We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb! Great for families”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in a superior sea view room. The room was a very bright and spacious room with a great view of the med sea. I especially enjoyed the blue night lights which were available in the bathroom. The kids club/entertainment team were very good, giving daily quizzes and provided a evening show along with activities for kids/teens during the day like-Water polo, table tennis and darts. Another good feature was the allocation for sun beds apon arrival and they were yours for the week, no need to get up early and reserve your sun beds
The new refurbishment is a fantastic upgrade.
I look forward going next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our Superior Sea View Room being bright and spacious with a great view of the sea, the blue lights in the bathroom, the Little Monsters Kids club staff, the Kanika Allstars entertainment team and all the activities and shows they organised. Also for mentioning the sunbed allocation system and the recent refurbishment of the hotel.

I and all of the team of staff here look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    372
    63
    26
    4
See reviews for
601
1,282
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is the first holiday for years that I booked through a travel company. The service from Thompsons leading up to our arrival at ATG was unbelievable poor. However the hotel itself was great in every way. I wont go on about the service, cleanliness, staff and sunbed allocation because it's already been said, and it is great. We only did B&B as we like to try different restaurants in the evenings. It's an easy stroll into Paphos, but we used the numerous restaurants around the hotel area, not far to walk and a great choice. Food portions in the hotel for lunch were very large, so at lunch times we tended to use a small sandwich shop across the road from the hotel where they make up rolls to order, got drinks and crisps and ate them on the beach. Other option would be to share a hotel bar lunch between 2. Travelled with our 13 year old son who shared our room. The room was big enough but not over large. My son slept well on the 'sofa chair', but he is slim and not too tall. A larger built teenager or full grown adult may struggle, you may want to check out the actual size before booking. There're things to do if you want at no extra cost. We played tennis every day. They provide all equipment but it's advisable to book to get the time you want. Table tennis, organised sessions or just play on your own. Archery sessions. There's a gym, sauna and steam room. There's a few other things like yoga which we didn't try. The hotel was full as it was half term but it didn't feel full and wasn't over run with children. You're right by the beach and yes it was warm enough to swim in. There's all sorts of water sports available within a few minutes walk. We did paragliding, jet skiing and took a motor boat out for an hour. There's also a good go karting place not too far. A bit too far to walk and as we hadn't hired a car we rang them and they picked us up and dropped us back for free, can't ask for more than that! Things that are provided - pool towels(changed daily), soap, shower gel, shampoo (as much as you need) and hair dryer. Free internet everywhere, and you can get ALL UK TV channels in your room. All staff were very helpful so if while you are there you have any problems go and ask them, I'm confident they will be able to sort it. I contacted them (via email) before we arrived and they replied promptly and efficiently. So much so I would advise not to travel with Thomsons but to book direct with the hotel. I'm still waiting to hear back from David Burling, Thomsons MD, who promised to get back to me weeks ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mummmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the archery sessions, the table tennis, the yoga, the sauna and steam room, plus the room facilities and services we provide; the pool towels, the toiletries, the hairdryer and free WiFi all over the hotel are most appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at the Alexander the Great Hotel just the once as we are more villa people but, our stay there was very comfortable, the rooms are very nice, (have recently been refurbished), the Restaraunt serves lovely food, no complaints at all, the setup of the hotel is to a high standard, with a beautiful reception area leading to bars overlooking the pool and sea. The pool area overlooks stunning views over the sea and you can see right down the coastline. Cleanliness is of a high standard. Definitely recommend this hotel to both families and for couples looking for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our rooms being very nice, the restaurant serving lovely food, the cleanliness of the hotel and the stunning views over the sea.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The kids club made this hotel for us as we had a break knowing our son was happy and safe in the kids club. Stacey and Tasha made a fantastic job of keeping him entertained and happy. He loved it!

As well as the kids club, the hotel is in a great location, 10 mins stroll from the main town. The food was varied and good quality. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Only drawback was the freezing cold swimming pool which was a shame as you couldn't go in it. Such an amazing pool that cant be used because it was too cold.

Room Tip: We had a basic room. It was very nicely decorated and had everything you need, but the view was dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the friendly and helpful staff, the food being of varied and of good quality, the great location and Tasha and Stacey in the Little Monsters Kids Club are most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really loved the hotel and the location. It was very clean, towels changed twice a day and bed was really comfy. Booking sunbeds, what an excellent idea, why don't all hotels offer this! Staff were exceptionally accommodating and friendly. When we checked out, we asked if there was an overall pot for tips for staff which would be shared out equally amongst them and was told that there was not.
Maybe the hotel should consider doing this as it takes every member of staff to make the hotel run as smoothly as it does, not just the one's who come you come in contact with. Also if you are charging everything to your room, you may not have money on you around the pool/beach etc to tip individual members of staff.
I do not usually want to return to the same place, but I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We paid for a side sea view room (No 320), we could see the see, but really I would describe the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, hotel and cleanliness of the hotel. Also for mentioning the sunbed allocation system and regarding tipping we normally suggest that these are given to the separate departments i.e restaurants, reception and the maid in the room.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead,Tyne and Wear, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I returned to this hotel on 23 Oct. for 7 days HB plus, having visited for the first time in Oct. 2012.

We were accompanied by adult family couple and we all agreed that the standards were such that we are considering booking for October 2014.

As return visitors we received a bottle of "bubbly" and fruit on arrival and also a further bottle of "bubbly" on the day of our Ruby wedding anniversary.

We visited the hotel's Greek theme restaurant once and the Italian theme restaurant twice during our stay and were pleased with the quality and quantity of the food which was well presented.

The choice of food at breakfast and dinner in the main restaurants was very good although sometimes it was not as hot as I prefer.

All staff that we encountered were pleasant and efficient.

The refurbished rooms including the "Smart" TV and tea/coffee facilities were welcome and access to the internet was useful. We were only able to access BBC World News programme on the TV and numerous foreign channels although it implied that BBC1, BBC2 and ITV1 were available.

Hopefully we will return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the food especially the Limanaki Cypriot/ Greek Meze and Garibaldi the Italian specialty restaurants, the refurbished bedrooms including the smart TV and complimentary tea and coffee facilities and internet access are most appreciated. We are delighted that you chose to spend your ruby wedding anniversary with us.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back next year to the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did something we've never done before - returned to the same hotel! It was outstanding last October and even better this year due to the upgrades. As returning guests, we were treated to bubbly, slippers and fruit in the room as well as an early evening drinks and canapés reception; nice touch. The refurbishments are tasteful and contemporary and the new TVs, fridges and kettles in rooms are an improvement. The three bookable restaurants have improved menus and are each worth a visit, the food being hot, tasty and well presented. Unfortunately, although the quality of food in the buffet restaurant is of high quality, it sometimes suffers by being of inconsistent (low) temperature. I did mention this and suggested that a couple of microwaves could be provided for guest use as was the case in a 4* ski hotel we stayed in recently. This solved the problem for those of use who prefer food to be piping hot. The staff are amongst the best trained I've encountered anywhere, always smiling, polite and helpful and with a few words of English in greeting, even the chambermaids who always seemed cheerful along with everyone else working there. The entertainment, whilst an improvement on last year, was of variable quality and the outdoor Havana Venue was really too cool to be using at this time of year. We would have stayed I the hotel more often after dinner if the indoor bar was being used for entertainment but it was more comfortable to go out to bars near the harbour or across the road where there was live music. The pools are now beautiful to look at but a bit cold for more than a short swim at this time of year. The seam in contrast, was warmer and beautifully clear so I enjoyed my daily swim in the sheltered bay, to the rocks and back admiring the fish! We took tennis racquets and played a few times but the net was broken (in place but too low and the winding mechanism was broken/missing).

None of this spoilt our week, however, and it remains an outstanding hotel whose greatest asset is the quality, enthusiasm and willingness to please of the staff. To answer the question we always get on return from holidays of 'would you go back?' to which we always reply 'no, but we would recommend it to you', the Alexander answer is 'yes, we probably shall return'. The difference is, it won't be at half term again as I won't be restricted to this week ever again - yippee!

If you want a hotel where you come first, in an excellent position, superb sun bed system, good food, comfortable rooms, high standards of cleanliness and a thoroughly relaxing break, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms are sufficient, preferably on the harbour side, as the public areas and sunbeds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a4aly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the excellent location, the superb sun bed allocation system, the good food, comfortable rooms, high standards of cleanliness and most importantly our greatest asset the team of staff we have. We are very proud of each and every one of them and their commitment to provide the very best in customer service.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and hope you enjoy your new found freedom from school holidays. If you are retiring we wish you all the very best in your retirement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 88 in Paphos
2,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing