We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helios Bay Hotel
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Although some way out of Paphos, there is a good bus service along this road, to the port area in the town. There's not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity, and in November , the nearby bars etc were all closed. The location of the Helios opposite the excellent Poppadums restaurant is a plus point.
We had a sea view studio (without balcony), and it appeared to have been recently refurbished, with an attractive bathroom and small , adequately equipped, cooking area.
Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. The outdoor areas were also clean and tidy.
This is definitely good value for money. Using Booking.com we paid 47 euro for B&B, though had we left the booking to the last minute the price would have been considerably less.....very low season...mid November.
Breakfast is fairly basic but again very adequate, considering the price.
We appreciated having wifi in the reception area.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    158
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
200
325
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BagpussJohn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Found the guidance on TA invaluable. This really is a great place to stay - very clean, extremely well positioned in a quiet area. But you have Coral Bay one side and the Harbour/Kings to the other way and only a short bus ride to either. Go to the harbour when you get there and buy a weekly bus ticket - we used it several times a day! Poppadums Indian was great, as was the Siena Restaurant. Also recommend Coral King in Coral Bay, great food and music. Fantastic beach easily accessible from the hotel. Very quiet this week as everything is closing up but we felt very welcome. Fantastic, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: depends on what you want - the poolside rooms are great for families as they open onto the pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagpussJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic stay at Helios Bay. This must be the most pleasent place to stay in Paphos. We have been staying here for almost 20 years and have seen standards not just maintained but improved whilst still keeping original Cypriot features. The apartments have been upgraded in the last 12 months by virtue of new bathrooms, kitchen area and new flooring throughout. There is a daily maid service and linen is changed every third day (where do you get this service in a self catering hotel), towels are changed every third day but if required just leave in the bath. The whole hotel and grounds are immaculate and it is a pleasure to walk around the grounds and see varios types of fruit being grown. There is a lovely pool for adults together with a pool ideal for kiddies with an adjoining pool bar where you can have a drink or meal. The grounds lead down to a sandy beach and the Med, you can almost sit in the pool bar witha drink and paddle your feet in the Med. The whole complex is family run and owned and Nicos and his staff will do anything to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Helios Bay is halfway between Paphos and Coral Bay with some very good eating places within a few yards and a very good bus service just outside the door. Helios Bay is a wonderful place to stay and appears to get better by the year.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a direct sea view room. The rooms are located over 3 floors and whilst there is good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and was not disappointed in any way. 5 Star hotel it isn't, 5 Star accommodation it is! The apartment, grounds and common areas were spotlessly clean, the pool and snack bar very good. All the staff were friendly and professional. Yes, the Helios is away from the hurly burly of downtown Paphos, but is served by a good bus route and 10 mins takes you into town. I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Helios Bay, we had a fantastic time and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet. We were looking for a place with access to both beach and pool and Helios Bay ticked both boxes. The pool is a good size and fantastically refreshing and the beach is only a couple of minutes down the gardens, in a lovely little bay. We had booked a studio room with a balcony but when we arrived we were disappointed to see that our room had fantastic sea views but unfortunately no balcony. As this was one of the most important features for us we complained (for the first time in our lives!) and the next day we were given the perfect room on the ground floor. The studio number 111 had a little terrace with even our own sun loungers, perfect views of the sea and sun set, and was very spacious. Both rooms were very clean, simple but nice with all facilities we needed. All staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. For 30 Euros we were able to extend our stay beyond the usual check out time until the evening, which was very convenient for us given our late flight back.
At first we were a little disappointed with the location of the hotel, just off the main road from Coral Bay to Paphos, with little else but a few other hotels, odd selection of restaurants, English Pubs and a couple of tourist shops in walking distance along the main road. However, in hindsight it was a minor downside as the hotel itself and its surroundings made fully up for it. While we struggled to find a traditional taverna nearby, we did have a couple of very good meals in the nearby restaurants, especially in Captain Corallos (where we got an additional starter, fruit and a drink on the house!) and Siena just next to the hotel. On some nights we took the bus to Paphos and Coral Bay, which were both really easy. For trips to supermarkets, bakeries, banks, sights etc we used our hired car.

Room Tip: 111 - Ground floor studio, with terrace overlooking the garden and sea, just off the pool area so ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our first time in Cyprus and really enjoyed the whole holiday. The apartments were every bit as good as the reviews we had read. Our room was large, spotlessly clean, with nice white towels and bedding. Granted it was not school holiday time but it was so peaceful, no loud voices, banging doors or running down corridors late at night. The staff were very pleasant but unobtrusive. Pleasant gardens with path leading down to small sandy bay. Regular busses either to Paphos or Coral Bay, nice restaurants and scorching weather. What more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 429MargaretJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was one of the cheapest on the Thomson website and this needs to be taken into consideration. If you want a five star hotel then this isn't the place. If you want good accommodation, friendly staff, a 2 minute walk to the beach, a pool, a bar with a sea view and amazing sunsets then this place is perfect.

It is in a quieter part of Paphos but the bus stop is opposite and taxis to Kato and Coral Bay are only €10. The restaurants near by are also a lot better and cheaper than Kato and Coral, especially Sienna and harmony. We also frequented the New Horizon pub close by often.

The hotel is popular with families and couples, i doubt crowds of British teenagers will be staying here. It is also popular with Russian families.

The cypriot bbq the hotel runs is well worth the money, only €13. I had a great night and the food was delicious.

The staff were great and even knocked some money off our extra bill when we checked out (which was fab given we had managed to drink and eat over another €100 ).

The beach is close by, however, if you have mobility issues you will struggle to get onto this beach. Coral Bay would also be a struggle. We found a beach near the archaeological park which would be better if you have mobility issues. The beach by the hotel also had a pretty rough sea. Its fine if you are happy jumping waves but if you want to swim go to coral bay. However saying that we went to the hotel beach practically every day as its fairly quiet (except weekend evenings when they have a dj).

I'd be happy to go back here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
4.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Property: Helios Bay Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing