We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

So much about this hotel is great that I'm not sure where to begin so I think it will have to be bullet points:
Staff - very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the team.
Cleanliness - Very high standard. Particular attention was paid to the public areas, for example, pool area hosed down and all pools cleaned each morning. Toilets checked hourly.
Entertainment - Really good. There is something going on every night and whilst the entertainers are mostly singers the standard is very, very good.
Food - lot's to choose from whatever time of the day. The poolside bar does fabulous gyros and souvlaki in the daytime! If you don't fancy eating at the restaurant there are plenty of alternatives just across the road, by the Harbour and in Paphos Town.
Location - Fabulous. It's a little bit outside the town (roughly 20-30 min walk) therefore it is not too busy but likewise not to quiet either. There is a bank, supermarket, bars and restaurants very close by.

Overall, the hotel caters for everything and realistically you would not need to leave the premises if you didn't want to. A lot of people get married here. We were only there for a week and there were 8 weddings, 3 on the same day!!!!! But in no way did any of these events impact our holiday. In fact, most of the time we only saw the wedding parties if the ceremony was on the beach or when they were having photos.

The only thing about this place is that the beach isn't the best and there are a lot of rocks in the sea - but you know what, everything else is so fabulous that this did not matter to us.

Loved it, loved it............can we go back please?!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDoc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    680
    207
    62
    30
See reviews for
704
1,259
62
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My daughter and son-in law recently got married at the Athena Beach Hotel. I can't praise this hotel and it's staff highly enough. We arranged the whole wedding package with the hotel wedding planner Jane who is absolutely brilliant. We had the most perfect day. Everything my daughter had asked for from thier own music CD to the right colour chair bows and balloons was catered for. The hotel catering staff did an absolutely amazing spread, when we booked a BBQ we never expected anything like the amount of wonderful food that was delivered in a perfect setting on the terrace. Jane also arranged the photographer who did a fantastic job. In fact everything was so perfect it was incredible. I would definately recommend this hotel to hold your perfect wedding in Cyprus

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loopyloo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at the Athena Beach Hotel between 22nd Sept and 5th Oct. We had previously booked to stay at the Venus Beach Hotel but due to the terrible reviews it was getting we switched three weeks before. Booked via Holiday Hypermarket and Olympic Holidays and could not fault them at all. Their service was top notch. Olympic have minibus transfers to and from the airport and so it is much quicker. Their rep, Efi, is also wonderful and has lived in Cyprus for 20 odd years and so has lots of knowledge about the local area.

Athena Beach is owned by the Constantinou Bros and having previously stayed at the adults only, Athena Royal, next door, we were given a Loyalty Clubcard on arrival which gave us 10% off any food, drink or boutique services we had at the hotel. This really came in handy over the two week period as drinks in the hotel are not particularly cheap due to the exchange rate. We can't say we did not have a nice time - we certainly relaxed, but there was just something not right.

On the downside the drain on our balcony stank so much we had to cover it over with towels. (We were in room 270 which was a seaview room but with a flat roof to the bar outside our balcony). My husband smokes and after a few days we noticed a pile of cigarette butts accumulating on the flat roof over the other side of balcony. As this was not particularly nice to look at we reported it to reception but it took them two days and two visits to reception to get them to clean them up. The same thing happened the following week. We were not sure if the maid was just tipping them over or some dirty person in the floors above were tipping theirs over. Not nice.

The entertainment was OK. We watched a bit on the second week. Some of the singers were better than others. (I would say that the singer who comes in once a week and entertains on the evening when the meal is served by the pool is excellent!). The bar service in the main hotel was good if slightly robotic. It was always the same "good evening, would you like a drink" and not a lot of other conversation, even though we tried.

It is also the type of hotel that has a lot of weddings and therefore lots of large groups of people. So sometimes the bar areas were noisy but with just one family.

My final downside was that during our stay it was my birthday and we decided to book the Zephyr restaurant which is the "a la carte". You don't have to pay anymore. The only difference is that the food is served to you rather than buffet style. We booked the table for 8pm the night before. When we arrived we were the only ones in the restaurant and they looked as if they were not expecting us. It was four courses and we thought we would have a leisurely meal. How wrong we were. Literally as soon as our knives and forks were put down from one course, one waiter whipped the plate away and another waiter put the next course in front of us. When we got to the dessert after less than 30 minutes were just sat there staring at it. The waiter came over and asked us if we liked it. He looked amazed when we said we needed to let the first three courses go down a bit. All in all a very disappointing experience - in and out in 45 mins - I've been in McDonalds longer!!

OK, I've done the downsides. Now for the positives. The service at both the pool bar (which also serves as a daytime restaurant) and beach bar is fantastic. In particular there is a man at the pool restaurant, Panageorgis (excuse me if I spelt that wrong) who is simply wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for him and I really feel that he wants to give 100% Customer Service. Similarly there is a lady who worked in the beach bar. I did not get her name but she has long dark hair tied in a pony tail. She was very pleasant and willing to have a chat. It was lovely to sit at the beach bar with a soft drink and watch the sun go down.

The food is excellent. We only made breakfast once (well we were on holiday!) but had fresh salads each lunchtime. Dinner was a different themed night each evening with two meals a week out by the pool with entertainment. Lots of choice with food to suit anyone. My husband is a fussy eater and he had no problems whatsoever.

The pools are kept very clean and we had no problems getting sunbeds either by the pool or in the gardens. (Not sure if that would be the same if you went in high season or during school holidays). Pool towels are proviided.

Since we last stayed in Cyprus a pathway has now been fully constructed leading all the way down to the harbour. It takes roughly 30 mins at a slow walk to reach the harbour. As someone else said, it is not lit very well at night so you need to take care.

Well, all in all we had a good time but I don't think it is worth more than a four star rating. We will definately go back to the Constantinous Bros hotels but not to the Athena Beach. Instead we will opt for the Athena Royal which is adults only and much quieter.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiespad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

It was a great hotel staff all friendly, rooms clean with hotel towels .
A little distance from the Harbour but a nice walk along the coastly path. Pool area clean, with sunbeds and the beach straight off the hotel grounds with free sunbeds.
We went B&B and there was no shortage of choices of food.
Local buses run until 11.pm from outside the hotel (1 euro a trip)but it was also easy to hire acar.
Local pub was friendly but the greek resturant opposite The Aegean is a no go . The sevice was slow and the food ,when it finally came ,was horrid.This was the only bad meal in 11 nights. The Rib Shank was lovely 5 mins from the hotel and the Pelican on the harbour wasour favorite.
Paphos is a lovely holiday stay but i would advice you hire a car and see the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paphosdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHM1507
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I recently stayed here with my partner for 2 weeks - and having read some of the more recent reviews, i feel i need to comment on here to put the record straight !! Having worked in the hotel trade for many years and dealing with customer relations, i know only too well how quick people are to focus on the negatives instead of the many positives. We loved the hotel and could hardly fault it. All the staff were very very good, some more friendly than others but never the less all very good at their job. You can see they all work very hard and all pull together. Doesnt seem like they get much time off and work long hours - so fair play to their constant positive attitude & mainitaining the high standards. The food was brilliant - a varity for everyone! Lots of meat & fish to choose from along with chinese & pasta most nights! The selection of salads and fruit was also very high! Happy hour is a really good shout! Room was always very clean (only thing i would say is a little dusting in room 395 on the selves wouldnt go a miss) The pool is lovely, very big & just the right temperture, great to cool off in. Overall i would highly recommend & may even be back with the whole extended family next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHM1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The service was very good, if a little over the top at times. We were passed between two "greeters" before we reached Reception! It was refreshing though that all the staff spoke to you and were friendly and helpful - very rare these days wherever you are in the world.

A word of warning - hold onto your plates at dinner time! The clearing staff are too keen to take your plate away whether you have finished or not. Several times they had to relay the table and bring people new drinks because they had cleared away whilst the diners were at the buffet.

The room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated. Lots of useful things such as an iron and board, hot drink making facilities and towels you could use at the pool or on the beach. The air conditioning was very efficient and reasonably quiet. There was the usual noise from the plumbing and other people, but otherwise a comfortable room and bed.

The hotel is a 40 minute stroll from the castle the far end of the harbour, but there are plenty of local facilities all the way along the main road. A variety of restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc. There is also a footpath that runs along by the sea through all the hotels gardens. It is poorly lit at night, however, so watch your step!

There is good local bus service with a flat rate of one euro however far you are going - lovely new buses and reasonably regular.

The swimming pools are big enough to accommodate plenty of people and there is masses of room in the green and landscaped grounds to sit on loungers and look at the pools or out to sea.

There is plenty of organised entertainment if that is your thing, or table tennis, arcade games, etc.

The food in the restaurant offers lots and lots of choice for breakfast and dinner (lovely salads!) and is of a good quality (apart from the vegetables which were always hard). There is a theme every night and although not vastly different, it does make a change if you are eating half-board every night. You can also book to eat in the "Royal" next door.

We liked the service and the seaside location best, but would have liked to have been a little closer to the harbour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERSEY CI
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have just returned home to Jersey from Cyprus with my husband and son together with my best friend and her family. This is our 2nd visit to Athena beach and we had a wonderful time.We booked B&B before we came.We did find eating out very expensive so decided to take up the offer of evening meals for several nights in the hotel as it worked out at around £12 each for as much as you wanted to eat from the extensive buffet which was excellent value and lovely food too. The staff were lovely and always helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The walk into paphos harbour right along the sea front took about 40 minutes which was beautiful with the sea breeze and sun shining down on us, oh how I wish I was there now. Back to the real world now until the next time.......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYPRUSJerseyCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,574 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#19 of 88 in Paphos
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookcyprus.com and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing