We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHILD UNFRIENDLY - VERY UNHAPPY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked a cabana with private pool for my and my 13-year-old daughter as we were part of a wedding package. I was not told that we were booked into an adult only area (they class 12-year-olds as adults). My daughter was unable to play with her cousin in our private pool and we received a complaint as they were having too much fun and were a bit loud.

If you book a cabana - you are not allowed an allocated sunbed, so we were not allowed to spend much time with other members of the family - as we were clearly informed that no one was allowed in our cabana either.

Also, the children of other members of our party were not allowed inflatables or balls etc in the swimming pools.

This hotel should quite clearly be for adults only and the only good points it had was the food was lovely and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Regards from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for your comments.

We do have a small section of the hotel which is adults only; this is the Serenity pool area where the cabanas with garden and the cabanas with pools are situated. This is advertised as such and all our travel partners are informed.The cabanas are for the occupants use only and yes they have their own sun beds within the grounds of the cabana so additional sun beds are not required.


However the majority of the hotel, the main pool, children’s pool and indoor pool are all available for families.

We also have a full daytime activities programme for children and a Teens one;an indoor children’s club with computers, 3D TV, WII console, games and arts and crafts area.

In closing we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
There are newer reviews for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited this hotel in July for 11 days. From the moment we walked through the doors, we found this hotel to be the best, and it only got better. The theme buffets had a wide choice and variety of foods on offer from Sunday Caverys to Cyprus Cuisine. Its all prepared by the excellent Executive Chief Pambos. The staff at the Bars were brilliant they always made sure we had a drink, Alina always made the best cocktails

We were always greeted by the always cheerful, polite and friendly Emma, whom made sure that we were happy with everything. From first thing in the morning to late at night she always had a smile on her face. Nothing was to much trouble by any off the staff.

The entertainment Team Kanika was so full of fun and surprises all day and night. they work extremely hard to make that there was something for everyone. The casino was great fun as it gave you a chance to interact with others as well as the entertainment team.

Our room was on the second floor with sea view, the room itself was AMAZING, the beds were the comfortist we've ever had, the rooms were always clean, tidy. the cleaners to an outstanding good.

A couple days we were invited to meet a group of the staff at hotel, this was a good opportunity to meet the managers and staff whom make this hotel great. The spa facilities were pure bliss so relaxing, we visited this a couple times. Its well worth going there.

After the refurbishment the hotel cannot get any better. We will definitely be returning in the future

Well Done to all at ALEXANDER *****.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view. Left and middle side of the hotel you can see the sunset
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissAlice006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned. As will our Executive Chef Pambos, Emma, the bar staff, the cleaners and all the rest of the team.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our 2nd time at the hotel but we visited this time with friends so we were a party of 7.(4adults 3teenagers) As stated in previous reviews the refurbishments made during the winter have vastly improved the rooms/ pool/ bars etc. what makes a holiday special though is the professionalism of the staff. The entertainment team kanika all stars lead by Lucy were amazing, Warren, Ollie, Beth, Rhianna made our holiday so much fun throughout the day by organising sporting activities then during the evening they would produce some outstanding shows. Thank you all for making our holiday a memory that we will never forget. If you are like me and and you research trip adviser for helping you to choose a hotel look no further than ATG. You will get a well run, clean, perfect location 4 star hotel at a reasonable price. I would also like to mention Amanda who serves drinks around the pool with lots of enthusiasm and patients.The Japanese restaurant under the guidance of raj was excellent. Don't miss the Michael Buble tribute act on a Monday night. Simon Cowell take note. ! The only negative point I would add would be the view from the side sea view rooms 110,112,114 these are charged at a supplement to standard rooms but really only book if you require a balcony as the view is mostly of the car park, However with this in mind we will of course be returning in the future and hope warren/ ollie and the girls are still there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you found the refurbishments to your liking, and the rooms, bars and pools much improved.

We shall make sure that Lucy and her entertainments team, Amanda,Raj and all of our team of staff see your review.

In closing thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the ATG for 11 nights as a family ( teenager and grandmother).. We had a fabulous time. The Entertainment team KANIKA all stars made our holiday so much fun. It if wasn't for them we would have been bored night and day. Great activities for all ages to join during the day and super and fun singing and dancing in the evening. The Jersey boys night was the best and professional. Wow... Thanks to Lucy, Ollie, Warren, Beth and of course the little superstar Rhianna (go Rhianna go!!!). The Boy George impersonator which wasn't part of this team was poor and uncomfortable to watch for a family...
The hotel was great clean, up to date, and facilities were very good. The room was nicely appointed, comfy beds, cleaned each day to high standard.
The food was okay, would not say fantastic, but we only had breakfast and lunch at the hotel. We felt it had a limited choice for children ESP lunch...
The sun bed allocation was good as no need to fight for bed early.. Pool was fab and clean and also indoor pool..
The shop across the road and chemist were really useful and very friendly and helpful..always good on holiday....all in all a really nice holiday and hotel where the staff were so friendly.. We would return ESP in the entertainment team were still all there. Thanks
Ashley, Kate, Lucy and Carole

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheBFamilyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Ashley, Kate, Lucy and Carole,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Hotel. We are delighted that you have taken the time to review our hotel.

We will show this review to Lucy, Ollie, Warren, Beth and Rhianna who will be so pleased to see that they have been mentioned. They work very hard both daytime and in the evening to entertain the guests.

Thank you also for your constructive comments that will be taken on board.

In closing we look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This Hotel was fantastic,food rooms and the entertainment was amazing.ollie ,warren and the girls were just brilliant .i have never been to a hotel where the staff are so friendly.watch out ollie and warren Kevin and Steph are coming back next year.

Room Tip: I think you should ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Warren and Steph,

Warm regards from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you found the hotel to be fantastic and that our Kanika All Stars Team were amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel, our last visit was in 2009. We were attracted by the refurbishment, and on the whole we were impressed.

We felt that the hotel had lost a little of it's previous charm, by having all of the evening buffet meals indoors. On our last visit we were able to eat outside, under the stars, listening to the waves, very romantic.

The food was not always as hot as it could have been, and not having a proper barbecue available in a Greek hotel was disappointing. The 'Greek' restaurant was also poor, and together these contributed to a feeling that the hotel had lost it's 'Greek'ness.

Meal times also seemed to be rushed and geared to having everything over and done with in order to watch the entertainment.

Fortunately we were very impressed by the Kanika All Stars - Lucy, Beth, Warren, Ollie and Rihanna. The shows they put on were very enjoyable, particularly the Jersey Boys, and was far preferable to the 'visiting' entertainment, with the exception of the BLF show. All this after a full list of daytime activities, all carried out with enthusiasm and fun - we particularly enjoyed the Aqua Aerobics! The team were the heartbeat of the hotel, and their enthusiasm was infectious.

All together an enjoyable and relaxing stay, and would recommend the hotel, and make sure you get involved with what is going on.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkandEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from 27th June for 2 weeks in a superior sea view room. Everything about this hotel is faultless. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and all the recent renovations have been done to very a very high standard. I extensively researched all the best hotels in Paphos and we were absolutely delighted with the choice we made by booking here.

As honeymooners we were given a few little extras which we really appreciated. Sparkling wine, balloons, Cypriot Delights and a card were received with gratitude. We had a few little maintenance issues with the room which were taken care of immediately. All staff were friendly and cheerful at all times and seemed to enjoy making your holiday special. As said before, the sunbed allocation is marvellous adding to the relaxed atmosphere at this wonderful hotel.

The entertainment team worked tirelessly throughout the day and evening. Daytime activities were varied and the evening shows of a high standard for what we saw. They were always happy and asked you to join in but never pushed anything on you, excellent team. The pools were all lovely and relaxing. We especially enjoyed the swim up bar with it's wonderful cocktails all at very reasonable prices for a hotel of this calibre..

We were half board and thought the food was excellent. Different theme every night which included aqw large variety of dishes, the standard of which was very high. You could not go hungry here unless you were a very fussy eater. The food was always hot and delicious. No complaints here! Breakfast was also excellent and the occasional lunch we took was of the same high standard.

We could not fault this hotel in ANY way. Everything exceeded our high expectations. It is the best hotel we have stayed in and we are definitely booking 2 weeks again next year. Don't listen to the 'average reviews.' This hotel is anything but! Book with confidence, you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to return. Well done to everyone at The Alexander for creating the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shydi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and thank you choosing to spend your Honeymoon with us.

We have read your review and are very happy that you liked the bedroom, the honeymoon gifts on arrival, the sunbed allocation system, the swim up bar,the food and the theme nights. Most importantly you have found all our staff were friendly and cheerful.

In closing we would like to thank you for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Alexander The Great beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#17 of 85 in Paphos
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $99 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing