in the future.

Room Tip: My corner room on the west side was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jstevenson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel staff being very helpful, the excellent food and the delightful entertainment are most appreciated by all of the team here.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a fabulous hotel in every way. The interior is tastefully decorated and has gorgeous bedrooms with comfy beds, balcony and I had the luxury of a full sea view. There were plenty of large fluffy towels including a huge beach/swimming towel included also. There was a maid service in the evening to replenish towels, turn down the beds and leave chocolates on your pillow-a lovely touch. The food was amazing and of excellent quality and offered plenty of choice. There is resident entertainment team offering activities during the day and superb varied and professional evening entertainment in the bar.
The staff are so well trained and helpful in every way. They are all immaculately dressed at all times with a smile and cannot do enough to help you. The manager of this hotel was around and could be contacted personally regarding any issues. There was a weekly cocktail party to meet the manager in person and he was seen around the hotel throughout my week there - again a great idea.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk along a lovely promenade to the harbour where there are shops and cafes.
I recommend this hotel to people of all ages- you will be well catered for and come away feeling part of a great friendly family.

Room Tip: Choose a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank parkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. That you enjoyed the tastefully decorated, gorgeous bedroom with pool towels supplied, the amazing food, and that you found the staff to be helpful at all times.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Another great experience. this time I was with the rest of the family!!! nice room with great view!!! We had the Western BBQ buffet for diner which was great!!! my kids loved the sweets!!!!!
Breakfast was majestic as always!
Finally my wife and kids had launch at the bar!!! they were exited by the quality and size of the portions!!!!
thank you again for everything!

Room Tip: make sure you check the ancient tombs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giorgos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the great view from your room and that you found the food and in particular the buffet breakfast and the Western BBQ to be to your liking

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#17 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#4 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#5 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing