We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done to all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from yet another wonderful holiday at the Alexander. The refurbishment is terrific and surely puts it higher than 8 in popularity in Paphos. The choice of food both at breakfast and the evening buffet is amazing - especially salad starter and desserts (creme brulee to die for!) The 'included' drink is an excellent idea and if its not to your taste, they have an extensive wine list.

The standard of everything is extremely high and it is very difficult to single exellent staff out, as they are all so hard-working and friendly - but personally we would like to thank Leoni in Reservations, Theo on Reception and Alexandra our room maid, for their help and patience in giving us a relaxed and enjoyable break.

Room Tip: The road side rooms are of the same high standard as the sea view but are of course, more prone to n...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay here and we promise to always offer you the highest standards of services.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
There are newer reviews for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,242 - 2,248 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon last week in a cabana room. The hotel was beautiful and the setting amazing. The waiters and waitress were always plesent and helpfull and the entertainment team were excellent (especially wazzalina!)
Reception staff could of been more helpfull instead of trying to fob you off. It was unbearable to sleep on a night as no air con until 1st of may!! Even tho it was 30 degrees! Our private pool had a jacuzzi part which had been turned off by the hotel which was supposed to be part of the package! Surround sound didn't work either they didnt come and sort when told. We paid extra for a late check out and then we where refused evening meal by the reception so we had to get the manager involved who sorted this straight away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and assisting us to improve future guests’ experiences through your observations.

On behalf of the management we would like to sincerely apologize we did not provide air-condition in your room as some serious technical problems did not allow it.

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations but we sincerely strive to make every stay at Alexander The Great wonderful. So a next visit to our hotel will confirm it to you.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

just had to write & say how excellent the entertainment was in the alexander,it wasnt where we wer e staying,but went there every evening for 3wks ,olly(are lovely somerset boy) warren,steph,beth,tash&lucy what a team,we,re as good as a london show,they put in so much effort,hope their still there when we return in nov,well done gang you made are holiday

Room Tip: did not stay at this hotel,just had to let all know how good etertainment was
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments about our entertainment team.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel in November.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The things I liked:

Lovely hotel, very modern, clean and new since the renovations.
Staff are all excellent, especially the front line staff in reception, dining rooms, bars and housekeeping. All very professional, pleasant and hardworking.
Location is great.
Italian restaurant was excellent.
The ambience of the dining room is good, it felt like a proper restaurant, not just a big self service busy canteen. The drinks included at dinner are very good.
Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast.

I would probably go back but for the few negative things:

This was my main complaint - towards the end of our week holiday it was very hot - it got up to 33 degrees but the management would not turn on the AC. I and lots of guests complained to front desk, tour operators and the manager himself who all listened but the standard reply was that the AC was to be turned on by date, not by how hot it was. The forecast was that it was going to get very hot so they had some warning. I had three very bad night’s sleep - you could not leave the window open as it was noisy from the main road (and why should you need to in a 4* hotel with AC)!!. I would never book a hotel in a hot country if it did not have AC. It seemed penny pinching and not responding to guests needs and spoilt the holiday for me.

Some of our food in the Japanese restaurant was cold (soup and my main course). We sent it back and got an apology from the waitress who said she would tell the chef but no one else approached to apologise, though there was a manager floating about.

The food in the buffet restaurant was generally good but there could have been more variety.

We heard the dining room staff being shouted at a couple of times by a manager – not something that should be overheard by guests (and they seemed to be all hard working)!

I know the entertainment team have had accolades of praise on TA and they were certainly very pleasant, enthusiastic, tallented and hard working. But the evening entertainment was not our cup of tea - my husband’s comment was 'it's what I would expect in a care home'.

There were quite a few wedding parties and at times these ‘took over’ some of the areas.
Guests were not permitted to use the pool area one morning as they were doing a photo shoot.

If not for the AC issue I would probably not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The management have the wonderful hotel and excellent front line staff and if they want to improve their position on TA they should really listen to guests and take their comments on board.

Room Tip: Front facing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpb1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food and cleanliness of the hotel.

Regarding to the air-condition, indeed it was not turned on because we were facing some serious technical issues. This unfortunately made the provision of the air condition impossible in the hotel. However, whole maintenance and engineering team worked really hard to resolve the problem and they did it. We would like to express our sincere apologies as we were not able to offer you the best accommodation conditions. However, from all the management team, i pledge to provide you the best accommodation conditions in your next visit here, providing full air- condition in all rooms.

In regards to the dining room, we would like to assure you that our all managers aim to provide the best standards of services to all guests and thank you so much for your observations. Through these observations and comments we will continue to grow our level of service.

Furthermore, the photo shooting was taking place in the swimming pool only one morning from 9:00 until 12:00. The photo shooting should have been done in order to take our new photos for our website.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for sharing your feedback online and we are looking forward to welcoming you back, giving us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

In my 50 years of world travelling I have rarely encountered a hotel with such high quality service. Rooms are pleasant, very comfortable and all utilities work quite well. The staff is well trained, well supervised, unobtrusive and multifunctional. The hotel boasts 4 quality restaurants; food is very good to excellent. All clients seem to be at ease in this hotel whether they are young couples or senior people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It is great for us to read such a good comments about our hotel and i would like to express many thanks for your feedback. Our staff is always ready to provide high quality service to all guests.

Therefore, it would be very pleasant for us to see you again at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The lack of a clock in the indoor pool area was the only thing I could find to criticise. The staff, decor, food choice and quality are all excellent. I have tried to sit in evening entertainment in many 4 star hotels, but it is usually old fashioned, this discription does not apply here. The team at the Alexander the Great are great entertainers, on the go from 10.30 until midnight but always professional and friendly. They have obviously rehearsed many hours for each of their multiple shows. Warren and Oliver are both talented singers, ably backed by Beth, Steph and Lucy.

For anyone with limited mobility, we have experienced manoeuvring a wheelchair to every area of the hotel. The indoor pool has steps and a hand-rail. I just pushed the wheelchair right up to the edge of the top step.

Good sunbeds. Wonderful sea views. An extra adult pool and sunbathing area if you want total peace. Book swap open most days means you do not have to fill your luggage with books or pay high prices in resort.

Every hotel I have been in expects you to buy a drink with an evening meal (not been all inclusive) here, there's a 'local' drink and water included. Just go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms facing road have trafic noise. Have a fantastic sea view if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

All previous reports below are in mind very fair, I would like to mention the unsung heroes of this hotel. The maids always a smile do a great do a great job, never a problem with the room
( 202 ).
The restaurants ~ the breakfast staff very good, quick to respond. The main Restaurant I found to be rather dark, the food is a hit or a miss, The plates are always hot (for the Hot Food ) a change from most buffets. A special mention, the cook 'STAVROS' , he kept the place going and was very helpful, all the restaurant staff are super. Another guy who always seem to be working was 'KlAUS ', never seen without his tray and the tray never by his side. Should they read this note, I hope they keep the saying going ' NEVER FELT BETTER '. ( will the manager please pass my thanks to them, just use the above phrase )
I guess this hotel is at No 8 on T.A is because it mainly elderly people who do not use the internet, therefore do not place reports on T.A It should be closer to No 1. A v.g hotel well run.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that i read your feedback and your comments that make us to feel more than happy.

I would like to thank you for your excellent comments about our staff and i have already passed your great message to our general manager. Moreover, many thanks that you give us confidence to continue the great job and whole team here promises to keep the high standards of services to all guests.

Dear Guest, we wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#17 of 85 in Paphos
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $99 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing