We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$194
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almyra Hotel(Paphos)
$300
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Boutique Hotel(Paphos)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$116
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Axiothea Hotel(Paphos)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Bay Hotel(Kissonerga)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$229
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,935)
Filter reviews
2,935 results
Traveler rating
2,421
416
68
26
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,421
416
68
26
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunbed allocationsun bed allocationsea viewroxanne restaurantallocated sunbedsjersey boysserenity poolhalf boardthe guest relations managerentertainment teampool attendantturn down servicespecial mentionwedding venueswim up barwelcome drinknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
2,567 - 2,572 of 2,935 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back yesterday from 10 days stay at this lovely hotel.
I felt compelled to write and say a big THANK YOU to all staff for making our break for my 50th Birthday perfect.

Spotlessly cleaned in all locations by diligent staff who worked hard to ensure everyone had a nice holiday.

We booked and paid extra in advance for a full sea view with balcony overlooking the big pool it wonderful to sit out and watch sunrise /set and enjoy the lovely view of the blue pools with underwater lighting at night and beautiful sea just across the path.
It was before kids broke up for hols so bare that in mind with my trip review.

Entertainment
Something to keep all ages happy day and night.
By day The All Stars entertainment team politely went round the grounds 10 mins before asking if anyone wished to join an activity such as water polo, shuttle board, water aerobics, table tennis and lawn boules as a few examples you can join in or sit it out but we enjoyed joining in as we got to have a laugh with other guests and it was an icebreaker.

Little Monsters kidsclub looked fun and the same staff working hard all day also put on a quality entertainment show in the evenings that finishes around 11pm.

I wouldn't consider myself to be an extrovert ,I don't drink and my friend and I are not showy - quite the opposite normally but through feeling so welcome we could forget the 9-5 and be silly and join in with the happy vibe throughout the place its your holiday why not! all staff were smiley and helpful and seemed to sincerely want guests to have a good holiday, good night ,good meal, nice trip, relaxing day.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Well done to everyone thank you .
Highly recommended peaceful hotel
Good idea allocated sun loungers you choose, adult only pool to relax and cool off then large pool for swimming and splashing about with your mates / juniors another for tiny tots and another with a cover for shade all clean and inviting from 10am upto 5.pm.

Room Tip: Full sea view room 2nd floor . grown ups reading books and wanting peace and quiet choose the serenity swimming pool but you can swap if you like.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and congratulations again on your 50th birthday. We are delighted you chose to celebrate with us and that you had a marvellous time.

Special thanks for commenting on our diligent staff, who we are very proud of. Also the room,the view and our entertainments team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights and had the most relaxing holiday ever . Everything about the hotel was great from the sunbed allocation to the excellent choice of good quality food to rooms which were lovely (one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in ) we stayed in a full sea view (249) which had a super view of the harbour. The staff were helpful pleasant and very hardworking really enjoyed the All Stars who were full of energy all ways giving 100% well done guys. Can't say paphos was my favourite destination but the hotel was one of the best we have every stayed in . We both enjoyed treatments at the spa which were not over priced and even had a trip to the hairdresser which was less expensive than home . Well done to the Management on a first class product.



Kia
Thing

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a full sea view but maybe not the cabana as they were not very private.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We noticed that you liked our sunbed allocation system, the food, the room, the Serenity Spa, the 'All Stars" and our team of hard working staff.

In closing thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to the Alexander The Great in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just got back from sunny Paphos where we stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of July.

The hotel is stunning and we had a beautiful view from our balcony overlooking the infinity pool and the sea. Firstly we want to acknowledge the effort and hard work of all the staff who work tirelessly in the heat and never seem to have a day off but are always friendly and smiling.

But most of all the entertainment team of Lucy, Beth, Warren, Ollie and Rhianna who were outstanding. How they manage to keep the energy and enthusiasm going throughout the day and then into the evening entertainment in that heat is unbelievable. They made our stay more enjoyable than other places we have stayed and we would love to return and would only consider stopping here and this is mainly down to the hard work, effort and ability of the entertainment team. As a young couple we usually wouldn't stop in the hotel at night but the shows were that good we stopped and watched the majority of them. The daytime activities were fun and competitive and a good range which varied each day. Those who have made negative comments clearly weren't participating in the same activities and watching the same entertainment as us, everyone is entitled to their own opinion but they all make time for you to have a chat throughout the day and night. Again we can't stress how brilliant the entertainment staff were and thanks to them all for making our stay a very positive one and we hope to see you later in the year.

We were there on a half board plus basis which included using the Italian, Greek and Japanese restaurant once a week. However we only used the Italian. The Italian restaurant is fantastic and offered a good variety on their a la carte menu and is definitely worth a visit. Deep who runs the restaurant does an excellent job and ensured everything was absolutely perfect and everything was well organised and ran smooth. However we didn't try the Greek and Japanese restaurant as the menus were very limited in what they offered for vegetarians more so the Greek where the majority was meat dishes which is disappointing. However overall the buffet restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner offered high quality food and good service. We would definitely return on a half board basis due to its value for money, and we took our dinner as lunch most of the second week which again is of the same quality.

The pool areas as with all other areas of the hotel were immaculate. The sunbed allocation system is a good idea and makes your holiday a little bit more relaxing by not having to rush for a bed. And unlike other comments regarding moving the staff moving sun beds early in a morning that disturbed you if you had a sea view room this did not affect us at all and we did not hear this once. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, the tv does not really work but we did not find this an issue as we didn't really want to watch it while on our holidays. The gym is quite small with no air conditioning and doesn't have much in there but is probably similar to most hotels abroad.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel and stay again. Hopefully the hotel will not push the prices up too much otherwise this might make it difficult for young couples and families to return. As it seems the prices have doubled in comparison to what we paid in July, so hopefully these will come down so we can return in October.

We would also recommend to eat at Porto bello an Italian just 2 minutes towards the harbour on the opposite side of the road as the service and food is outstanding (best lasagne my boyfriend has ever tasted and he's had a few)and is a proper little Italian.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and thank you for your extensive review of the hotel.

The great details you have included give other trip advisor members a good understanding of the services we provide here.

We are delighted with your comments regarding the entertainments team, Lucy, Beth, Warren, Ollie and Rhianna and also Deep who runs the Garibaldi restaurant. We shall personally show them all this review. They all work very hard to add to your holiday enjoyment and to be recognised by the guests is the highest accolade.

In closing we would once again like to thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent a day in the spa and it was wonderfully relaxing. The receptionist was very helpful with the offers and very polite. We had a full body scrub and massage and a mini facial and was also good value for money. Our therapists, sonia and karin were also excellent. Will deffinately go back :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgancheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our spa and two of our therapists Sonia and Karin. The Serenity spa as you have stated offers a variety of treatments and thank you for mentioning them.

In closing thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and best mate stayed here from 13th July to 20th July. We travelled A La Carte with Thomson, which I can really recommend. From the moment our taxi picked us up from the airport to the moment we checked in to come back, everything was superb.

This hotel is THE best I have ever had the opportunity to stay in, the food, the rooms, the staff, the pool, everything about it is FIRST CLASS! And being a quality auditor by profession, believe me I go around looking for fault!

I would like to especially mention Alina who worked in the bar areas as being an outstanding member of staff, always smiling, friendly and enthusiastic, a real credit to the hotel.

Every positive comment everyone else has made regarding the sun bed system, the restaurant's, pool areas and rooms, I wholeheartedly agree with. I would however like to highlight that the air conditioning in the room stays on all day, which is fantastic when you return after a hot day by the pool, most hotels only work when you insert your key card! This is a great feature!

The only one negative we did find was the singer called Matt Edmondson, who quite frankly was dreadful, with over emphasised campness, and continual talking over songs! But perhaps that's just a personal preference?

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, without hesitation!

Well done you run a very well oiled machine! And I would award you 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Warm regards from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you took the time and effort to give such a detailed review.

Both your positive and constructive comments have been taken on board by the team here.

Alina will be delighted to have been mentioned and we shall make sure she sees this review.

We are glad you enjoyed the room, the pools, the restaurants and the sunbed allocation system.

In closing thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Alexander the Great Beach hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews