We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Wrong on Map”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was nearly put off booking this hotel as the location shown on the tripadvisor map is inland. However after a bit of research and reading feedback it is actually on the seafront and in a very good location for everything you need from Paphos. I have informed TripAdvisor so hopefully they will update their map now but I am still surprised no one has mentioned this either from the hotel or in reviews? I have booked and look forward to visiting this summer.

Room Tip: Sea View looks the best view you can get anywhere in Paphos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to contact Trip Advisor on our behalf, we too have informed them in the past and are awaiting the location being rectified.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have just returned from a first-time trip to Cyprus and think *I discovered one of the best hotels on the island. Having recently been refurbished I have to say the whole experience was excellent. The staff were very helpful, the food was excellent, with an amazing range of dishes and the entertainment each night was a pure delight. The only negative point was my room which was quite small compared to some of the other rooms. Luckily I was travelling solo, it would have been a tight fit for a couple. However it was spotlessly clean. I would return here if I venture to Cyprus in the future.

Room Tip: My corner room on the west side was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jstevenson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel staff being very helpful, the excellent food and the delightful entertainment are most appreciated by all of the team here.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a fabulous hotel in every way. The interior is tastefully decorated and has gorgeous bedrooms with comfy beds, balcony and I had the luxury of a full sea view. There were plenty of large fluffy towels including a huge beach/swimming towel included also. There was a maid service in the evening to replenish towels, turn down the beds and leave chocolates on your pillow-a lovely touch. The food was amazing and of excellent quality and offered plenty of choice. There is resident entertainment team offering activities during the day and superb varied and professional evening entertainment in the bar.
The staff are so well trained and helpful in every way. They are all immaculately dressed at all times with a smile and cannot do enough to help you. The manager of this hotel was around and could be contacted personally regarding any issues. There was a weekly cocktail party to meet the manager in person and he was seen around the hotel throughout my week there - again a great idea.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk along a lovely promenade to the harbour where there are shops and cafes.
I recommend this hotel to people of all ages- you will be well catered for and come away feeling part of a great friendly family.

Room Tip: Choose a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank parkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. That you enjoyed the tastefully decorated, gorgeous bedroom with pool towels supplied, the amazing food, and that you found the staff to be helpful at all times.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Another great experience. this time I was with the rest of the family!!! nice room with great view!!! We had the Western BBQ buffet for diner which was great!!! my kids loved the sweets!!!!!
Breakfast was majestic as always!
Finally my wife and kids had launch at the bar!!! they were exited by the quality and size of the portions!!!!
thank you again for everything!

Room Tip: make sure you check the ancient tombs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giorgos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the great view from your room and that you found the food and in particular the buffet breakfast and the Western BBQ to be to your liking

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Review of Alexander The Great Hotel
We stayed here in early December at a time when Cyprus had a severe cold spell but we still very much enjoyed the hotel. The food was excellent with a great choice. There was always a selection of at least 3 different meats at dinner and often more. I love to make a meal of samples of each together with the lovely sauces. The vegetables were reliable and tasty. The was always a lot of different sweet courses available and I would normally come away with more than one sample as I frequently couldn't make up my mind. The breakfast was ok but for me would be greatly improved with some back bacon, something that seems to be very rare in hotels abroad. The eggs I prefer to be cooked just before I eat them and to give the hotel its due there was a cook there ready to do just that if asked.
We were on full board and so also had a meal midday which we were happy with, both for quality and selection. If I were to make a request it would be for a wider selection of fruit to be available with meals but that may just be me and reflects how I eat at home.
Wifi was available in our bedroom and in the lounges. There were also computer terminals for guests to use free of charge. Wide access to wifi is essential to me, as I always take my tablet with me on holiday. To any hotel reading this please note, if no free wifi in all areas, then you won't find me around!
The hotel had recently been refurbished and was smart and clean. The staff were efficient and helpful.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel with a short ride down to the bus terminus from where one can travel widely.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are worth the extra cosst
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff being efficient and helpful, the hotel being clean and smart and the food being excellent with a great choice.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I hope that we get to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 8 days over new year and found the hotel very relaxing. Great views so pay for a sea view. Half board, book the Garibaldi restaurant if you don't like buffets. Whilst the pool bar, Greek taverna and Japanese restaurant were shut, we can only imagine this would be a
Great summer destination. Very satisfied!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you chose the Alexander for your New Year vacation and that you enjoyed the sea view and the Garibaldi Italian Restaurant.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wow! I can’t believe this hotel is only 4 stars. It should really be 5 stars and a good 5 stars as well.
Upon arrival, polite and friendly lad took our bags, great (looking and behaving) staff at the reception quickly checked us in, and then cold welcome drink waiting for us at the lounge. We go to out room, which was spotless, free fruit waiting for us there. The room had a huge smart TV (200+ channels, Russian, Cypriot, Arabic, Japanese, Asian, Persian, Italian, german, French, Italian, … …, never before had I seen such a selection). Furthermore, the TV was internet connected (for free) and you could directly play things like Angry Birds, access facebook etc, the TV looked like an Android tablet.
Did I mention free WIFI throughout the hotel with good reception? 7pm door knocks. Who is it? Why, the cleaner of course, asking to change our towels/take the trash out (they change TWICE a day).
Visited the SPA (open 8am-8pm) several times, which was included in the price. Nice indoor pool, great sauna and steam bath and also tried out the relatively well equipped gym. Everything was working. Every 20 min or so SPA staff would come in to check up on things. On Saturday, the SPA lady was adding aromatic oils to the sauna water bucket every 30 min or so. SPA toilets/showers were frequently cleaned.
Breakfast had a huge variety and most things were pretty tasty and everything was fresh. They even had a great selection of fresh spice. They also make their own bread every day.
We also had dinner there. Nice selection at Buffet, complimentary 1 drink and 1 bottle of water.
Entire hotel is newly refurbished and tastefully decorated.
Every member of staff at the hotel was speaking Greek.

2 small complaints, the hotel inside temp was very warm, we couldn’t sleep the first night, while the 2nd night we slept above the bed covers. Lots of old folks around on that day so maybe that’s why the heating was on the high side. The other complaint is that the parking space is limited, I actually had to park in a different, nearby, hotel on the 2nd night.

I forgot to mention that we had paid for a land view room, but asked through email and got a land/sea view room. We also had booked our dinner for our first night but asked and where allowed to switch to the 2nd night.

Like I said before. everything spotless, would and will go there again, first chance we get! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pan145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the polite,friendly and Greek speaking staff. Also for mentioning the 32 inch smart TV in all the rooms and the free WiFi through out the hotel. We are pleased you visited the Serenity Spa and that you liked the heated indoor pool, the sauna and steam rooms, the equipment in the gym and the added touch of the spa staff adding the aromatic oils to the sauna water. Also the buffet breakfast and the evening buffet in Roxane's Restaurant where you enjoyed the buffet and the local drink and bottle of water between two people.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 85 in Paphos
2,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#8 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $100 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing