We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel ok if you like it quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Helios Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
delph oldham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hotel ok if you like it quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

having recently retired my wife and i decided to try a long stay holiday maybe 6 weeks,so we tried first choice travel agent. nice girl not pushy came up with 10 weeks at helios bay for £900 for !! but went for 1 bed apt £1200 good reports in trip advisor so went for it apt clean but basic but at the price a bargain room cleaned every day clean towels every day beds changed every other day very quiet this time of year no more than a dozen people in jan but a few more in march so not much atmosphere . got on well wiyh 2 nice couples who were staying for the same ten weeks. no food available in hotel so it really is self catering. couple of mini markets nearby,jaspers being the best but the main one is in pafos.buses ok but seem to disappear round lunch time. a few bars and tavernas close by but a bit pricey. nearby hotel had a lot of canadian soldiers on leave from afghanistan and they created a lively atmosphere. to get the best out of helios you need to hire a car if only to miss the time share touts who dog you if you walk along the road we just blank them. coral bay very nice but some road works at the moment.nice walk down the back of the hotels used to call in akteon for a cold beer.pafos is ok but a lot of work going on in harbour. all in all a nice break and came home with good tan. would i go again? yes but would budget for a car. most ex pats friendly and only to ready to stop for a chat or offer advice.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — uncomfortable sofas
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank delphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    151
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
196
317
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We first stayed at Helios Bay Hotel Apartments in 1993 and have been back 7 times since, each time booking through a travel agent. This year we decided to book direct but were not completely sure of the procedure for this. We contacted Nicos via email and were very grateful to him as he telephoned us with details on what we had to do. He then emailed and again telephoned to confirm our booking.

The staff are very friendly and always around but very discreet. They are always happy to help and nothing is too much bother for them. There are two bars, one in the reception area along with a small shop, armed with essentials, and one just beyond the hotel pool, which overlooks the bay and the well kept gardens.

The apartments are spacious, have air conditioning and a well equipped kitchen area.

Helios Bay does not stand still and each year we return to find more improvements have been made, for example the shop in reception and gardens being extended.

Helios Bay is a short bus ride away from Paphos. The buses stop directly outside the apartments and are frequent. Once in town there are a whole host of bars restaurants and clubs to choose from.

  • Liked — It's location - not to far from town
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisandLinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We (my husband and I, now in our late 50's) first stayed at Helios Bay some 8 years ago. Since then, we have had one or two holidays elsewhere, but always want to go back to Helios Bay. We love the small sandy beach a couple of minutes walk away and the good choice of restaurants within very short walking distance. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable, though maybe a little "tired" in places. Over the years we have seen many improvements - the small shop in reception selling all sorts of basic foods and other goods, the beautiful gardens and lawns. The management and staff are all friendly and welcoming and work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. The buses which stop outside will take you to Paphos or Coral Bay, where there are shops, bars and restaurants in abundance. Most of all, though, we love Helios Bay as a place to relax.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Karaoke evenings
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Barb-n-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

We have been going to the Helios Bay Hotel since 1985 and not once have we ever been dissapointed. We started going as a family and now with my wife disabled in a wheelchair we find the Helios Bay offers the perfect friendly and relaxing holiday we like.

The raised position of the Hotel just a short distance from the beach offers wonderfull views and walks through the lush and well maintained gardens.

This is very much a family run hotel and the current Managing Partner Nicos Tooulias ensures you are well looked after.
The Hotel management have, over the years added many new facilities including several excellant self-catering bugalows adjacent to the main Hotel as well as further up the coast at Coral Beach.

Over the years many new bars, shops and restaurants have opened up in the locality so you are in easy walkin distance of many places. Should you wish to be nearer the busy nightlife then a short bus ride will soon take you there.

The 1 bedroom appartments in the main complex are more than adequate for your needs but it would be nice to see a microwave added to the kitchen.

The Pool Bar restaurant offers you a good selection of food and drink all day long and we have spent many happy nights there drinking with our friends and the members of the hotel family.

It is quite amazing how many couples and family return at the same time of year each year, for us it like having an extended family waiting for us when we arrive.

I could go on for ever but why don't you try it for yourself.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank stewart57Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

My wife's family stayed in these apartments in June 2007 when me & my wife got married out in Paphos.

We were staying in a hotel near these apartments and regularly went to visit my wife's family at the Helios Bay Apartments. We were very impressed with the place. We had had a look around the room and although it was basic, it had everthing you would need and was very clean and tidy. At the end of the day you are only in the room to sleep!

We had breakfast a couple of times there and that was brilliant as you sat there overlooking the sea. The price for the food was also very reasonable. Pool area was very nice, and the gardens were amazing. They were beautiful and the nicest gardens around, better than the hotels in the area. Nice green, cushion soft grass when everything else is like a desert! They do a great job.

The staff were also very kind and helpful.

Although the apartments are away of the busy Paphos Harbour, it is nice and quiet and a bus service right outside the apartments runs to Coral Bay & Paphos Harbour which is very handy.

There is also the best restaurant in Paphos next door to the Helios Bay Apartments, called Sienna. The best food I had when we were out there in June!

The apartments are right on the sea front too, and is lovely to walk along the path along the coast and there is even a small beach near by

We were so impressed with the place that me and my wife have booked to go stay there this June for our 1 year Wedding Anniversary. We are so excited as have fallen in love with Paphos and the Helios Bay Apartments are perfect for us!

A big hello to Nicos who manages the place, as he has been very helpful when me & my wife have been sorting the booking out for this June!

  • Liked — The location & gardens
  • Disliked — Basic decor of rooms. In need of modernising!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshire_&_Proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moray, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

Read the previous reviews and thought that this would be a nice place to take in our new year. yes the apartments were nice and clean, pool and garden nice, path down to the beach was nice. i cannot understand why people want to come back year after year, i must be missing something. the only thing i would definately recommend is the restaurant next door to the apartment, service good, staff really friendly and the food is excellent, i would also recommend another restaurant which is much further up the road beside the laura hotel, excellent food and staff really friendly. thank goodness for the regular bus service which stops right outside apartments, would recommend taking it to either coral bay or phapos itself as there is absolutely nothing outside the apartments. one bar, couple of restaurants and a supermarket..
definately won't be going back

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ali-j-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
4.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#8 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Property: Helios Bay Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing